We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuan Lodge

Relaxing lunch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing lunch
Oh what a beautiful morning!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Relaxing lunch
Oh what a beautiful morning!
Interior
Kylemore Abbey
One of many wonderful beaches
Evening sun Renvyle
Fully relaxed
Time out!
Welcome!
Relax by an open fire
Farewell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Letterfrack, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Clive M
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The location of this cottage took our breath away. The sea is a stone's throw away from the front garden. A beautiful, calm inlet - a small islet with a lively tern colony just offshore. The terns feeding their young was often the only noise we heard. But behind all this were the twelve bens - or at least five of them - shining in the sun that we got for the first few days of our stay. After we climbed Diamond Hill from the National Park (just 5 minutes away by car), we were able to look smugly over at its craggy peak and say - "We were up there!".
The cottage itself is extremely comfortable for adults and fascinating for the kids. The garden had various interesting nooks and crannies and when it did rain, there was so much for them to do in the games room. They also enjoyed the fantastic beach at Renvyle just 10 minutes away, while the adults enjoyed the odd pint in the bars at Letterfrack. The shop in Letterfrack was excellent - we are veggies and it stocked a surprisingly good range of stuff that we like.
All in all it was an idyllic week and it just ended too soon. We hope to come back again before long. Thank you Sandra for meeting us on our arrival and for your hospitality.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the review of your holiday at Cuan Lodge which we really appreciate. It is very gratifying for us to know that our guests have enjoyed themselves and that the house and area have lived up to their expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iggy M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real getaway location, fantastic views and a lovely holiday”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is a short distance from Letterfrack with pubs, restaurant and we'll stocked shop. Ideal for Clifden and the Connemara National Park. Nice location overlooking the Bay with secluded garden. We arrived late however the owner stayed to welcome us and ensure we were happy with everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thank you for the review of Cuan Lodge and for choosing to spend a holiday there. We are pleased you enjoyed the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne R
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A heavenly place to stay!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A unique and characterful cottage in an idyllic location. We had a wonderful stay here! We were met with a warm welcome from the owner who went beyond the call of duty with help during our stay. The lodge is very well furnished and equipped, and stands in a wonderful garden overlooking the bay. It is a real home from home with a lovely atmosphere.
Letterfrack village, 2 miles away, has all the essential amenities whilst Clifden, a 20 minute drive, has a much wider range of shops, restaurants, a cinema, sports centre etc. This is a beautiful area and there is plenty to do and see without venturing too far.
All in all, the cottage and the location were everything we had hoped for and more. We couldn't imagine a better place to be on holiday and would love to return for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage and the location.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cuan Lodge. We too, love this part of Connemara and always want to return again and again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thierryva...
Rouen, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for reviewing your holiday in Connemara. I appreciate your kind words and am very happy that you enjoyed staying at Cuan Lodge. It was a pleasure to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crisp0906
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Many thanks for your positive review of Cuan Lodge. I am happy that the weather was so good during your stay and that you saw the many attractions in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing