We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money”
Review of Hotel Cal Ruiz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cal Ruiz
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Reviewed 30 May 2016

food was adequate. breakfast was adequate. hot tub and spa was a delight after a day skiing. rooms clean and tidy. avoid having a room over the bar, very noisy until late at night. pool being played and chairs scraping on tiled floor.
10 minutes to ski lift. wifi was good in our room

Room Tip: try and get a room that is not above the bar
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Butch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cal Ruiz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Basic hotel, very clean, comfortable beds, towels changed daily.
Very pleasant staff, buffet style food, I was really surprised how good the food was- really good choice for all diets- eat as much as you can!
About a 10 minute slow walk to the lifts- uphill!
But not to bad, as long as you dont wear your ski boots.
Overall a good place to stay for not a lot of cash

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Codeyetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Further away than some hotels from the slopes (approx 500m) but this didn't bother us. Good room size, good choice of food, limited time in hot tub and sauna due to size of hotel for the facilities. Due to early flight back on last morning prior to breakfast all guests received a breakfast pack up which was a lovely touch and unexpected.

Room Tip: If travelling as a family request to be further away from the stag parties! Not hotels fault there w...
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bishops167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

This is a nice hotel which is affordable and only a few minutes walk to the slopes.
Location
It's at the bottom of the town which is great when you arrive at and leave the resort as the coach drops you off/picks you up from across the road. The walk to the main lift takes a few minutes and is a sleight up hill all the way but it's really not to bad. The night life is mostly based around the bottom of the main lift so you have the same walk - the bonus is the walk back to the hotel which is down hill all the way!
Hotel
The hotel reception is up some stairs (there is a lift as well) and is in the main seating area/bar area. The bar is ok and does some good deals later on - we liked the 1 litre of beer for €5. Off the main area is the eating area where you have all your meals. It's all buffet service so you can fill your boots if your hungry. Breakfast had pretty much everything you would want, continental and cooked with free coffee/tea or juice. The evening meal was just as good and again buffet service. There was always a cold starter, salad, rice and the main had a choice of 3-4 things along with chips, veg, rice and potatoes. Pudding had about 8 different dishes to choose from and as its buffet . . . . . . that's right fill your boots!
Our room was on the second floor and slept the 3 of us quite comfortably. It had a very small tv (I've seen bigger mobile phones) and 3 single beds which were OK. We had a shower over the bath which was good apart from a couple of times having no hot water. The room was very hot and you couldn't turn the radiator down so we had the window open all week.
All in all the hotel is good and I would stay here again but it could do with a bit of modernising.
Resort
We like Pas and have been a few times so it's good to see most of the bars are still there. Most places have happy hour at the end of the day so beers are around €3/€4. Our favourite place was El Marselles which had a good atmosphere, live sports and comfy seats. Other places to visit are Milwaukee bar, Paddy's Irish bar, Red Lion, Pas 83 to name a few. There is a night club but we never went to it so I can't comment on it. Beers at full price are around €4/€5 but you will pay a little more for things like Guiness.
The ski area is great, really big and varied. Your can clock up some miles if your legs will last. Mostly intermediate and a few advance runs but the beginners areas are really good to start on. There are a couple of snow parks and one had some serious kickers in it if your feeling brave.
I guess the one negative I can come up with is the 3.5 hour transfer.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank shep78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Pas is a small town and everything is probably within a 10 min walk, so whilst this is probably the furthest hotel from the slopes, store you boots at one of the slope-side shops and enjoy the easy walk to and from the slopes.
The hotel is clean, if a little basic, but then I wasn't expecting the Ritz, as the price is very reasonable. I stayed in a twin room, which was a very good size, with good size bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space. TV channels are very limited, and they appeared to have wifi problems whilst I was there.
The food was superb, buffet style so no problems in filling yourself up! Plenty to choose from, breakfast was the usual - cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, continental, hot options, toast, with an orange and coffee machine. Evening meal was available from 7pm, again buffet, various salad options, and various hot meats and veg on offer each night. As for the desserts, wow, too many options (often having 2/3). I also received a drink on asking from the fridge in the restaurant area.
The staff were lovely and very helpful.
Two small problems - 1. the stair lights are on a time, they may go out on you half way up!
2. The lift has set operating times, not good when you have heavy ski luggage and have an early get-up for your transfer home.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pas de la Casa hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Parma
Hotel Parma
#8 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
127 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Casado
Hotel Casado
#6 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
64 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pic Mari
Hotel Pic Mari
#18 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#9 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
128 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Truites
Hotel Les Truites
#1 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
201 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cims
Hotel Cims
#22 of 30 in Pas de la Casa
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cal Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cal Ruiz

Address: Avinguda Consell General 10-12, Pas de la Casa AD200, Andorra
Region: Andorra > Encamp Parish > Pas de la Casa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pas de la Casa
Price Range: $62 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cal Ruiz 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cal Ruiz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Ruiz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing