We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tim B
Tucson, United States

A tradition when visiting Kathmandu

Review of Hotel Himalaya
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Sept 2019
Staying at the Hotel Himalaya has been a tradition when visiting Kathmandu over the years. I've lost count of the number of times we have spend a few nights there visiting Nepal. It's a very relaxing atmosphere to help with transitions through the city. Away from the tourist areas and the noise iit has quiet grounds, good food and great views of the mountains. Good for a base of touring the city. Walking distance to a small shopping mall. Good food variety in the area.
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: We found rooms on 2nd floor more up-to-date than rooms on third floor this trip.
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PralhadKunwarCOO, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review
Responded 18 Sept 2019
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel Himalaya on regular basis. It is indeed heartening to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature from you. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team efforts. Your comments will be definitely shared among our entire team members, which will encourage them to further strive towards achieving excellence. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you at our hotel again & again. I will be honored to meet you in your next visit ,
With warm regards !
Pralhad R. Kunwar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$67
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$39
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$111
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$60
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$40
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$111
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$63
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$85
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Hotel Himalaya
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Patan (Lalitpur)
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
125
223
103
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
125
223
103
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel buffet breakfast health club i highly recommend this hotel busy city cleaning staff spacious rooms an oasis patan area wifi kathmandu tennis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2019 via mobile

It was a wonderful time staying here. It’s location is perfect near by from airport and the market. Staff was very courteous and service was excellent. Rooms were very nice and spacious with good view specially from 3 rd floor.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KomalP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PralhadKunwarCOO, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your genuine reviews. We deeply value your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future too, so that we can continue providing usual fine services to you. As customary, we sincerely care for our guests as they are our valuable assets. Your feedback is indeed our motivation, since quality & service are our motto. Once again, thank you for staying with us.
Pralhad R.Kunwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2019

This is one of hotels I would choose for my team members looking for a good stay. Unfortunately, a first class hotel built by Japanese just sliding downward. This time we stayed 6 days 5 nights! The team at checking in was quite competent and helpful, a thumb up. Lobby looks the same, insufficient light though still comfortable. Going to the room I noticed that ground floor was closed for renovation, a good sign. Going to my room I was disappointed - lights were taken away and the room was darker - and both my bedside lights were not working! Toilet was still clean but I had to "adjust" the toilet flash to make it work. Overall I was not pleased. Garden looks great still and vegetation is well maintained - why can't they maintain the rooms well?
Coffee house look the same as the last time I stayed in the hotel. Staff was the same with some incompetent staff still around. A few warm and hospitable staff made the visit joyous. But one lady captain (?) could not understand my order in English and a chief had to attend to my order... sigh!
The plus point is sleep still good.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lyefei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PralhadKunwarCOO, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We have duly noted your appreciation & candid remarks at the same time. I am a little concerned to read that your culinary service expectations and the maintenance in the room were not met. In the meanwhile, we have looked into the matter & taken corrective actions wherever applicable. It is our endeavor to deliver the best as always to our guests. We look forward to another opportunity to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you for your continued support to Hotel Himalaya.
With warm regards !

Pralhad R. Kunwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

I attended a conference here and it was ok but nothing special. Breakfast ok but again just average. My experience was that staff in general were polite but not very helpful. The hotel was quite expensive compared to many other hotels in Kathmandu but not among the most expensive. I stll did not feel that this was value for money.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safari1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PralhadKunwarCOO, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we always strive to improve wherever possible and applicable. Please be assured that we will take your comments as encouragement for further improvements within the organization. Hoping to welcome you soon in the near future.
With warm regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2019

We had a conference there. The rooms are pricey, the service was very good, the food was good, but due to the price, don't think we'll go back. The conference facilities are adequate, but the coffee/tea breaks were nothing special.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roving801395
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PralhadKunwarCOO, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2019

Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing to stay at hotel Himalaya. We sincerely appreciate your constructive feedback. We have duly noted your appreciation & candid remarks at the same time. In the meanwhile, we have looked into your remarks & taken corrective actions wherever applicable. I must assure you that it is our endeavor to deliver the best as always. We look forward to another opportunity to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
With warm regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2019

Attended a conference and stayed here for four nights after a few nights in a three-star hotel in Thamel. I'd rather have remained at the three-star.

The hotel is showing its age. Maintenance isn't great (shower kind of works, A/C works but thermostat does, etc.). And the service isn't wonderful, either. The Concierge seemed flummoxed by my question of how much a taxi to Thamel would cost. The bellman was challenged at actually getting a taxi for me. The dining room staff mostly stand around and look at you (sometimes) but rarely think that you might want a refill on your water or a second cup of coffee.

Given the price, I definitely don't think I got the value. This place is fine, but you can do better.

Room tip: All rooms seem quite with no road noise.
Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AFB30328
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PralhadKunwarCOO, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We have duly noted your appreciation & candid remarks at the same time. I am a little concerned to read about the behaviors of the concierge, bellboys & the waiters. In the meanwhile, we have looked into the matter & taken corrective actions wherever applicable. It is our endeavor to deliver the best as always. We look forward to another opportunity to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Warm regards !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews