We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
20
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostsnational parkcosta ricajohnalexanderloscomfortdetailschirriposoundbirdsvalley
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

John and Shelia are the most perfect hosts. They are interesting people who enjoy both serving and interacting with their guest. The location of their home is both tranquil and convenient to local attractions. The 2 hectares around their home is alive with Shelia's plantings and John's nurturing of the birds and other wildlife in this area of CR. Sunsets from the deck with a special cocktail should not be missed. I must say that this couple was our friends when we lived in CR. This is were I would say on any return there.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank 1ticoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We wanted to visit the San Isidro area and looked for a place to stay. Based on the reviews of Casa Del Los Celtas, we made a reservation and were very glad that we did! As others have said, Sheelagh and John are perfect hosts in every way. They not only made our stay very comfortable, but were knowledgable about the area and gave us some good recommendations of restaurants and other places to go. But the meal that we enjoyed the most was one that Sheelagh made for us. We definitely recommend Casa De Los Celtas for a wonderful stay in the San Isidro area!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SheHaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Sheelagh and John were perfect hosts during our stay in April 2015. The lodge was fully equipped with all self catering facilities, very homely and spacious. Our hosts couldn't have made us more welcome and provided first class breakfasts and evening meals even though we are vegetarian. This was our second stay and we will be returning again for sure. Being British our hosts really helped make us feel at home. Sheelagh goes out of her way to make you feel that you have the run of the amazing 7 acre gardens leading on to rainforests. The gardens are full of tropical multi coloured flowers and foliage which attract a multitude of exotic colourful birds and animals. It's so attractive we felt torn between enjoying the gardens and exploring the surrounding environment. I can't thank Sheelagh enough for advising us of where to go and how to get there. She even arranged all our transport from San Jose including buying the bus tickets down to her place. I would recommend the incredibly cheap public coach trip for about $8 each from SH through the beautiful and ever changing mountain range. Although it sounds daunting Sheelagh was only too pleased to arrange for a driver to meet us from our hotel in SJ and take us to the bus station where the best seats had been reserved for us with no hassle.
We went on to Manuel Antonio and the Osa to complete our stay. Sheelagh's attentiveness and standard of accommodation was better then any where else we stayed and a lot cheaper!
Sheelagh and john were very generous with their time and never made us feel as though we were a nuisance with our barrage of questions about the best places to live and visit.
Thank you Sheelagh & John. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Love from
Ash & Andrew x x

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We feel as if we had come home, staying with Sheelagh and John. Such warmth and friendliness. The grounds and home are lovely, immaculate, lush gardens and views. Sheelagh has all the qualities of a British hostess...welcoming, warm, lots of care, pillow slips ironed (!)...the breakfasts are fresh and delicious...John makes all the breads! Sheelagh is an excellent, gourmet cook. Biscuits and tea in the room. Everything kept in clean and working order. Shillelagh is a dynamo: she is on top of all the details for traveling in this part of CR...the hikes, trails, how to manage Chirripó. She is a one-woman army promoting rural tourism in CR...the government should be so lucky to have Sheelagh in charge of Tourism!! We were there 4 days in the cabin...so very much at home.

Room Tip: The cabin is roomy, fully equipped with kitchen, sitting room. The Almendra room is more quiet as it is away from the road and traffic. Just personal preference.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissOleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Sheelagh and John's place for two nights. There cannot be better hosts! The property is beautiful and the views amazing. Don't miss the cooked breakfast and dinners. Sheelagh and John are very knowledgeable about the surroundings and Costa Rica in general; it's a pleasure to discuss Costa Rica and the rest of the world with them. Unfortunately my partner was ill during our stay, so we could not be very active; nevertheless the place was ideal to recover and relax.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank StephanieSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews