We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
149
143
42
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
143
42
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location northern lights golden circle small hotel waffles salmon worked fine stayed nights hotel is clean tour buses mini fridge arctic char limited menu hot tub restaurant offers quiet location free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Hotel Gullfoss is a nice hotel especially if you want an isolated place to watch the nothern lights. The rooms are quite big and new. The bathroom is big enough. Breakfast is limited but decent. A very good choice for the area.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cetra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Location is a very short drive away from Gulfoss and marked by signs on the main road.

Stayed in the newer wing. Rooms were spacious, very well appointed and designed, and TV had surprising amount of English channels! Noise insulation is superb.

Restaurant was closed when we there (off season?) We had to drive out to eat at Geysir (which was also full) so we had to drive all the way to Reykholt to grab a bite. If visiting in winter and having an inhouse- restaurant is important to you, would suggest checking with the owners whether the restaurant is open.

We had a basic spread for breakfast as there were only 4 of us in the hotel that morning but it was enough to fill us up til lunch.

There is absolutely no light pollution here once its dark so it is perfect to catch the Northern Lights if they are there.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank TimFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

A deliberate decision to stay at Hotel Gullfoss given its proximity to Gullfoss itself and its distance from the other tourist spots back down the road. Our room was in the new section of the hotel, and we were very impressed by the comfort, style, warmth, and quietness. Obviously a lot of thought had gone into the design and construction of each room. The breakfast was simply outstanding. A HUGE range of foods, and all good. Arctic char, pickled herring, sausages, eggs, bacon, cheeses, salamis and hams, waffles, cereals, yoghurts etc etc etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

This hotel was a great choice. Don't let the curb view fool you. We were placed in the newly bulit wing of the hotel and they did a fantastic job top to bottom. A beautiful shower, comfortable beds and a good variety of television viewings. We stayed 2 nights and ate dinner both nites in the onsite restaurant. A great selection and very personal service. Our group of 4 tried haddock, cod, veggie lasagna and more and we were delighted with each dish. Chocolate cake is VERY good. A nice selection of beer and wine to compliment any dish. Skip the pricey city hotels and whilst visiting Gullfoss falls you are right next door, OH, did I mention the best view of the Northern Lights we had in all of Iceland. Hats off to the entire friendly staff. Takk for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel a few days ago. Hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere and is not what I expected, prime location to see northern lights, hotel in itself was modern, clean and friendly! Hotel has a restaurant with a good choice of food and drink. I would recommend this hotel to anybody it was fantastic!

Stayed: November 2016
Thank JJS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews