We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like being at home and being cared for very well!”
Review of Casa De Los Celtas

Casa De Los Celtas
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Isidro del General
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa De Los Celtas
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We feel as if we had come home, staying with Sheelagh and John. Such warmth and friendliness. The grounds and home are lovely, immaculate, lush gardens and views. Sheelagh has all the qualities of a British hostess...welcoming, warm, lots of care, pillow slips ironed (!)...the breakfasts are fresh and delicious...John makes all the breads! Sheelagh is an excellent, gourmet cook. Biscuits and tea in the room. Everything kept in clean and working order. Shillelagh is a dynamo: she is on top of all the details for traveling in this part of CR...the hikes, trails, how to manage Chirripó. She is a one-woman army promoting rural tourism in CR...the government should be so lucky to have Sheelagh in charge of Tourism!! We were there 4 days in the cabin...so very much at home.

Room Tip: The cabin is roomy, fully equipped with kitchen, sitting room. The Almendra room is more quiet as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissOleMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Sheelagh and John's place for two nights. There cannot be better hosts! The property is beautiful and the views amazing. Don't miss the cooked breakfast and dinners. Sheelagh and John are very knowledgeable about the surroundings and Costa Rica in general; it's a pleasure to discuss Costa Rica and the rest of the world with them. Unfortunately my partner was ill during our stay, so we could not be very active; nevertheless the place was ideal to recover and relax.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank StephanieSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Short review:
Amazing! Great hosts.

Full review:
This was planned as the first part of a three week Costa Rica Honeymoon (which turned into 4 weeks - another story). We really wanted to climb Chirripo in the first week, so contacted lots of places in the area. When we got the reply from Sheelagh at Casa dos Celtas we knew it was the place for us. Her knowledge and enthusiasm filled us with excitement and the confidence to book the flights and start planning our mountain hike. Sheelagh was more than helpful in assisting us with arrangements (securing park passes, airport accommodation, travel arrangements etc). Everything was in place for the adventure. Then I injured myself (ligament damage in foot) a week before the flight. Although I was originally totally gutted to be missing out, we decided to make the most of the situation. Which was easy. From the time we arrived at Casa Celtas, we were made to feel special. A delicious home cooked meal and friendly smile and chat with a bottle of vino - how could we not start to relax and enjoy ourselves.

For the following week, both Sheelagh and John exceeded any expectations we had. They constantly went above and beyond for us. As I hobbled around on crutches, they gave us lifts where we wanted to go. Sheelagh even took us on a little tour of the area. The cabina we stayed in was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the morning was something to look forward to. Amazing views over the Valley, and watching the vultures and humming birds. The evening meals that Sheelagh prepared for us were even more delicious. I can honestly say I can't imagine a better place to rest and recover.

When time came to leave we both felt sad to leave our new found friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich_and_Anna_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed twice in "Aracari" cottage where by now we feel like we are coming home to our own little cabin in this idyllic spot at the foot of mount Chirripo. The accommodation is large, clean, and well equipped, so that if we wished to cater for ourselves everything is provided, but if you are privileged to spend even one night with the host John and Sheelagh, do not miss her delicious meals ( I am a professional chef, and I guarantee that you will not find better food in San Isidro's restaurants). Equally amazing, are the grounds that John tends to everyday with love, and Sheelagh herself is seen in the garden caring for her countless orchids, from the smallest, to the largest, all native to Costa Rica. Due to the pristine location of the B&B, 100's of different birds can be viewed and your hosts even provide an up-to-date list and description of the ones seen on the property. Costa Rica is an amazingly beautiful and friendly place, but this place should not be missed, for the friendliness, helpfulness and dedication of their owners. We feel as if we were staying with family and are looking forward to our next visit to "Casa de los Celtas".

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joevilla56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a fantastic property. We stayed in the Aracari Cottage and it was like having our own ranch to stay in! A lovely self contained cottage with a large kitchen, dining area and lounge. We also had a great balcony with a garden view to sit in the afternoon, watch the wildlife and drink our gin and tonics! The breakfast was to die for and Sheelagh and John are a mine of information about Costa Rica and all its wonderful wildlife. Great place to stay.
Murdoch Ferguson

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murd007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Isidro del General
0 km away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
198 reviews
0 km away
Best Western Hotel Zima
Best Western Hotel Zima
#3 of 6 in San Isidro del General
64 reviews
0 km away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#6 of 6 in San Isidro del General
64 reviews
0 km away
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge
Rio Magnolia Nature Lodge
#1 of 1 in Alto de San Juan
116 reviews
0 km away
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge
#3 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Los Celtas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Los Celtas

Address: San Isidro del General, San Isidro del General District, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Perez Zeledon > San Isidro del General District > San Isidro del General
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Isidro del General
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Celtas Costa Rica/San Isidro Del General

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing