We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FAB STAY IN A BEAUTIFUL GITE”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Maison de Chene

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dompierre-les-Eglises, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Louise H
1 review
“FAB STAY IN A BEAUTIFUL GITE”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We had a fantastic long w/e staying in Maison de Chene. What a treat. Bags of space in this very grand oak wood and traditional stone gite which has been completed to a very high standard - stunning beams and staircase, a cosy log burner for the cooler evenings, lovely comfortably furniture with plenty of space for cooking in the modern kitchen and for dining with family and friends including outside on the private patio. We particularly enjoyed soaking in the luxury bathroom with a chilled glass of Prosecco to hand! The gite is well equipped with everything you need (especially good for us as we enjoy cooking up the local French ingredients).There are plenty of shops just a short drive away for all your groceries and many small bars, cafes etc. in nearby Bellac.

The hosts Tracey and Dave provided a very warm welcome and were there on site if you needed anything. In fact we spent a lovely early evening having drinks with them on the terrace and a relaxed day out with Dave who took us fishing at the nearby lake which was awesome. Caught a huge 54lb carp!

We quite fancy a return in winter perhaps with a larger group - Christmas or New Year spent at this gite would make for a great party space!

Thanks Tracey and Dave, we'll be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayne w
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow - what a fabulous place with perfect hosts”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Spent a lovely long weekend Maison de Chen March 17
The Gite is amazing with everything and more than you would expect to find.
Lovely, spotlessly clean , spacious living space and with really comfy beds
The owners, Tracey and Dave , were very friendly and helpful. They advised on places of interest in the area and location of shops , bars etc. They were also on hand if needed and nothing was too much trouble
They provided a much appreciated welcome pack which will tied you over till you can get to the shops.
They were working on the grounds surrounding the gite when I was there (they did advise me of this before I went) and from what they told me it sounded great,
- I will soon see as I am going again later this month
Highly recommended

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
Thanks Jayne. Another satisfied returning customer. Love your company and so glad you love our gite. It makes all the cleaning and attention to detail worth it. See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_adams_mi...
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gite”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Only 45 minutes from the airport . On arrival we were greeted by Tracy the owner who left us a lovely welcome pack of all your first essentials i.e. Milk eggs tea etc
The gite is beautifully done,very clean and has everything you could need for a comfortable stay.
Would recommend to stay here, very peaceful friendly and welcoming hamlet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
It was lovely to meet you and your family Nicola. Perfect guests. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsto1
Limoges, France
1 review
“Gite”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent gite,plenty of space,everything here that you need to cater for your needs.beautiful hamlet.not to much time travelling to nearby lakes/swimming/and adventurous activities for the kids to enjoy.The owners tracey and dave very welcoming and will help with anything you need.will recommend 100%.And will definetely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
It was a pleasure to have Sue and her family stay with us. We would welcome them back anytime. So glad they enjoyed their stay and loved the gite
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
It was an absolute delight to have these two families stay with us. The children made dens and played safely in the courtyard. The guests had a full agenda of activities planned over the 2 weeks but we still had time to meet up for the occasional apéro and share some treats from the farmers market. We would highly recommend them as guests. Delightful company and such beautiful well behaved children who loved the dog and cats on site.
We would love to see them return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing