We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
20
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts national park costa rica john alexander los comfort details chirripo birds sound valley
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Sheelagh and John's place for two nights. There cannot be better hosts! The property is beautiful and the views amazing. Don't miss the cooked breakfast and dinners. Sheelagh and John are very knowledgeable about the surroundings and Costa Rica in general; it's a pleasure to discuss Costa Rica and the rest of the world with them. Unfortunately my partner was ill during our stay, so we could not be very active; nevertheless the place was ideal to recover and relax.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank StephanieSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Short review:
Amazing! Great hosts.

Full review:
This was planned as the first part of a three week Costa Rica Honeymoon (which turned into 4 weeks - another story). We really wanted to climb Chirripo in the first week, so contacted lots of places in the area. When we got the reply from Sheelagh at Casa dos Celtas we knew it was the place for us. Her knowledge and enthusiasm filled us with excitement and the confidence to book the flights and start planning our mountain hike. Sheelagh was more than helpful in assisting us with arrangements (securing park passes, airport accommodation, travel arrangements etc). Everything was in place for the adventure. Then I injured myself (ligament damage in foot) a week before the flight. Although I was originally totally gutted to be missing out, we decided to make the most of the situation. Which was easy. From the time we arrived at Casa Celtas, we were made to feel special. A delicious home cooked meal and friendly smile and chat with a bottle of vino - how could we not start to relax and enjoy ourselves.

For the following week, both Sheelagh and John exceeded any expectations we had. They constantly went above and beyond for us. As I hobbled around on crutches, they gave us lifts where we wanted to go. Sheelagh even took us on a little tour of the area. The cabina we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the morning was something to look forward to. Amazing views over the Valley, and watching the vultures and humming birds. The evening meals that Sheelagh prepared for us were even more delicious. I can honestly say I can't imagine a better place to rest and recover.

When time came to leave we both felt sad to leave our new found friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich_and_Anna_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed twice in "Aracari" cottage where by now we feel like we are coming home to our own little cabin in this idyllic spot at the foot of mount Chirripo. The accommodation is large, clean, and well equipped, so that if we wished to cater for ourselves everything is provided, but if you are privileged to spend even one night with the host John and Sheelagh, do not miss her delicious meals ( I am a professional chef, and I guarantee that you will not find better food in San Isidro's restaurants). Equally amazing, are the grounds that John tends to everyday with love, and Sheelagh herself is seen in the garden caring for her countless orchids, from the smallest, to the largest, all native to Costa Rica. Due to the pristine location of the B&B, 100's of different birds can be viewed and your hosts even provide an up-to-date list and description of the ones seen on the property. Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and friendly place, but this place should not be missed, for the friendliness, helpfulness and dedication of their owners. We feel as if we were staying with family and are looking forward to our next visit to "Casa de los Celtas".

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joevilla56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a fantastic property. We stayed in the Aracari Cottage and it was like having our own ranch to stay in! A lovely self contained cottage with a large kitchen, dining area and lounge. We also had a great balcony with a garden view to sit in the afternoon, watch the wildlife and drink our gin and tonics! The breakfast was to die for and Sheelagh and John are a mine of information about Costa Rica and all its wonderful wildlife. Great place to stay.
Murdoch Ferguson

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

From the moment we spoke with Sheelagh on the phone to book our reservation, we knew this is where we wanted to stay. The accomodations in the Almendra room were first class and the service and hospitality she and John provided were well beyond our expectations. We hope to see our new friends in future visits!

As a wildlife photographer, the whole area is a ornitological paradise! Dozens of varieties of birds flew all around us at the house. We found this place as I was looking for lodging locations near the Alexander Skutch's Cusingo's bird reserve. John placed various fruits in the garden area for many of these birds to feast on. The opportunties for great shots were too many to number. I highly recommend this place for its magnificent views and incredible hospitality and confort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andres-Leon-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews