We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mei-Mei K
Estero, Florida

Almost excellent

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Aug 2022
We loved our Meteora visit, having been intrigued by images of beautiful monasteries hovering atop precarious, seemingly inaccessible rocks. It was even better in person!

We stayed two nights in the Junior Suite of the Oikia. It was compact but comfortable: twin beds in one area with small counters and an open closet; a queen bed in the other room without shelving. The bathroom was small but fine. There was a small balcony with some views of the marvelous rocks. And a very large public terrace with expansive views.

The location was great: easy walk into town, on the road to the monasteries, plentiful parking out front.

Our only disappointment was the attitude of the hostess, who may have had a bad day--I know sometimes language and culture can be off-putting. By contrast, the gentleman, who I believe is the owner, was very friendly when we met that evening, greeting us and offering hiking ideas.

The next morning, we were the last to breakfast before they closed up. The same hostess came over and said pointedly: the food is to be eaten here, not taken away.

What?! First, we had not done anything to indicate we were hoarding food. Second, whatever was left certainly would be tossed, not recycled. Third, we have often taken a croissant or a banana with us from breakfast and have never been scolded for it. She made us feel like thieves, which unfortunately soured our otherwise excellent stay.
Date of stay: May 2022
Room Tip: The junior suite offers two bedroom spaces
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$144
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
1.1 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$167
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
0.2 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$106
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    AU$97
  • Hotels.com
    AU$109
1.1 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$112
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$115
  • Hotels.com
    AU$114
1.2 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$117
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$194
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$192
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$225
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$173
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$170
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$176
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$104
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Oikia Guesthouse
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Kalambaka
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
68
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy walk into town junior suite beautiful view stayed two nights small balcony the owner ac hiking rocks edge monasteries tavern
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2022 via mobile

Pictures do not capture the beautiful, tasteful and relaxing decor. It is absolutely spotless and the personal care of the owner is evident. It was one of those very special places to stay. It was very hot when we were there in August. Not only was there AC that worked well, there was also a ceiling fan over the bed which we really appreciated. The day before we got to choose what we wanted for breakfast. There were lots of choices including cappuccino which was very good - we even ordered a second. It is on the edge of town about a 5-7 minute walk to several cafes and restaurants (the closest taverna was closer), nice and quiet and with a beautiful view of the rock formations. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank velika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2021

We stayed in this delightful guest house for two nights while visiting Meteora for the first time. The rooms are new and immaculate and the property is well situated for hiking and taking in the incredible sights. The proprietors went out of their way to make us feel welcome and safety protocols were observed by all staff.
We will definitely be back!

Room tip: Request a room with a balcony and side view of the mountains
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allisondeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2021

We loved staying here. The pictures of the rooms don't do it justice. They are large, bright and cheerfully decorated and everything feels fresh and new.
There's a huge rooftop terrace with comfortable patio furniture and an awesome view of the rocks that's accessible to all guests.
The idea of choosing your breakfast and time the night before is ingenious. That way when you sit down you're promptly served your selection...no waiting. Really helpful in case of a tight schedule. The host and hostess, Anna and George are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area, monasteries and all the trails. Thanks to their suggestions we where able to see and do all that we had wanted, plus more during our 7 night stay there!
Their guesthouse is perfectly situated so one can easily walk to restaurants in Kalambaka or in Kastraki and also access trails and monasteries from either location.
If I could I would give this place 10 stars.
We absolutely recommend this place and would stay there again when visiting Meteora!!

Room tip: We chose a room facing the back cause it was quiet. We could still see the rocks from our balcony.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamaiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

We had a wonderful experience staying at Oikia Guesthouse. The property is newly remodeled, bright and well decorated. The room is clean, comfortable and well sized for 3 of us. It is also quiet and The host/owners, Anna and George are friendly and very hospitable. And we loved our breakfast as it is fresh and from the local area. It is also very convenient as it is within walking distance to main town center.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rm547
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Even before we stepped in, "Oikia Guesthouse" gave a warm, orderly and welcoming impression. Among the best hotel and guest houses so far, and definitely the best in Greece!

Everything from the reception, the dining area, the stairs to the terrace was very neat, clean and modernly decorated. The staff was very nice, welcoming and helpful!

The room was very, very clean, spacious, nice, cozy and modern decorated and smelled clean good and fresh: everything from the towels to the bedding. The room is decorated with heart and has small interior details that give a warm home feeling. The bed was large and comfortable, which is not the most common thing to find in Greece.

The shower is spacious and you will also find new slippers waiting for you.

In addition there is wifi, Smart-TV, coffee maker, mini fridge (with water waiting) hairdryer and safe.

From the small balcony we could see some of the beautiful mountains. The hotel also has a large and beautiful terrace where you can enjoy a coffee or tea while having an even better view of the beautiful views.

The soundproofing was very good and we did not hear other guests or the traffic.

We ordered breakfast via a form the day before. Very flexible and good for those with allergies or special diets. The breakfast was lovingly prepared and has so far been the best in Greece!

About 5 minutes to the center where you have everything from restaurants, pharmacies, mini supermarket to shops that sell stamps.

10 out of 10: extremely pleased and delighted to have found such a gem in this beautiful city of Kalambaka. You are more than welcome to open the concept in other Greek cities! Strongly recommended!

Room tip: Get up early to enter the monasterys without the tourists. Women needs to wear a long skirt/dress, covering their shoulders and men needs to wear long pants.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank elisabetht194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
<