We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
72
33
17
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
33
17
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand taverne jerry yester within walking distance anniversary dinner nice suite in town the main drag a king size bed third floor antiques bedroom spoonful history microwave
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Go back in time and see what it was like to be a wealthy northerner vacationing in an upscale hotel over a hundred years ago. It was quite an experience. The hotel is the same outside and looks old but don't let that fool you. The inside is extremely well maintained. Dusty checked us in and even carried one of my bags up the stairs for me. (there is no elevator--remember you are traveling back in time to 1880.) our room wasn't ready because they were putting in a new mattress when we arrived so Dusty upgraded us to a two bedroom suite. It was wonderful!!!! The beds were so comfy! The AC worked great (I was a little worried about that). If you are a smoker they have balconies on each floor. Dinner in the Grand Tavern was excellent! Wonderful scallops and steak!!! Desserts were yummy too. Do yourself a favor and stay here for the experience! We felt like time travelers in a posh hotel. Oh and you can walk one block to the best breakfast place called Mudtown!!! One of the best breakfast I have ever eaten! Blueberry pancakes and garlic cheese grits. All kinds of fancy coffees. And do the Tram tour! You learn so much and it was great fun for all ages!!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank busielady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Grand Central is a quaint and classy hotel with an elegant restaurant, with fine entertainment every night. Staff is friendly and helpful. Conveniently and centrally located, easily able to walk to all restaurants and venues. The Grand Central could use some modern updates, but is very clean and comfortable. Will definitely be returning!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance to shopping, eating, and the trolley service. The room was comfortable and spacious. The historic atmosphere of the hotel was fun (although an elevator would be nice). The large spa tub in the room was relaxing and the modern kitchen along side the antique furniture was amusing. We didn't eat at the hotel but our experience with the hotel was comfortable and enjoyable. Also, parking was conveniently close by. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: No elevator, try for second floor. Also street view would be more interesting than parking lot view on back of hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robbiem304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Great experience, we enjoyed being in the middle of everything and having plenty to do. We really liked the outdoor seating at the restaurant and bar. The overall hotel was nice and clean. We will definitely go back to stay, there is a ton of cool little bars to check out. There is also a ton of little off the wall places to visit and restaurants to check out, the overall vibe is very cool in Eureka.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jst0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I have never in my life seen anything as colorful as the water in this area! I could have stayed here all day gazing at the water and steam coming off the water. If it hadn't been so crowded the day we visited I might still be there! No railings on the sidewalk was a little scary, especially when little kids went running by! But it seemed pretty safe. Parking was an issue 4th of July week, but we only waited 20 minutes or so to get a place in the lot. Many people were parking on the road and walking down the bank. Again, beautiful, amazing, majestic, magical, gorgeous....

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Boogiesmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews