We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern lights sucess”
Review of Hotel Gullfoss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gullfoss
Ranked #2 of 27 Selfoss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Stayed here in the hope of seeing the Northern Lights and it did not disappoint. Good hotel with comfy beds and substantial continental breakfast. It has a restaurant and is licenced. The bonus was seeing the aurora very little light bleed.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground and suitable for disabled. If you want to see the lights from your room choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2017

Hotel Gullfoss is a nice hotel especially if you want an isolated place to watch the nothern lights. The rooms are quite big and new. The bathroom is big enough. Breakfast is limited but decent. A very good choice for the area.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cetra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Location is a very short drive away from Gulfoss and marked by signs on the main road.

Stayed in the newer wing. Rooms were spacious, very well appointed and designed, and TV had surprising amount of English channels! Noise insulation is superb.

Restaurant was closed when we there (off season?) We had to drive out to eat at Geysir (which was also full) so we had to drive all the way to Reykholt to grab a bite. If visiting in winter and having an inhouse- restaurant is important to you, would suggest checking with the owners whether the restaurant is open.

We had a basic spread for breakfast as there were only 4 of us in the hotel that morning but it was enough to fill us up til lunch.

There is absolutely no light pollution here once its dark so it is perfect to catch the Northern Lights if they are there.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank TimFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

A deliberate decision to stay at Hotel Gullfoss given its proximity to Gullfoss itself and its distance from the other tourist spots back down the road. Our room was in the new section of the hotel, and we were very impressed by the comfort, style, warmth, and quietness. Obviously a lot of thought had gone into the design and construction of each room. The breakfast was simply outstanding. A HUGE range of foods, and all good. Arctic char, pickled herring, sausages, eggs, bacon, cheeses, salamis and hams, waffles, cereals, yoghurts etc etc etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

This hotel was a great choice. Don't let the curb view fool you. We were placed in the newly bulit wing of the hotel and they did a fantastic job top to bottom. A beautiful shower, comfortable beds and a good variety of television viewings. We stayed 2 nights and ate dinner both nites in the onsite restaurant. A great selection and very personal service. Our group of 4 tried haddock, cod, veggie lasagna and more and we were delighted with each dish. Chocolate cake is VERY good. A nice selection of beer and wine to compliment any dish. Skip the pricey city hotels and whilst visiting Gullfoss falls you are right next door, OH, did I mention the best view of the Northern Lights we had in all of Iceland. Hats off to the entire friendly staff. Takk for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selfoss hotels
6.5 km away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
315 reviews
46.1 km away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
249 reviews
87.1 km away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.1 km away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
663 reviews
38.2 km away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
363 reviews
57.6 km away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gullfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gullfoss

Address: Brattholt | Gullfoss, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Price Range: $181 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gullfoss 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel Gullfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing