We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Casa De Los Celtas

Casa De Los Celtas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Isidro del General
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa De Los Celtas
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Lovely place with a big garden with lots of birds, like toucan.Sheelagh, the owner, takes so much care of you, before and during the stay. She knows the region and the highlights and give good recommendations.
Very good breakfast with fruits, eggs and marmalade ( ! ).
very big room with kitchen, we liked to make our own dinner
We would like to come again.

Room Tip: Bungalow with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traeumerin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

John and Shelia are the most perfect hosts. They are interesting people who enjoy both serving and interacting with their guest. The location of their home is both tranquil and convenient to local attractions. The 2 hectares around their home is alive with Shelia's plantings and John's nurturing of the birds and other wildlife in this area of CR. Sunsets from the deck with a special cocktail should not be missed. I must say that this couple was our friends when we lived in CR. This is were I would say on any return there.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank 1ticoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We wanted to visit the San Isidro area and looked for a place to stay. Based on the reviews of Casa Del Los Celtas, we made a reservation and were very glad that we did! As others have said, Sheelagh and John are perfect hosts in every way. They not only made our stay very comfortable, but were knowledgable about the area and gave us some good recommendations of restaurants and other places to go. But the meal that we enjoyed the most was one that Sheelagh made for us. We definitely recommend Casa De Los Celtas for a wonderful stay in the San Isidro area!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SheHaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Sheelagh and John were perfect hosts during our stay in April 2015. The lodge was fully equipped with all self catering facilities, very homely and spacious. Our hosts couldn't have made us more welcome and provided first class breakfasts and evening meals even though we are vegetarian. This was our second stay and we will be returning again for sure. Being British our hosts really helped make us feel at home. Sheelagh goes out of her way to make you feel that you have the run of the amazing 7 acre gardens leading on to rainforests. The gardens are full of tropical multi coloured flowers and foliage which attract a multitude of exotic colourful birds and animals. It's so attractive we felt torn between enjoying the gardens and exploring the surrounding environment. I can't thank Sheelagh enough for advising us of where to go and how to get there. She even arranged all our transport from San Jose including buying the bus tickets down to her place. I would recommend the incredibly cheap public coach trip for about $8 each from SH through the beautiful and ever changing mountain range. Although it sounds daunting Sheelagh was only too pleased to arrange for a driver to meet us from our hotel in SJ and take us to the bus station where the best seats had been reserved for us with no hassle.
We went on to Manuel Antonio and the Osa to complete our stay. Sheelagh's attentiveness and standard of accommodation was better then any where else we stayed and a lot cheaper!
Sheelagh and john were very generous with their time and never made us feel as though we were a nuisance with our barrage of questions about the best places to live and visit.
Thank you Sheelagh & John. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Love from
Ash & Andrew x x

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We feel as if we had come home, staying with Sheelagh and John. Such warmth and friendliness. The grounds and home are lovely, immaculate, lush gardens and views. Sheelagh has all the qualities of a British hostess...welcoming, warm, lots of care, pillow slips ironed (!)...the breakfasts are fresh and delicious...John makes all the breads! Sheelagh is an excellent, gourmet cook. Biscuits and tea in the room. Everything kept in clean and working order. Shillelagh is a dynamo: she is on top of all the details for traveling in this part of CR...the hikes, trails, how to manage Chirripó. She is a one-woman army promoting rural tourism in CR...the government should be so lucky to have Sheelagh in charge of Tourism!! We were there 4 days in the cabin...so very much at home.

Room Tip: The cabin is roomy, fully equipped with kitchen, sitting room. The Almendra room is more quiet as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissOleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro del General
0 km away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
182 reviews
0 km away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#6 of 6 in San Isidro del General
62 reviews
0 km away
Best Western Hotel Zima
Best Western Hotel Zima
#3 of 6 in San Isidro del General
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
798 reviews
0 km away
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alto de San Juan
111 reviews
0 km away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Los Celtas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Los Celtas

Address: San Isidro del General, San Isidro del General District, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Perez Zeledon > San Isidro del General District > San Isidro del General
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Isidro del General
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Celtas Costa Rica/San Isidro Del General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing