We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sh4545

No frills experience

Review of Hotel Rex
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 July 2019
Was booked a night's stay in this hotel through a Meteora tour package. Basic hotel with all the usual amenities, located in the heart of Kalambaka along the Main Street, walking distance from the train station. We requested a room with a view of Meteora but was told that no Meteora facing rooms were available that night due to some maintenance work they were carrying out. Breakfast was a simple affair of coffee, toast, greek yoghurt and some cold cuts, but it did the job.

We did a morning hike on our last morning in Meteora. Since our hike ended past check out timing, we were asked to check out before, which was of no issue to us. On our return, we asked if it was possible for us to use just their showers to freshen up but our request was denied. We wound up spending the rest of the day travelling back to Athens in our post-hike state.

Apart from that slight blight, it was a no frills stay without much to complain about. The front desk staff was very friendly, and we'd highly recommend having a meal at the tavern directly across the street from the hotel.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$166
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$102
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$144
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$144
0.4 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$98
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$98
1.1 km from Hotel Rex
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$116
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$211
1.0 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$224
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$120
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Hotel Rex
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$198
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Expedia.com
    AU$172
1.6 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kalambaka
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
22
29
42
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
29
42
13
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped over for a couple of nights to visit Meteora. Rooms are comfortable great location right in town opposite a fantastic taverna with greek musicians playing each night and the imposing rocks as the backdrop. The staff gave us some fabulous recommendations for our onward journey like visiting Parga a beautiful coastal town only a few hours on and also metsovo in the pintos mountains and we loved both

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank wittigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Some rooms of this hotel have been renovated. However, we opted for an older room since it wasn't facing the main street and was more quiet. We slept like baby! The rooms are the from offer a view of Meteora and some of them have been renovated. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was tiny and the shower even tinier! Some parts of the room, especially the desk, could have been cleaner, but overall it was clean enough. The buffet breakfast was included and it was perfect to start the day. There are several coffee shops and restaurants close by. The staff at the front desk is nice and helpful.

Room tip: The rooms situated at the back of the hotel are quieter
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotteuseTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at hotel Rex for a night to take the tour of Meteora. When we got here we found out that the tour had already begun because of the magnificent view from the balcony. The hotel was nice, clean and it had everything we needed. It's directly in the middle of everything happening in kalambaka. We enjoyed our stay and we recommend it to everyone. The staff is very helpful for all your needs.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Sofia on reception was excellent. All arranged with her by email. Meteora view, two adults and one small dog. Arrived three weeks later and the owner's wife asked us to leave after 30 seconds saying no dogs allowed. I explained we had a reservation and her husband checked with Sofia before saying he would honour the booking but it was against their policy. I was later summoned to his office so he could tell me they only took small dogs and our dog was not small. Asked what he considered small, he produced a chart of all breeds issued by the Kalambaka pet society (but didn't ask what our breed was and every other Greek had wrongly guessed). We had a 12 month old Sprocker puppy. I explained I had never been asked how small our dog was by his staff and he insisted we should have given more detail. I again pointed out that we were not asked for more detail and would have gladly given it if asked, but he insisted it was our responsibility to adhere to the pet society definitions. He again said he was only reluctantly honouring the booking but wished us a good stay. When told we didn't feel very welcome, he was surprised. The room was adequate, the view was excellent and the breakfast was modest. Again, Sofia on reception was excellent. The hotel is acceptable but don't book without giving them your life story or you'll spend you're whole visit feeling like a criminal

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
meteoritis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

your dog barked all night and we complained from our customers. As for the size of your dog I will not speak. it does not matter our experiences make us better .
Have a nice times enjoy it
Hope we see you soon with a smaller dog.
Regards
Yannis
Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Hotel Rex was perfect Hotel near Meteor, Greece.

We was there 28 people and every thing was good.

Sofia was the best ...She can explain every thing about Meteor and city !

The breakfast was super...

Thank you so much Sofia !

Room tip: Third floor
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albaniantourismguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews