We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Lande of perfection”
Review of La Lande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Lande
Ranked #1 of 1 Bricquebec B&B and Inns
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“La Lande of perfection”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had stayed in the Bricquebec area 7 years ago and, on deciding to return this year, had intended to re-visit the gite we used then. However, it seems that this is no longer available so a quick trawl of Tripadvisor revealed La Lande as a potentially excellent alternative.

We were not disappointed and would certainly echo other reviewers universally favourable comments. The owners' own visitors book contains many many more in similar vein.

We did not arrive till about 8pm and had pre-booked an evening meal. This was first class both in quality and quantity and got our week's stay off to an excellent start.

Our party of 4 stayed in Kestrel which is well equipped, spacious and clean.

Other reviewers have commented on their children's enjoyment of the facilities. Our group of sixty somethings also made full use of the table tennis (especially fun after a few glasses of wine!) and our first stuttering attempts at archery.

La Lande is such a peaceful place but the nearest supermarket is only a 2 minute drive away, and the town just a 20 minute walk. You could certainly spend time chilling out here but La Lande is ideally located for Normandy's many attractions. We particularly liked Portbail, on the west coast, and Barfleur, on the north-east tip of the peninsula - both can be reached in about 30 minutes.

The Martins have done a remarkable job in creating La Lande in such a short space of time. It is a wonderful place to stay for both young and old, not least because of Val and Paul's friendly and welcoming approach. They genuinely want you to enjoy yourselves - and we did!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surreybaggie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in Barn Owl Gite for two weeks from 18th August 2012 - 2 adults, a 6 year old and a 3 year old. This was easily the best gite we have stayed in, despite being the first we have tried without a swimming pool!

Val and Paul welcomed us on arrival, Val showing us the Gite and Paul taking the kids for a tour of the extensive grounds and to meet the chickens. Barn Owl is beautifully furnished and has everything you could need. The gite was spotlessly clean. The 2 downstairs bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and there is a third, triple bedroom upstairs. It is worth noting that the upstairs bedroom leads straight from the lounge, and so might be tricky for young, light sleeping children to sleep in if parents are using the lounge/kitchen after their bedtime. Our two shared the downstairs room so this was not an issue for us.

The grounds of the gite are fantastic. There is huge amounts of space and the gardens are beautifully kept. The kids were well occupied by the trampoline, bikes, cars, table football, table tennis, boules, football goal, badminton, tennis, rugby balls, giant Jenga and of course, the Chickens! Our eldest particularly enjoyed his tour of the veg garden with Paul - we now need to find a bigger garden to start growing stuff!

Val and Paul really were the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble, from our many requests to borrow things (baking tin and rolling pin for a birthday cake, amongst other things), to their advice on where to visit. The food Val was regularly creating for DB&B guests looked and smelled fabulous. We even came home with a jar of home made jam!

Bricquebec is a nice town; in the end we only ate at one of the restaurants there, which did a good pizza. We ate at the Forge 3 times, which was excellent, and at the Creperie once, which was also good. These two restaurants are together, about a 7 minute drive towards Valognes. As everywhere in France, the 7pm opening of the restaurants posed a few challenges with the children, but they were happy enough staying up a little later! The market at Bricquebec was good; there are markets within driving distance every day. The 4/5 we visited were all well worth visiting.

On Val and Paul's advice we also went to Sciotot. This is a beachside village about 25-30 minutes from La Lande. The beach is huge and was quiet despite it being mid August. There is a large playground right next to the beach, with a snack bar next to it - we had a few beers and some chips here and it was good enough - not gourmet, but very nice having a beer in the sunshine whilst the kids played! Next to the beach there are also 2 restaurants. We went to Le Sauve Qui Pleut twice; this was lovely; a lovely setting, nice modern restaurant and most importantly, a small kid's playground which occupied our two until the food arrived, allowing us to relax! The food was good, although the menu is a little unusual - a range of salads and other dishes from around the world. They did the ubiquitous (but very good) Moules Frites, but also offered a couple of different veggie options (unusually for France) which made my wife happy! We also went to Carteret beach a few times which was lovely and a little more sheltered on breezy days. Carteret is a lovely town, with lots of good looking restaurants, the one we visited was very nice, but I am afraid I forgot what it was called! Barfleur is another town worth a visit.

The swimming pool at Beaumont-Hague was a huge hit with the children (and us to be honest, despite the silly Speedo rule for me!!!). The kids pool is 0.10m deep and incredibly warm, with lots of toys. There are two further pools, two excellent slides and also a jacuzzi, steam room etc.

Many of the D-Day sites/sights are within easy reach of the gite, making La Lande a great base from which to visit them. We did Ste Mere Eglise (the best one in my opinion, and only about 30 minutes away at most), and Omaha, Utah and Gold beaches without driving too much, which was important with the kids in tow. Arromanches and Longue Sur Mer are a must if you are interested in this stuff.

So, back to La Lande. We had a good tour of Kestrel gite and the 2 B&B rooms, and they all looked great. Kestrel can be extended using one of the B&B rooms, offering huge flexibility, and the B&B rooms were both huge and really nicely decorated. I am sure you will not find a warmer welcome anywhere!

Overall we were delighted. The gite was perfect, the grounds were fantastic, and Val and Paul could not have done more. We will almost certainly be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here on the last night of a 2 week holiday in Normandy and Brittany. Chose the place because of its proximity to the Cherbourg ferry. This was a big mistake - one night was not enough ! The welcome from Val and Paul was great. Huge room with a comfy bed and a tv which receives Channel islands programmes.Excellent breafast - all home produced food - and good advice re pre ferry shopping in Cherbourg.Val also recommended a good restaurant in Briquebec . However if you book in advance she will do an evening meal for you.
We have been to France many time in the past but this was our first experience of the fastcat crossing to Cherbourg. We will definite travel this way in future and most certainly spend more time at La Lande.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-on-Tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed with Val and Paul at La Lande, Normandy in 2011 and on that basis, made sure to visit them again for a couple of nights this July 2012 whilst in France. Once again we weren't disappointed.
We stayed for two nights B&B, in the Admiral suite. This a beautiful vaulted bedroom with living room area plus large bathroom. Downstairs is a large living room and a separate dining area.
If that isn't enough to entice you, then Val's cooking should! having sampled it last year we opted to "stay in" and eat both nights - we were treated to delicious French styling cooking with an English twist on both nights. Dinner consisted 5 courses and even though I'm greedy by nature, I could not eat another mouthful by the time we'd finished. All washed down with generous helpings of wine.
I cannot recommend a stay here enough!

Room Tip: For bed and breakfast ask for the Admiral suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardMcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our second holiday staying at La Lande and as before have had a wonderful relaxing time. La Lande provides a perfect base to explore the Normandy coastline and the surrounding area. We stayed in the Kestrel Gite for our week away and this provided perfect accommodation for ourselves and our young children; spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped, the owners Val and Paul take great care to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.

As mentioned in other reviews, nothing is too much trouble for Val and Paul, little touches such as providing some toys in the Gite for our little ones to play with, the bicycles and toys in the barn are a welcome touch, most importantly however are Paul and Val’s 3 Chickens who provided hours of entertainment being chased around the beautiful gardens by our boys.

We would highly recommend La Lande it is a wonderful place run by lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bricquebec
1.5 km away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Bricquebec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
16.7 km away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
16.7 km away
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
#4 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Logis La Regence
Logis La Regence
#8 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
16.4 km away
Hotel des Ormes
Hotel des Ormes
#2 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
12.3 km away
Manoir de Savigny
Manoir de Savigny
#1 of 4 in Valognes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lande

Property: La Lande
Address: les Gros Monts, 50260 Bricquebec, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Bricquebec
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bricquebec
Price range (per night): $141 - $178
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful 2 & 3 bed gites in Bricquebec, Normandy, 25 minutes drive from Cherbourg. B & B available in our suite & also in the gites, out of peak season. Close to the Normandy landing sites & gorgeous Atlantic beaches. Peace & quiet; luxurious tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Lande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Lande Bricquebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing