We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Irish gold”
Review of Sunville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunville House
Ranked #1 of 4 Ballycotton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

This was our first trip back to Cork without our dad who was born here. We chose this beautiful residence as it looked so cosy and inviting. We weren't disappointed as the candles and fire were lit and a warm welcome from Anna and Paddy Casey followed by a tray of tea and homemade warm scones and amazing raspberry jam. Our rooms were lovely with all amenities to hand. We had our keys to come and go and had use of lounge and conservatory to relax and maybe read from the well stocked library of books. The breakfasts were lovely and the full Irish certainly lived up to its name.
You need transport but it is well worth the journey to find this 'little bit of Irish gold'

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at Sunville House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Hi Diane,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and positive review for us.
We certainly enjoyed having you, your husband and brother with us.
Wishing you all the best for the future. Best Wishes, Paddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Anna, the Hostess opened the door with a big smile and a warm welcome. Showed me to my room, very spacious with a lovely sitting room area. Cosy and spotless bathroom. Had tea made with leaves, and homemade scones, which I enjoyed. A great sleep in a comfy bed. Lovely table filled with a large selection of fruits, fresh orange juice, several cereals, and homemade granola. A terrific Irish Breakfast was being enjoyed by other guests, while I eat lightly. On leaving I was chuffed to be given a lovely little bucket of freshly laid eggs by their very own hens. Being a neighbour of the famous Ballymaloe cookery school, I am sure Darina Allen will be delighted if sheknows this , as she promotes having your own hens and fresh eggs. A wonderful overnight stay, and will be back to stay on my next visit to Ballymaloe. Thanks Anna and Paddy.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at Sunville House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Hi Marie,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your kind words.
Also glad you enjoyed your trip to Ballymaloe Cookery School.
Hope you get an opportunity to come back and visit us again.

Best Regards, Paddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Lovely comfortable B+B located in a very quiet location - approx 4km from the small seaside town of Ballycotton.
Extra lovely hosts - could not have been more hospitable or helpful! They provided homemade scones & tea on arrival, which was most appreciated after 5hour journey from Mayo! Also great directions from Midleton, which were spot on..
I stayed in Room.5 - a twin room, roomy and comfortable with TV (saorview) and good WiFi connection.. Great shower - always important!
Really nice breakfast with lovely homemade breads & scones.. Good strong coffee.. (-:
Great value for €55.. I would definitely return if in East Cork again..
Thank you for a lovely stay..

Room Tip: The room I had was lovely (Room.5) - cannot comment on other rooms. Some rooms on ground floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marzi_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Owner at Sunville House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Hi Martina,

Thank you so much for a lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best wishes, Paddy and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Loved this BnB , remote and secluded, but delightful. Our room was lovely with a adjoining sitting room as a bonus. Plenty if room and bed very comfortable. Bathroom had nice touches and towels were of high quality.
Breakfast was also great with plenty of variety and delicious.
Hosts were were friendly and gave plenty of advice about local attractions, we did the Ballycotton Cliff Walk, high recommended.

Room Tip: Poached eggs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

While this B and B was well out of the way down some very narrow country farm roads, it was well worth the trip. It was 2 km to Ballycotton for food, pubs and cliff walk. We enjoyed the continental breakfast with full Irish breakfast if desired. The host and hostess were friendly and helpful. This place had a beautiful setting. It was clean and quiet. The only thing I could wish for would be more counter space in the bath.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kwr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycotton
4.5 km away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
788 reviews
4 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
435 reviews
3.3 km away
The Schooner Tavern
The Schooner Tavern
#2 of 4 in Ballycotton
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunville House

Address: Sunville House Sunville, Ballycotton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballycotton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballycotton
Price Range: $117 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunville House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunville House Bed and Breakfast accommodation is a newly renovated house within 3 minutes of Ballycotton bay, in East Cork Ireland, offering peaceful accommodation, in a beautiful location. There are spacious double, twin and triple rooms with spectacular views. Attractive guest TV lounge and conservatory for relaxation with great books to browse through. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Sunville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing