We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for budget group break ”
Review of Hotel Cal Ruiz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Staff are wonderful and really helpful. The hotel is a bit tired and the rooms are very warm at night and small. However, perfect for a budget holiday and close to all bars and cafes. Has a small spa downstairs, food ticks all the boxes, plenty to eat at breakfast and dinner.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cal Ruiz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

The only thing really, very good about this hotel is the incredibly hard working staff... and the free spa is good, when it's working.

The food is amazing if you're a vegetarian - the Cheff makes a special effort as soon as you mention this to the staff, and they'll cook you something special every time you go in for an evening meal.

However, for everyone else, the food is a different story! Whilst a great variety (a bit too tight a budget on the quality), everything is luke warm at best - and it's a buffet so it's sat there for hours!!

This food issue gave most of my group bad stomachs. I ended up injected with pain relief and anti-cramping meds and then put on a drip my pains were so bad and I'd lost so much fluid!!

If this or anything similar happens to you, the pharmacies are brilliant, and the Dr is near the bottom of the ski lifts (just down the path)... you walk past it but may not notice when you don't need a Dr.

It's worth noting the Dr's on your way up as so many people get injured skiing... but mine was obviously another story... :-/

Honestly I got some of the worst belly pain I've ever had in my life there... it was speculated that the altitude could have contributed - but luke warm sea food, rice, meats etc, kept that temperature for hours and most people in our group at that hotel getting a really bad tummy with sweats etc... that's more than coincidence!!

Honestly - they need to do something about that elegant buffet - it may look pretty, but it just isn't fit for purpose and doesn't keep food to anywhere near a healthy temperature!!

We ended up all having to eat out the last half of the week or we'd have lost more skiing days!!

A real shame as the staff were lovely. The Rooms were clean and spacious too.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MsCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Pas de la casa.
We came through Lleida airport, Spain. The coach transfer took 4 hours. I've since been told that it's shorter from the French side. The town is duty free, filled with shops selling alcohol, tobacco and perfumes alongside lots of cafes, bars and restaurants giving the impression that it'd be easy and cheap to self cater here.
Hotel Cal Ruiz.
The plus points.
We had 3 rooms and they were all modern, recently refurbished. Yes, the beds were firm but no one complained.
Nice bar area where we found the strongest Wi Fi signal. Cheap bar prices and even cheaper during happy hour 5 till 6.30.
It's a 6 to 8 minute walk uphill to the gondola and chair lifts and we hired a locker just opposite for the 5 of us for 60 euros for the week.
The staff at the Cal Ruiz were all generally helpful, polite, efficient and friendly.
The food in the dining room was well prepared, varied and well presented. Both breakfast and dinner are buffets. There were always lots of different desserts at dinner which the kids loved.
Coming home meant a 4am start but reception is manned 24hrs so someone was there to take our room keys and return our 3 x 20 euro key deposits and hand us our picnic breakfasts.
The minus points.
No soft closers on the bedroom doors so lots of clattering and banging. Luckily most people tired themselves out on the slopes so weren't in bed late.
The bedroom walls were really thin so we could hear talking, showering, toilet flushing, plugs in, plugs out, TV on, etc. etc. Also any noise from the hallway.
In the restaurant the central buffet display unit must be around 40 years old. The heated base was inadequate. Either that or the trays of food were not being brought from the kitchen in hot condition so food at both breakfast and dinner was lukewarm at best. If plates were warmed it would have helped. They weren't. This was a big issue for me and the hotel must be aware because others have mentioned it on Tripadvisor. And staff didn't clear away after each course. We did it ourselves because the alternative would leave used plates in the middle of the table. Not pretty.
The other problem was the coffee/tea machine. Most mornings the staff had to fiddle with it to coax it back to life. After the second day I called at a shop and bought a jar of coffee of coffee so I could make my own at breakfast.
So I'm sorry but I wouldn't take my family back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottinghamMike14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a week whilst skiing. It does the job but rooms are very dark, beds very hard. The corridors are tiled so noisy when people come & go and it could really do with sensor lights in the corridors as you have to find the light switches in the dark. Rooms could do with some updating. Bottom of bathroom door in mine had rotted but was dry when I was there. And the plug socket in the bathroom for hairdryer was coming out of the wall.
Food was generally very good, buffet breakfast & dinner with lots of choice lots of salad but severely lacking on vegetables. I always seem to come home from half board with a severe veg craving.
All in all cheap & cheerful & if you're skiing all day & out all evening you should pass out fine.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Came here with some friends from 8th - 15th January. It was an ok hotel. Room adequate for what u need. Tv in room really tiny!! Always found room way too hot!! Usually woke in the night with my tongue stuck to roof of mouth it was so hot in that room!! Dry mouth....yuk.
Anyway....now for the food...even if you got down at whatever time they put food out at...it was never above a tepid temperature. Always cold apart from one night....they done a stew/casserole LO AND BEHOLD IT WAS HOT!!!! HALLELUJAH!! the remainders of stew was next night turned into soup. All in all it was OK for what we needed. Just don't expect 5 star! More like 2 star and that's being kind

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank grandkidsarefab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
127 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casado
Hotel Casado
#6 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
64 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#17 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#9 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
129 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
202 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cims
Hotel Cims
#23 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cal Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cal Ruiz

Address: Avinguda Consell General 10-12, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: $63 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cal Ruiz 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cal Ruiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Ruiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing