We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Meteora Monasteries Half-Day Small Group Tour with Transport
280

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Great Meteoron Monastery
Reviews (1,469)
Filter reviews
1,469 results
Traveller rating
1,179
245
35
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,179
245
35
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great meteoron small museum holy trinity stairs monastery greece frescoes rock peak century buses region cliffs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,469 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2023

We visited here as part of an organised tour in September 2022. It was a day stop so we arrived mid morning and were given a couple of hours to explore this monastery. There are quite a few steps down and then back up to enter the complex so bear that in mind. You pay your entry fee when you get further in.

The complex itself is large but you can only see a portion of it. The setting is breathtaking, especially when you consider how they must have built these places. The vistas are good to take photos from too.

It was very busy when we were there so be prepared for that, but it's still worth it.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2023 via mobile

Beautiful location. The staff working in the monastry is not that friendly (those selling the tickets). Monks are not visible during touristic hours and that is not strange given the many people hanging around.
It was crowded despite shoulder season. Best time to go is about 10.30 one hour after opening because at opening there are several buses arriving simultaneously.
Monastry is nice, especially also the little museum. Original documents from rulers at that time, include emperors who signed the letters in red and Turkish ruler who declared that the monastry was protected.
A codex was written on goat skin, all original.
The frescos and icons are beautifull, unique collection from 12th century onwards.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank 45moniqued
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

Beautiful and the most detailed exhibition of the Meteora monasteries. It was worth getting there early and coming before peak of the season.

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank Clara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2023

The monastery has character, an incredible panoramic view and interesting history. Be prepared for a climb of 270 steps plus slopes. Its worth it.

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank jrp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2023 via mobile

As we were visiting Meteora monasteries on a Wednesday we did :
1) Varlaam
2) Great Meteoron
3) Rousanos

Great Meteoron is one of the « main » monastery at Meteora next to Varlaam and Holy Trinity.
It’s located near Varlaam, so it’s quite easy to do both.
Regarding access, there is around 300 steps, but it’s quite okay.

It took us 1 hour in order to visit it.
It can be visited within 45 minutes, but as they are a lot of guides, if you stay a few minutes at a point place, there is huge likelihood that a guide will pass with his group in order to catch one part of the explanation that may be interesting
This one has two small museums inside with very nice pieces

Date of experience: May 2023
2  Thank thomasdefise93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews