We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Gullfoss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gullfoss
Ranked #2 of 26 Selfoss B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good location, very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The location is quite remote but the family running it are very friendly. The rooms are basic but adequate and clean.

I totally disagree with other comments about the food. It was reasonably priced and very high quality, simply cooked. Recommend eating there, much better value than Reyjkavik.

Free WiFi across the hotel, but only one Icelandic TV channel, so make sure you're got things to read!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    113
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
150
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Gullfoss for two nights in March 2012 and had a very pleasant stay. The key thing is its location, as a keen photographer I was up early for pre-dawn shots and being only 3 minutes from Gullfoss and 7-8 minutes from Geysir you really could not get a better location.
The staff were friendly and helpful, a BIG THANKS to the lady (I am afraid I do not know her name) who one evening gave a very quiet tap on our door about 10.30 as she knew I wanted to see the Northern Lights to let me know they were over head. She then spent the next 60-90 minutes with the guests offering tea / coffee to keep people warm as the skies turned green above us, really kind.
The hotel itself is a little old but that gives it character. The rooms are a reasonable size, basic but clean, the bathroom was small but the shower was good which is the most important thing to me. One plus side are the two hot tubs, most importantly they are right by the back door so you're only in the cold (snow) for a couple of seconds and there is a fence to hold off the wind - really enjoyed it. Overall the place feels like it could do with a little rejuvination but its perfectly acceptable, I would happilly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a north facing room to see the Northern Lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finbar_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hotel itself was very comfortable & appreciated the free wireless access. Owner helpful & pleasant. However, unless you have to, I wouldn't advise eating your evening meal there. As the hotel's in the middle of nowhere we didn't expect gourmet standards but food was extremely expensive given the quality & choice available. On the first night there were a handful of guests. We had a smoked salmon starter & good home-cooked lamb fillets. No dessert was offered. On the second night the standard plunged, maybe because more guests were staying. The only starter on offer was smoked salmon again, which was fine, as we like it. There was a choice of 2 main courses - lamb again or haddock. We chose the fish option this time & wished we hadn't. Ready mixed frozen veg from a bag with tasteless, watery ridged carrots. Basic home cooked food was acceptable enough but not at a cost of over £200 for two meals for two people. We had an excellent 3-course meal in Reykjavik for around £100 & there was no comparison.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-October. We were greeted by a nice gentleman, who it turns out owns the hotel with his mother, who also own the beautiful farm behind the hotel and have a scenic private walking trail that leads all the way to the Gullfoss waterfall. The two of them alternated running the front desk and were very nice. The gentleman spoke excellent English, and the mother's English was much much better than our Icelandic. ( 'thank you' and 'good day' were about the extent of our native language)

For the first two days we were actually the ONLY people there. We had requested a room in the back (side opposite of the parking lot) because the view was much nicer and you don't have the noise concern with cars coming and going and parking just outside your window) but our trip was loosely oriented upon seeing the Northern Lights, so, the innkeeper agreed to ready another room on the parking lot side to give us the best opportunity to see them since it faced the proper way. And since we were the only ones there the noise was a non-issue anyway. He gave us the room at the end of the hotel where we'd have the best view, room 116. There are only 16 rooms total here, so by Icelandic standards, this place is a metropolis.

Rooms 115 and 116 are the rooms at the ends which are closest to the hot tub area. You just leave your room, open the door leading out and you are there. There are 2 hot tubs but unfortunately both were broke. The innkeeper was working on one of them, but was not able to get one working. It was in the low 30F's so it was probably a good thing because we would have certainly felt compelled to get in, and at some point of the process froze our tookies off. But it would have been nice to pass the time looking up for the Northern Lights. (We did see them one night, but there were lots of cloud cover so it wasn't exactly what we were hoping for....)

They have a restaurant with a very limited menu, perhaps 5 entrees total. It just worked out to where we didn't eat there, other than breakfast, which was included in the room price. Our 3 nights were $25,000 ISK total, which was a special for the off season. Breakfast was served in the restaurant, which had a nice view. It wasn't much, cereal, coffee, bread for toast, cheese, packaged ham slices, salami and juice. Enough to keep you from leaving hungry, but not overly exciting for the tastebuds. (Some of) Us Americans are so spoiled, I agree. Pancakes or waffles would have been nice. One evening we ventured out and had dinner at Cafe' Kleutter in Reybolt, which is about 20 minutes away. Now that was very good.

As mentioned over and over, this is the only place to stay near Gullfoss, so if you want to see it before the crowds or be able to bide your time to enjoy the best weather when visiting, you can't beat this place. It's just a few minutes right up the road, or you can take your time and walk, I'd guess it's about 2 or perhaps 3km. Another problem we encounted while trying to photograph is the mist (which is ALOT) gets blown wickedly all around, and if it's not cooperating it will make taking a decent picture difficult, so staying at Gullfoss give you lots of opportunities to return and make that memorable photo. Geysir (actually it is just a steaming hot pool now, it's Strokkur that's the attraction which is just a few yards away) is not far either, perhaps 15 minutes by car. Having these two amazing natural feats in such close proximity was wonderful.

The rooms themselves are clean, of decent size and just ok. Not posh, but beyond functional. The beds were two twin beds pushed together, which were both adequate and interesting. Brought back some really old memories. The shower was small, but once you realized that you are TWO sliding doors, it made entering and exiting all the better. The hot water here did not have any of that sulphur smell that we encountered in the other places that we stayed at during this trip.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to friends that they stay here as well.

Room Tip: Rooms away from parking lot are quieter and have the better view. Also, rooms 116 & 115 are clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Hotel Gullfoss is pretty much the only place to stay near the Gullfoss waterfall, and luckily it is a very nice hotel. My wife and I were hoping to see the falls, but it was pouring rain when we showed up so we decided to just stay the night and hope for better weather the next day... luck was on our side and the next morning was beautiful. The falls are a very short drive up the hill from the hotel and staying there gives you the advantage of beating all the tour buses if you go during the busy season. We had the falls to ourselves and didn't leave the hotel until 9:30 or so that morning (which the sun was just coming up in Oct LOL).

The hotel itself was pretty standard fare for a hotel. The restaurant had really good food. My wife got the haddock and I had the chicken, and we both enjoyed our meals. Breakfast was also pretty standard stuff for Iceland; various breads, vegatables, meats and cheeses as well as cereals. The staff there were extremely nice and spoke good English, so no worries of language barriers. The view from the room was classic Icelandic country side with a horse pasture just down the hill. A great place to just hang out. :)

Room Tip: Stay here to beat the crowds at the Gullfoss waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 67SS_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selfoss
46.0 km away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
202 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
308 reviews
48.1 km away
Hotel Grimsborgir
Hotel Grimsborgir
#1 of 8 in Selfoss
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.5 km away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
770 reviews
38.2 km away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
328 reviews
19.7 km away
Farmhotel Efstidalur
Farmhotel Efstidalur
#1 of 2 in Blaskogabyggd
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gullfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gullfoss

Property: Hotel Gullfoss
Address: Brattholt | Blaskogabyggd, Selfoss 801, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Selfoss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Selfoss
Price range (per night): $202 - $316
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gullfoss 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gullfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing