We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Karen
Orange, Australia

Excellent location, wonderful guesthouse

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Sept 2023
We loved our stay at Oikia Guesthouse. The rooms were beautiful and modern. The bathrooms were modern and the beds were very comfortable. The guesthouse was also in an excellent location from which to visit the monasteries of Meteora. It also had a beautiful rooftop alfresco area to enjoy sunset drinks. Every morning we enjoyed a wonderful and generous breakfast. We would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone considering staying in Meteora.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$192
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • Trip.com
    AU$180
  • Hotels.com
    AU$210
0.9 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$145
  • Priceline
    AU$145
  • Agoda.com
    AU$145
1.1 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$123
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
  • Vio.com
    AU$111
  • StayForLong
    AU$119
1.1 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$127
  • Trip.com
    AU$121
  • Hotels.com
    AU$127
1.2 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free parking
EXTERIOR VIEW
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
    AU$161
  • Lol.travel
    AU$157
  • Priceline
    AU$173
1.3 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$190
  • StayForLong
1.3 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$189
  • Expedia.com
    AU$202
  • Vio.com
    AU$173
  • Hotels.com
    AU$225
1.4 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$164
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$216
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$126
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kalambaka
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
69
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy walk into town junior suite beautiful view stayed two nights small balcony the owner ac hiking rocks edge monasteries tavern
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2023 via mobile

Very conveniently located on the edge of town, close to restaurants and bars but away from the crowds and plenty of street parking in front of the building. Beautiful views of the Meteora rocks from the balcony and shared outdoor roof garden. The room was small but efficiently setup and very clean. Attentive and welcoming staff from check-in to departure. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank perrosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023 via mobile

The most amazing hotel! So clean, it’s immaculate!!!!!
Very modern, really comfortable bed, best sleep ever! Quiet, excellent air on too. Tasty breakfast that caters for any need. The attention to detail is second to none.
I would highly, highly recommend it!!!!

Room tip: Overlooking Meteora, perfect breakfast
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Compass728093
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2022

We loved our Meteora visit, having been intrigued by images of beautiful monasteries hovering atop precarious, seemingly inaccessible rocks. It was even better in person!

We stayed two nights in the Junior Suite of the Oikia. It was compact but comfortable: twin beds in one area with small counters and an open closet; a queen bed in the other room without shelving. The bathroom was small but fine. There was a small balcony with some views of the marvelous rocks. And a very large public terrace with expansive views.

The location was great: easy walk into town, on the road to the monasteries, plentiful parking out front.

Our only disappointment was the attitude of the hostess, who may have had a bad day--I know sometimes language and culture can be off-putting. By contrast, the gentleman, who I believe is the owner, was very friendly when we met that evening, greeting us and offering hiking ideas.

The next morning, we were the last to breakfast before they closed up. The same hostess came over and said pointedly: the food is to be eaten here, not taken away.

What?! First, we had not done anything to indicate we were hoarding food. Second, whatever was left certainly would be tossed, not recycled. Third, we have often taken a croissant or a banana with us from breakfast and have never been scolded for it. She made us feel like thieves, which unfortunately soured our otherwise excellent stay.

Room tip: The junior suite offers two bedroom spaces
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mei-Mei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2022 via mobile

Pictures do not capture the beautiful, tasteful and relaxing decor. It is absolutely spotless and the personal care of the owner is evident. It was one of those very special places to stay. It was very hot when we were there in August. Not only was there AC that worked well, there was also a ceiling fan over the bed which we really appreciated. The day before we got to choose what we wanted for breakfast. There were lots of choices including cappuccino which was very good - we even ordered a second. It is on the edge of town about a 5-7 minute walk to several cafes and restaurants (the closest taverna was closer), nice and quiet and with a beautiful view of the rock formations. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank velika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2021

We stayed in this delightful guest house for two nights while visiting Meteora for the first time. The rooms are new and immaculate and the property is well situated for hiking and taking in the incredible sights. The proprietors went out of their way to make us feel welcome and safety protocols were observed by all staff.
We will definitely be back!

Room tip: Request a room with a balcony and side view of the mountains
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allisondeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews