We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Aspect
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Aspect
Front Aspect of House Entrance Porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Front Aspect
Front Aspect of House
Entrance Porch
Kitchen with dining area
Downstairs Main Bathroom With Power Shower Over Bath
Living Room with Multi-fuel Stove with back boiler
Landing area with access to small viewing balcony
Master Bedroom with Ensuite and King Size Bed
Twin Bedroom with Antique French Beds
Single bedroom
Barns in Front Garden
The Farmhouse in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killybegs, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MartinaG1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just loved the house - so beautiful and cosy, a home from home. Beautifully decorated, very well resourced, had everything you could need. Didn't feel like you were staying in a rental, felt like it was a trip home to stay with granny. The teabags, milk and biscuits on arrival were so thoughtful and very welcome. The location was beautiful, very secluded yet 15-20 minutes away from some amazing beaches. Best family holiday ever!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you for this super review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping we can welcome you again to stay at The Old Farmhouse very soon.
regards
Kiera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead1
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly memorable first family holiday”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our first trip away with our daughters and we didn't quite know what to expect however we couldn't have struck it more lucky! From the minute we drove up the quiet road and pulled into The Old Farmhouse it was a success!

The house is beautiful and is in a great location for touring around. Very close to Killybegs and fintra beach which girls just loved. Lovely restaurants with the nicest staff ever!

The Old farmhouse is so cosy and homely. It's very private which was lovely...I especially loved the peace and quiet.

Kiera couldn't have been more helpful with our booking, both with a quick response and information on area and things to do.

I wouldn't hesitate to return and plan to many time with my girls.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and cosines of house
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you for this super review.
We are delighted that you chose The Old Farmhouse for your holiday and that you enjoyed it.
You are welcome back anytime and hopefully soon.
regards
Kiera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula c
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage was way beyond any expectations I had, I loved it and i enjoyed hearing the sounds of the sheep and cows...was a very peaceful experience, just a short 5 minute taxi ride into town. Thank you for letting me stay here, and I look forward to more return visits here.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2016
Thank you for staying at The Old Farmhouse and this super review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
We would love you to return and stay again.
regards
Kiera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann f
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful farmhouse”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at the old farmhouse over the new year it is absolutely beautiful. Full of old charm yet modern facilities. Given directions from belfast. Directions were spot on better than any sat nav.we arrived later than expected due to work commitments on new years eve and were greeted by lights left on and heating also open fire set ready to light instantly we felt at home. We were also left a welcome pack. Thank you kiera it was very much appreciated. Would not hesitate to recommend the farmhouse as it was absolutely gorgeous and spotless clean. There were six aldults in our group and plenty of room for all of us. Killybegs is 10 min straight drive down the road and is a very friendly small town. Will definitely go back when the days are longer. Dont care about the weather as the place makes up for it in its natural beauty. Thanks again keira for sharing your beautiful farmhouse with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the farmhouse
Liked least: Cant fault the place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L W
Lurgan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant stay in this charming cottage”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed for a week with kids aged 5, 4, and 1. Delightful property, had everything we needed for a happy stay. Friendly neighbours were on call to see we had everything we needed (gas was running low) but they never intruded. Front gates meant kids were safe to play around the house and rode bikes on the tarmac, and conversed with the cows over the back fence.

Perfect for a holiday seeing some stunning Donegal, the beaches, and eating out. The house is comfortable, cosy and homely, we had such a great time here and hope to visit again in future - can't recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing