We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Typical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not Typical”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the Canyon Motel 3 nights in February of 2010 and thoroughly enjoyed it. we stayed in a little rock cabin that seemed small, but very comfortable.. The Caboose was being renovated as was the office at the time. There were very few people in Williams as it was cold and snowing so we could have stayed almost anywhere we chose, but as we were entering Williams we met the friendly police officer who recommended the Canyon Motel to us,. turned out he was right it was a great 3 days, we enjoyed every minute of it. and it was nice seeing the GC in the snow it was breathtaking. The motel is a Mom & Pop operation (my favorite kind)

We're planning another trip out west this summer I hope the Canyon Motel can be part of that trip as well.

Room Tip: Any room cabin or train car will be nice I'm hoping to stay in the caboose next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onesawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    208
    85
    40
    37
See reviews for
242
208
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I love this place. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, and the place is unique and different. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poisanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We loved that place. First the welcome of the check lady was priceless. She was just a gem! We love the bohemian style of the all place. Rooms are not very big but very cosy, warm and just what you need for a stop before the Grand Canyon. Defensively a place to stay in Williams!!!

Room Tip: We just saw it on the following day but apparently you can sleep in an old wagon instead of a normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexpaiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

From the moment we spoke to the adorable reception clerk we knew this was the place for the night. It's a little bohemian, a little remote, a little dark on arrival but topped with lashings of Route 66 character.
The accommodation has a massive spectrum, from RV pitches, to tents, to chalet-style rooms or - wait for it... authentic vintage railroad carriages. We only saw these the following morning in the light. There's a heated swimming pool as well.
Kobe, the owners dog, is adorable and sits in the reception area which also doubles as the convenience store and gift shop... and this is my only criticism!
I'm a dog-lover and travel around Europe extensively with my black lab. We stay in anything from motels to 5-star hotels with him and he is made very welcome. I understand entirely if a hotel decides not to accept animals but please don't have your own dog sitting in your reception/shop and then stick a notice in every room threatening a $150 fine if an animal if 'caught' in the room with you. The owners claim the reason for this prohibition are allergies. Nonsense!
Anyway, this apart it's a gem of a place and I'd love to stay there again, as long as my dog was welcome.

Room Tip: Ask if a railroad carriage is available. I'm sure it'd be a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikPettett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages. Nice but cold, heater works well but the blanket should be changed for winter months, The one in the room perfect for summer. Flagstone walls and thin carpet,in Winter you need to keep shoes on because the floor was ice cold. Bed wasn't too comfortable we could feel the springs. Bed and Carpet(needs padding) need to be updated. This would be a great place in the summer to stay!
Staff is very friendly. Rooms cleaned daily. Despite the needed updates we would stay there again.
We have stayed in many of the hotels in Williams and this was more private and was in better shape then some of the ones in Town. They also have Rail Cars that you can stay in. Despite being told at time of reservation they were closed for winter. Several people were staying in them while we were there? Not sure what was up with that situation. They also no longer take pets.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azbound04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
2.0 km away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.7 km away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
2.1 km away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
44.0 km away
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
#23 of 30 in Williams
534 reviews
7.8 km away
Grand Canyon / Williams KOA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Motel & RV Park

Property: Canyon Motel & RV Park
Address: 1900 East Rodeo Rd, Williams, AZ 86046
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williams
Price range (per night): $133 - $251
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon Motel & RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Motel & RV Park is a remarkable 1940 Historic Route 66 property in the Pine Trees of the Kaibab National Forest. It has the Original eighteen (18) Flagstone Cottage type rooms as well as (2) two 1929 Train Car Caboose Suites and (3) three 1950 Pullman railcar rooms. In addition to these unique lodging selections, it has forty seven (47) full service RV spaces, seven (7) tent sites, a seasonal indoor heated pool, coin laundry, and a cool general store. It’s unique and different and definitely a one of a kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Canyon Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Motel & Rv Park Hotel Williams
Canyon Motel And Rv Park
Canyon Motel Williams
Canyon Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing