We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
257
12
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
12
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alta gracia apple tv horseback riding golf cart world class costa rica indoor pool an amazing experience juan pablo rolling hills great spa ultra light ultralight flight high end waterfall hike attention to detail landing strip
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2016

We went with another couple. None of us was especially keen on 'doing' a lot. Relaxation was our #1 objective. And that is what they do in spades. The restaurant (there's only one) is good but not great. The chef shined when we accompanied him to the local market and returned to cook something special for us. The staff could not be nicer or more attentive, and everyone spoke English beautifully. The casitas are amazing. Huge and beautifully appointed. A totally remarkable place to stay. My wife and I both ride and the stables here are awesome. You could eat off the floor and the tack was beautifully cared for. Great horses too, and the guides were the best. Nothing, including a torrential rain storm could keep the staff from helping and caring for us. The gym and the spa are world class. They served terrific wines . That's rare in this part of the world. A bit pricey, but there were some Spanish Dueros that were affordable and great. The property is on the side of a mountain overlooking a valley. Amazing sunsets. And they offered an opportunity to fly in an ultra-light plane (with a pilot of course) that was as close to being a bird as I can imagine. The property is beautifully kept. The only downside is the need to call and have them pick you up in a golf cart all the time. Too dangerous to let the guests drive them themselves, I guess.

Room Tip: they're all magnificent
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank JShereshewsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanPaoloAlfonso, General Manager at Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Dear JShereshewsky,

We're glad that you were able to get the relaxation you were looking for during your stay with us. The Hacienda is indeed very good for relaxing as well. The well big, well appointed rooms make you feel so comfortable that it's can be difficult to leave. Even though it was relaxation you were after, it's great to see that you also enjoyed some of our activities such as the horseback riding and the ultralight flights. I like your description of the ultralight flight; "as close to being a bird as you can imagine". I hope you wouldn't mind if I used that next time someone asks me how it's like. I'm also glad that you were able to spend time with Chef in the farmer's market, and that you enjoyed the meal he prepared that evening. Chef's constantly improving the menus, and your comments are a definite help. Lastly, thank you for recognizing the team's efforts and willingness to care for you during your stay. They make it all happen.

It was a pleasure having you all with us. Please don't hesitate to contact us when you need more R&R. We're happy to welcome you back to AltaGracia!

Best regards,
JP Alfonso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

This opened in January, 2015 and is beautiful from the great landscaping to the Casitas. The staff is very attentive. General Manager introduced himself. Restaurants and room service were both efficient and both restaurants had great food (Ambar had wonderful nighttime city views). Housekeeping very efficient. I would recommend renting a car since off site activities thru hotel are very expensive. Onsite you can do horseback riding, and take an ultra light flight. The staff was first rate and very customer oriented. The views from any part of the property were outstanding of the surrounding Mountains (The Chiripos). Our Casita was 1125 Sq.ft with an IPad , Apple TV,motorized blinds, espresso machine and the bathroom was spacious with double sinks.

Room Tip: In winter, get Master Casita with fireplace if you tend to be cold.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BABH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanPaoloAlfonso, General Manager at Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2016

Dear BABH,

Thank you for your review. It's great to see that you appreciated what we have to offer here at AltaGracia. The location, the facilities, and cuisine all contribute to a wonderful stay. Thank you as well for recognizing the team's attentive service. They try their very best every time to provide the highest level of service to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Hacienda in the near future.

Best regards,
JP Alfonso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

One of the best travel experiences we have ever had!!! Book it, you won't regret it!!! The place is truly Paradise!!! Architecture, Landscaping, Decore, and Views are simply spectacular!!! Staff is extremely attentive and friendly!!! We will definitely be back!!! Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hector M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanPaoloAlfonso, General Manager at Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Dear Hector M,

Thank you very much for your recommendation and vote of confidence. We're glad to hear that your stay was one of the best travel experiences you've ever had. AltaGracia is truly a paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back sooner than later. Pura vida!

Best regards,
JP Alfonso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

There isn't much I can't say about this spectacular resort.

The people are more than accommodating, the grounds are impeccable, the casitas are spectacular, the food is tasty, the scenery is a pinnacle.

If you don't mind having to make a slightly out of way trip this place is more than worth it!!!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tagarwaldds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanPaoloAlfonso, General Manager at Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Dear Tagarwaldds,

Thank you so much for the great review, and for choosing to visit us for your anniversary. We're happy to see that you found your stay to be spectacular. It was certainly a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with your family this coming October!

Best regards,
JP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

I can not say enough good things about this place. It has it all. Fantastic rooms, impeccable facilities and great atmosphere. The staff is professional, courteous and very friendly. They seem to be willing do almost anything to make your stay pleasant. The rooms are large, comfortable and very inviting. It was hard to leave the room and the resort. So much so that we cancelled offsite activities to take advantage of the resort.

I can spend many hours saying how great it is but just go and experience it yourself. I also noticed the exactness of the construction. i have never seen this anywhere else in the world. Very impressive!

The only slight improvement that is needed is at the restaurant for dinner. Menu needs expanding, portions need to increase and salt needs reducing. Breakfast and lunch were great.

I wish we would have stayed longer. I have to congratulate the staff for the fantastic job. I want to go back as soon as possible.

Room Tip: too difficult as they all seem to be good
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cam_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanPaoloAlfonso, General Manager at Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear cam_flyer,

We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Hacienda is indeed a gem that has to be experienced. It's great for going out and doing activities, but as you mentioned, very good for staying in as well. Thank you for your feedback regarding dinner. We'll definitely take your comments into consideration and improve our menu. Also, our heartfelt thanks for recognizing the team as they are the one who make it all happen. We look forward to seeing you back at AltaGracia sooner than later!

Best regards,
JP Alfonso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews