We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dragon Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Lush Atitlan(San Marcos La Laguna)
USD 140*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 117*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 63*
USD 60*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel el Arca de Noe(Santa Cruz La Laguna)(Great Value!)
USD 74*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 451*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu(Santiago Atitlan)
USD 91*
USD 85*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Schumann(San Marcos La Laguna)
Hotel IslaVerde(Santa Cruz La Laguna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
15
7
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
7
6
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskey lime pielarge portionsjacuzzilakefronthummingbirdsdeck
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The infra-structure is great, although it is still in construction, but it seems to be abandoned. There is no manager. We stayed there for three nights. Our bedroom was not cleaned in all these days and we had had to ask twice until someone cleaned the bathroom.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We wandered into this hotel looking for a quiet and peaceful evening. There were only a couple of guests in the hotel and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The lounging beds and deck looking out onto the lake was an excellent place to spend the evening (and morning). We did not go swimming but the beach area does provide an inviting area to enter the water. It has a bit of a sand walkway but is mostly pebbles entering the water.

The jacuzzi was very clean, the staff just needs at least an hour notice to heat it up. They expect guests to have an hour use, if someone else requests it, although we shared it with other guests.

The staff were all locals and I did not encounter any that spoke english. They were very nice and friendly, but you may have to look for them and don't be in a hurry.

The meals were great and large portions. The dining area next to the hotel has flowers hanging down as the ceiling, we were treated to hummingbirds flittering around while we ate.

The rooms were basic with open concept bathroom. There appeared to be a back balcony but we were not given a key to open the door. The only outlet we could get to work was where the TV was plugged in. The shower in our room made the bathroom floor wet. I wouldn't call the water hot but it was warm enough.

Overall the grounds were very pretty and well cared for, the area was very peaceful and relaxing. The rooms were fine but not impressive.

There is a hostel just next door. It was not excessively noisy or detracting during our stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tathea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I haven't stayed overnight here but I have eaten here and enjoyed the terrace. The food is great and reasonably priced. It is very quiet during the day but there is a hostel next door that can get loud at night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mplsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

My husband and I stayed an evening at El Dragon in San Marcos. We arrived at lunch time, registered with Ruiz and received a lake view room. Then we ordered the "fall-off-the-bone" pork ribs which were delicious, served with a salad and grilled potatoes. Portions were big. Later in the afternoon we shared a piece of Key Lime Pie which was to die for.

Nice gardens!

We asked that the hot tub be prepared for 5pm and it was ready and hot! Took a hot tub, had a happy hour then shared a goat cheese/bacon pizza for dinner which was perfect. Crust was crispy, and the pizza was packed with goat cheese, caramelized onions, red bell peppers and crisp bacon. Really good.

We left after having Eggs Benedict the next morning and hopped a public lancha back to Panajachel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Room #1 is great!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RetireEarlyLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

In our recent visit (Jan., 2017) to San Marcus La Leguna, we spent a lot of our time hanging out at this beautiful hotel wishing we were staying there. It is in an excellent lakefront setting with a nice little private beach. The hotel provides 4 very comfortable beds (covered foam mattressses and large pillows) for sun bathing as well as a couple of adirondack deck chairs. It has a waterfront bar and lounge with a big screen TV. The well landscaped grounds are immaculate, and everything is new and very clean. The staff are friendly, but not intrusive, and the restaurant food is exceptional and reasonably priced. In our next visit there, we will definitely stay at El Dragon!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank WarrenKirchhofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews