We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Sunville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunville House
Ranked #1 of 4 Ballycotton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We were treated like family from the moment we arrived. The room was spacious and had a fantastic view of the countryside. Breakfast was exceptional. Ordered from a menu, cooked and served by the proprietors. The homemade scones were absolutely delicious. Our every need was taken care of with a warm feeling. If there were anything I would ask for it would have been to have another chair in the room for my spouse to sit on.

Room Tip: Views from the West facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hot37v8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunvillecork, Owner at Sunville House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you both so much for taking the time to write such a positive review.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you returned with some lovely memories of Ireland. It was a pleasure to have you both in our home.
Best Wishes Paddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

The couple who run this place are extremely kind and make great food too! My wife and I had a great time, relaxed, were served fantastic coffee and food. The town surrounding is also beautiful. Check it out!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunvillecork, Owner at Sunville House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best Wishes to you both, Paddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Anna and Padraig opened up their house to us for a quick one-night visit. The Sunville House is a charming building on a historic site about 5k from the village. Upon arrival, our hosts welcomed us into their den for fireside evening tea and biscuits. We enjoyed a beautiful starlit walk.

The next morning's breakfast was tasty and fulfilling: homemade scones and breads and eggs fresh from their chickens. Overall, this was a top class experience in a fairly remote part of Ireland. We recommend the Sunville House to anyone touring through East Cork, in-season, or off.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at Sunville House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thank you both so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and positive review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Sunville. Hope you get an opportunity to come back and visit us again. Best Regards, Paddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

This was our first trip back to Cork without our dad who was born here. We chose this beautiful residence as it looked so cosy and inviting. We weren't disappointed as the candles and fire were lit and a warm welcome from Anna and Paddy Casey followed by a tray of tea and homemade warm scones and amazing raspberry jam. Our rooms were lovely with all amenities to hand. We had our keys to come and go and had use of lounge and conservatory to relax and maybe read from the well stocked library of books. The breakfasts were lovely and the full Irish certainly lived up to its name.
You need transport but it is well worth the journey to find this 'little bit of Irish gold'

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at Sunville House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Hi Diane,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and positive review for us.
We certainly enjoyed having you, your husband and brother with us.
Wishing you all the best for the future. Best Wishes, Paddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Anna, the Hostess opened the door with a big smile and a warm welcome. Showed me to my room, very spacious with a lovely sitting room area. Cosy and spotless bathroom. Had tea made with leaves, and homemade scones, which I enjoyed. A great sleep in a comfy bed. Lovely table filled with a large selection of fruits, fresh orange juice, several cereals, and homemade granola. A terrific Irish Breakfast was being enjoyed by other guests, while I eat lightly. On leaving I was chuffed to be given a lovely little bucket of freshly laid eggs by their very own hens. Being a neighbour of the famous Ballymaloe cookery school, I am sure Darina Allen will be delighted if sheknows this , as she promotes having your own hens and fresh eggs. A wonderful overnight stay, and will be back to stay on my next visit to Ballymaloe. Thanks Anna and Paddy.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at Sunville House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Hi Marie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your kind words.
Also glad you enjoyed your trip to Ballymaloe Cookery School.
Hope you get an opportunity to come back and visit us again.

Best Regards, Paddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
4.5 km away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
797 reviews
3.3 km away
The Schooner Tavern
The Schooner Tavern
#2 of 4 in Ballycotton
44 reviews
4 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunville House

Address: Sunville House Sunville, Ballycotton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycotton
Price Range: $122 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunville House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunville House Bed and Breakfast accommodation is a newly renovated house within 3 minutes of Ballycotton bay, in East Cork Ireland, offering peaceful accommodation, in a beautiful location. There are spacious double, twin and triple rooms with spectacular views. Attractive guest TV lounge and conservatory for relaxation with great books to browse through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sunville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing