We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
480
205
59
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
205
59
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs swimming pool golden circle steam room northern lights bread hot river overlooking the river hot pot cook your own geothermal activity breakfast eggs steam rising guest house boil your own eggs smoked trout hot pools
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Stayed here for one night in March 18. Made to feel very welcome by staff and the resident cats. Room was compact but very adequate. Super warm geothermal hot tub was right outside our door, robes and footwear were provided so a quick dip in the river was also fun.
The food here is first class and compared to the rest of Iceland not overpriced. The breakfast buffet was the best I've had in a while, including geothermal oven cooked rye bread.
I would definitely make a point of coming back here if in Iceland again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank klp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X3503MIinfo, Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guests

Thank you so much for your nice comment here in TripAdvisor, it means so much for us. We are so glad you liked your stay.
We do get a lot of praise for our breakfast buffet and our restaurant Varmá which is so very special and unique serving slow cooked food from our natural hot spring just outside the hotel.
We looking forward to hopefully welcome you again someday.
Best Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Restaurant was fine dining and delicious, rooms basic but everything we needed, robes provided for the hot tubs which is nice plus great cold river to swim in after the hot tubs, nice walk to the hot rivers too

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X3503MIinfo, Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guests

Thank you for your lovely review.

Nice to hear that you had a swim in the cold river as well, its a good mix going from hot tub to the river and then in to the sauna, relaxing and good for health.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Frost and Fire. The hot springs and steam room were fantastic. The restaurant was amazing as well. They had a great vegetarian meal and the chocolate cake baked in the geothermal oven was great also. We loved the geothermal rye bread and the breakfast. Will definitely stay at the Frost and Fire on our next trip to Iceland.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank monicac1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X3503MIinfo, Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear lovely guests

Thank you for your nice words about our hotel and restaurant here at TripAdvisor. Make us so glad.
We do hope you will come back again.
Best regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Fab little place. Awesome location with the most wonderful views into the thermal valley. We stayed in the cheapest room and it was admittedly pretty small but it was really nicely done and you stepped out of the room to a super little hot tub - where we saw the northern lights! We didn't eat in the on site restaurant but the breakfast was fab.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hcb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X3503MIinfo, Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guests

Thank you for this lovely review. It means a lot to us.
Yes our budget rooms are a bit smaller but really popular here at the hotel. Cheaper rooms but still so comfortable. Access to swimming pool, hot tubs and sauna is close and included in budget price.
We hope to welcome you again in future.
Best regrads
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just stayed here the other night during our road trip through the southern half of Iceland. We absolutely loved it! Our room was super cool with a vaulted ceiling, little patio, right next to the pool, even a real queen size bed, which we haven’t really seen, just twins pushed together. (Room 8)
The staff was incredibly kind and friendly. We splurged on dinner here and it was so worth it. The room and atmosphere was gorgeous and the food was delicious!
No northern lights but if there were it would have been a great place to view them.
There are even some hiking paths walking distance from the hotel to see a few geothermal vents which we loved as well.
Wish we were staying there longer!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank afair937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X3503MIinfo, Manager at Frost and Fire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guests

We are happy that you liked your stay here with us.
We wish to welcome you again someday in future.
Thank you for taking your time to comment here, we really appreciate it.
Best Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews