We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Strange Place....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernhill Golf and Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fernhill Golf and Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrigaline
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
237 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Strange Place....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

The Fernhill Golf and County Club is not a bad place. True, the accommodation is very tired and dated and could do with a major refurb. But..... it is spotlessly clean,with a lovely club house, and has amazing friendly, warm and helpful staff.

It is strange that for a business which is essentially in the middle of no-where, that there are absolutely no signs directing a would be guest to it's location. It is in an isolated spot, located off a very minor road. Why on earth do the management not place some signage on the Shanbally road? Despite satnav, we had to ring to reception twice for more precise directions. Bizarre....

What I like most was that it was fantastic value for money, unpretentious and within easy driving distance off Cork. But it could be a much busier spot if it would let passing trade know exactly where it is!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ostan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    35
    19
    17
    17
See reviews for
33
37
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked this hotel as a surprise for family who were celebrating a Ruby anniversary. There were 6 adults in the party and although the hotel was great and in a beautiful location the whole experience of Fernhill was let down by the clubhouse not serving food until the advertised times and the bar only staying open til 21:45 on a Friday night!! Not only did it close nearly 3 hours early but the lights were turned off and docks locked while we were still drinking! When I questioned a rude arogant man, who I can only assume was the manager, I was advised that the bar closed early due to lack of guests in there. There were only about 10 people in there but surely you look after the guests you have!? Other cars did pull up but drove away when they saw the lights off. It ruined our last night and put a downer of the 3 day trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n77njc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2007

We stayed here as a base for exploring the county of Cork. Directions were good and we arrived at lunchtime. Our room was ready for us - a good size with comfortable furnishings. It was let down by the very small and cramped bathroom, with the fittings coming loose eg we could not put anything on the glass shelf above sink as it was at an angle and about to fall off. The walls are paper thin, and we could hear other guests going to the toilet, showering, etc. The breakfast was fine, tho' the coffee was very very strong, and had to be swapped for tea. The Club house of the Golf Club is the place to go for evening meals and a drink - its about a 10 mins walk away from the hotel - not made clear in the hotel guide. The Leisure facilities do not open until 8.30am and are basic to say the least. An 'OK' break, but not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank keengardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carrigaline hotels

Athlone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

I have just come back from a weekend in Fernhill Golf and Country club in Carrigaline. It is a total gem of a place. The Bar is located in the Club house. The Hotel itself is nice and peaceful. There are beautiful views from the breakfast room of the valley and golf course. The staff are very accommodating and nothing was a problem. I don't play golf myself so i cannot comment on the course.

There was a great warm atmosphere all weekend in the clubhouse. Where locals and tourists converse about the golf and other sporting events. My partner spent the afternoon in the pool. Unfortunately i spent it sampling pints of Murphys. There was a nice bar food menu available. Overall a nice weekend experience. There are holiday homes on site as well which would be suitable for families.

  • Liked — They had duvets on the bed and the rooms were large and very airy.
  • Disliked — I prefare walk in showers
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ManagerAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrigaline
Commodore Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cobh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Golf and Country Club

Property: Fernhill Golf and Country Club
Address: Fernhill, Carrigaline, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Carrigaline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carrigaline
Price range (per night): $83 - $123
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernhill Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of the busy town Carrigaline, Cork Fernhills 3* hotel is only 5 minutes away from the Ringaskiddy, Ferry Port, 15 minutes away from Cork Airport and a mere 20 minutes away outside Cork City. It is a world away from Cork City’s hustle and bustle and is an ideal choice if you are looking for peace and tranquillity but still central enough to explore all the wonderful attractions Cork has to offer. The bedrooms in our hotel are en-suite and include tea/coffee making facilities, televisions offering local channels, writing desk and internet access, with many benefitting from glorious views across our parkland course. All are designed with the comfort and convenience of the guest in mind and offer all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. The hotel also benefits from a sun filled breakfast room overlooking our splendid golf course, complimentary parking, residents bar and complimentary fitness centre. Enjoy panoramic views of the Owenabue valley and golf course in our Clubhouse bar & Fairways restaurant. This is the perfect setting where you can expect to receive a warm and friendly welcome, good food, efficient and friendly staff all in a pleasant setting an ideal spot to meet friends or business clients. Our 18 hole parkland, Cork golf course, offers a challenge to golfers of all levels and abilities. Open for visitors and members, the course gives you the opportunity to test your skills to the fullest. Fernhill presents top quality playing conditions, on our well maintained course. Fernhill is renowned for its wonderful condition, lush fairways, excellent greens and a mature tree lined aspect. As a result of excellent design and course management Fernhill is often playable during inclement weather when many other courses are forced to close. We aim to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Fernhill Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhill Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing