We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful and peaceful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jinava Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blissful and peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

This place really is something special. Every room with large windows looks out onto the stunning lake Atitlan, it really was a delight to wake up and have that view right in front. The gardens and surroundings are beautiful and the rooms are spacious and clean. We took the hotel's little boat out on the lake one morning which was great fun and San Marcos is probably the prettiest of the towns around the lake. All in all, for the price you pay, i don't think you can beat this place and would whole-heartedly recommend it to travellers of any kind from anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pikachu02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    33
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
13
36
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Me and a friend stayed at jinava for several nights and got most of our food and drinks from them as well. Our first night my friend was stung by a scorpion in the face, in her bed in the middle of the night. We counted more that 8 large spiders in our room.We asked if we could check out an hour late while we waited for our bus and we were rudely told that check out was at 1230 and if we wanted to stay we would have to pay for another night!! There are many amazing places to stay in San marcos. I would recommend Acuulaax. I will not stay here again thats for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiidaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

The hotel is located on a steep hill. Walking up and down the zig-zag path from the reception/restaurant, at the lake level, to the entrance/exit, at the top of the hill, is a serious work-out. For those unable or unwilling to hike up and down a steep slope, this hotel is not for you.

The various rooms/cabins are scattered through the hillside. They vary in size, amenities. The view, the lush greenery and exotic flowers are simply breathtaking. We had a terrace overlooking the lake, where we spent a significant amount of time just enjoying the setting. It made all the cons totally worth it.

As it has already been noted here, there is no beach or private dock, contrary to their website. After a hurricane, the water level of the lake rose 3 meters leaving them underwater.

The food is mediocre and overpriced, but there are plenty of nearby options in town.

While the rooms are clean and tidy, and the service generally good, by far the biggest downfall is the absence of hot water. While the water isn't ice cold, at no point is it warm.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Hotel Jinava is AMAZING.

First of all, it has a breathtaking view of one of the most beautiful lakes in the world. The staff is very very good, extremely kind, and provides great service (great food and drinks too).
The gardens are beautiful with a huge variety of plants (especially palms), it even has it's own little waterfall. The restaurant doesn't have a lot of options but that doesn't matter because everything you can get is delicious, they make some delicious tropical drinks. We met the owners when we were there and they were extremely laid back, and really nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliot2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We spent three nights at Jinava Bay. The location is truly spectacular, and the staff is very friendly, but there are things you should know. Most important, the "private dock" mentioned on the website and in travel books is, as of December 2010, underwater and unusable. Apparently the lake is currently higher than normal. We had a hell of a time getting to the hotel. Unaware that the dock was inaccessible, we insisted that the boat captain take us farther than the town dock, which was a big mistake. He dropped us off somewhere along a footpath, saying that this was the closest we could get. We then had to carry our suitcases over a narrow and hilly path and very nearly tumbled into the lake (suitcases and all) more than once. Had we known that the dock was unusable, we would have just gotten off in town and had a steep, but not very long, walk to the hotel (or we could have taken a tuk-tuk). I have emailed the hotel to suggest that they update their website!

Second, the hotel is built into the hillside, so the office and restaurant are way down at water level, some rooms are about halfway up, and one other is way up near the road. Anyone who has trouble going up and down steep hills should think twice about staying here.

Third, the rooms vary quite a bit. We had asked for one room with two beds, and another room with one bed. Since they were not particularly close together, we decided to split up and have an adult in each room. My husband and son took the room with two beds, which was halfway up the hill. It was really beautiful, with nice tiled floors and a breathtaking view. My daughter and I took the room with one bed, which was fine, but not nearly as nice. The view was still great, but the room was small and didn't have the nice tiled floor. Also, the bathroom, though private, was not in the room. It was right next door, but having to leave the room and unlock the bathroom each time with a key was a bit of a pain. After we started thinking of it as glorified camping, we liked it better. (The price for that room was very low!)

Last, there is very little hot water. Between the four of us, I think 6 showers were taken while we were there. One had reasonably warm water, one had lukewarm water for about 30 seconds, and the rest were cold.

All that being said, this is a truly beautiful spot and we're glad we stayed there. The hotels in the main part of town could not possibly have such great views. It's a strange little town, with a combination of poor Guatemalans and new-age stuff. There are also 5 churches in town that sing through megaphones when the sun goes down and set off fireworks at all hours to announce special events. On the other hand there are a few restaurants owned by foreigners where they play American jazz and pop and have things like pub quizzes!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos La Laguna
5.1 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
7.2 km away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#6 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
11.1 km away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
10.8 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinava Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinava Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Jinava Hotel & Restaurant
Address: San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > San Marcos La Laguna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Marcos La Laguna
Price range (per night): $63 - $66
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinava Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jinava Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinava Hotel & Restaurant San Marcos La Laguna, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing