We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GlobetrotteuseTO
Toronto

Good location to explore Meteora

Review of Hotel Rex
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 July 2018
Some rooms of this hotel have been renovated. However, we opted for an older room since it wasn't facing the main street and was more quiet. We slept like baby! The rooms are the from offer a view of Meteora and some of them have been renovated. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was tiny and the shower even tinier! Some parts of the room, especially the desk, could have been cleaner, but overall it was clean enough. The buffet breakfast was included and it was perfect to start the day. There are several coffee shops and restaurants close by. The staff at the front desk is nice and helpful.
Date of stay: June 2018
Room Tip: The rooms situated at the back of the hotel are quieter
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$168
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$189
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$101
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$218
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Rex
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$239
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
  • StayForLong
0.9 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$199
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$189
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Hotel Rex
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$186
  • Hotels.com
5.9 km from Hotel Rex
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$126
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Rex
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kalambaka
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
22
29
42
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
29
42
13
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at hotel Rex for a night to take the tour of Meteora. When we got here we found out that the tour had already begun because of the magnificent view from the balcony. The hotel was nice, clean and it had everything we needed. It's directly in the middle of everything happening in kalambaka. We enjoyed our stay and we recommend it to everyone. The staff is very helpful for all your needs.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Sofia on reception was excellent. All arranged with her by email. Meteora view, two adults and one small dog. Arrived three weeks later and the owner's wife asked us to leave after 30 seconds saying no dogs allowed. I explained we had a reservation and her husband checked with Sofia before saying he would honour the booking but it was against their policy. I was later summoned to his office so he could tell me they only took small dogs and our dog was not small. Asked what he considered small, he produced a chart of all breeds issued by the Kalambaka pet society (but didn't ask what our breed was and every other Greek had wrongly guessed). We had a 12 month old Sprocker puppy. I explained I had never been asked how small our dog was by his staff and he insisted we should have given more detail. I again pointed out that we were not asked for more detail and would have gladly given it if asked, but he insisted it was our responsibility to adhere to the pet society definitions. He again said he was only reluctantly honouring the booking but wished us a good stay. When told we didn't feel very welcome, he was surprised. The room was adequate, the view was excellent and the breakfast was modest. Again, Sofia on reception was excellent. The hotel is acceptable but don't book without giving them your life story or you'll spend you're whole visit feeling like a criminal

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
meteoritis, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

your dog barked all night and we complained from our customers. As for the size of your dog I will not speak. it does not matter our experiences make us better .
Have a nice times enjoy it
Hope we see you soon with a smaller dog.
Regards
Yannis
Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Hotel Rex was perfect Hotel near Meteor, Greece.

We was there 28 people and every thing was good.

Sofia was the best ...She can explain every thing about Meteor and city !

The breakfast was super...

Thank you so much Sofia !

Room tip: Third floor
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albaniantourismguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Checked in after a long journey from Macedonia. Was given Room 214. And the nightmare began...
Room was terrible. Old and dirty looking especially the toilet. Deplorable condition. Not even fit to be sold. Room and toilet smelt very strongly of some kind of grease / oil. Made u want to throw up. The bath tub was a strange shape and very small.
The lady at the reception offered us to change room but we were too tired from the journey.
They should have checked the room before guest check in and not let guest experience the horrid condition.
Definitely one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Did not expect Greece to provide such an accommodation to its guests who had come all the way to enjoy the beauty of the country.
Hopefully something is done to uphold the standard of hotel service there.
Having said that I would give a thumb up for the staff friendliness - at least it took away a tiny bit of my disappointment. And wi-fi was quite strong too

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Idah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located to town as well as easy walk to the bus or train station. It is a budget hotel so updates and some cosmetic issues are there. That said, none of that interfered with my stay. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The room is standard for European hotels. The bed was comfortable. There were extra blankets and very good heat in the room. The breakfast was adequate. My room had a balcony with views of the mountains. The hotel was quiet. I would stay here again if I return to Kalambaka.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank barbara115de
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews