We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm
Meteora Monasteries Half-Day Small Group Tour with Transport
280

Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Great Meteoron Monastery
Reviews (1,469)
Filter reviews
1,469 results
Traveller rating
1,179
245
35
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,179
245
35
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great meteoron small museum holy trinity stairs monastery greece frescoes rock peak century buses region cliffs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,469 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2023 via mobile

As we were visiting Meteora monasteries on a Wednesday we did :
1) Varlaam
2) Great Meteoron
3) Rousanos

Great Meteoron is one of the « main » monastery at Meteora next to Varlaam and Holy Trinity.
It’s located near Varlaam, so it’s quite easy to do both.
Regarding access, there is around 300 steps, but it’s quite okay.

It took us 1 hour in order to visit it.
It can be visited within 45 minutes, but as they are a lot of guides, if you stay a few minutes at a point place, there is huge likelihood that a guide will pass with his group in order to catch one part of the explanation that may be interesting
This one has two small museums inside with very nice pieces

Date of experience: May 2023
2  Thank thomasdefise93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2023

This is a must see if you are visiting northern Greece. Fascinating to learn the history of this site.

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank Ken Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2023

One of the oldest monasteries. Beautiful monastery, it has very good frescoes. Visited it for 1 hour. Climbing up the steps is not that bad - a little tiring.
We had more energy, since it was our first one.
Entry fee is 3 euros per person.

Date of experience: September 2022
Thank chait1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2022

The Great Meteoron, as the name suggests, is the largest and oldest monastery in Meteora. It was constructed in the 14 century on top of a massive (largest) rock in the region.
It, like all others, requires many steps to reach, making it unsuitable for people with mobility issues. Keep in mind that those steps were only built in the early twentieth century; prior to that, monks had to use ropes and ladders to get there.
The Church, built in the 16th century in the centre of the complex, is magnificent. The terrace provides excellent views of the surrounding area.

Date of experience: August 2022
1  Thank Aida G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2022

The largest monastery site - visitors may experience large (as compared to smaller monasteries) spaces, museum, courtyards, kitchen and few other dedicated spaces. Stariway is also spectacular.

Date of experience: August 2022
Thank WojBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews