We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Stacy

Expensive than the Grand Canyon Village hotels

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 May 2024
Room has 2 queen bed good for 4 people.. 15mins away from the Grand Canyon but the rate is way too expensive. we booked this room for 250usd a night but inside the Grand Canyon village (Mazwik Lodge walk in rate is 120usd/night) way cheaper than this property. but there's a microwave and mini ref so you could preheat your food to go.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: friendly staff near restaurants 15mins away to the Grand Canyon if no available room inside the...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings and thank you again for staying with us. We are the only family owned and operated hotel in the area and our room rates are very competitive. It seems our rate was correct during the month of May but the low rate of $120 is just unheard of for the property you have mentioned, especially during the summer time. We, however, appreciate your comment regarding our amenities and wish the best in your future travels. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$232
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$232
  • Hotels.com
    AU$232
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$232
0.1 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$379
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$379
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$379
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free parking
Pool
The Grand Pool #GrandCanyon #XanterraTravel
AU$392
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$392
  • Hotels.com
    AU$392
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$393
0.4 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$367
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    AU$367
0.0 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
AU$447
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$386
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$387
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$341
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$296
  • Vio.com
0.0 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Main Building
AU$334
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$334
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$334
  • Trip.com
9.0 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$408
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
    AU$405
  • Agoda.com
    AU$324
  • Hotels.com
    AU$408
9.0 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Room with a Rim view
AU$542
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$542
  • Agoda.com
    AU$494
  • travelup.com
    AU$725
9.3 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$691
  • travelup.com
    AU$581
  • Agoda.com
    AU$522
  • Trip.com
9.3 km from Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Tusayan
Reviews (2,357)
Filter reviews
2,357 results
Traveller rating
270
734
800
309
244
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
270
734
800
309
244
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south rim hot tub gift shop short drive beds were comfortable concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2,357 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2024 via mobile

I had an excellent stay here 8 years ago, so I decided to return and see why I enjoyed this hotel. While my second stay wasn’t bad, I was also underwhelmed by the property condition and lack of amenities. The rooms look outdated, the carpet needs to be replaced, and having a balcony overlook the pool and bar area was unusual. Some rooms you enter from outside like a motel, and others you enter from inside and have an outside balcony. I’d like to see this hotel do something to keep up with increasing competition in a popular tourist destination. There was no complementary breakfast, the only hotel on my trip to not offer anything. There’s no gym area either. The location is good, about 10 minutes from the Grand Canyon visitor center. I didn’t like how it was oddly positioned off the main road behind another small plaza, that felt very weird. Overall, I’d stay here if the price is lower than other options in the area.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jstrand12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2024

A tip of the hat to Steve, the front desk manager instantly solved my problem regarding a wheelchair accessible room. He upgraded us to a suite since the first room presented problems for this mobility challenged guest.

Also the restaurant was very good and the hotel is only a mile from the Grand Canyon's South Gate.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Greetings, we are very happy to learn that Steven was able to assist you when you brought the issue to his attention. We appreciate your kind words and will make sure to share this review with him directly. We also glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining with us and found our location to be very convenience. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Like everything else in Tusayan, this hotel is gross and overpriced. It's a 2-star motel from 1992 at the price of a decent 4-star. If, however, you approach it with that expectation, it's... fine.

The good: the rooms are spacious, it's near the Grand Canyon, the lobby looks nice
The bad: it's a 2-star motel and the rooms very much reflect that

My recommendation is to bypass Tusayan altogether. and stay in Williams instead. You don't need multiple days in the Grand Canyon.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Dear Alex, thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are very sorry to hear that our accommodation is not up to your standards. Our records showed that you stayed in our one-bedroom suite with 2 TV's, a separate living room, a full-size closet, 2 separate vanity area. Our hotel also has a restaurant, a saloon, indoor spa and seasonal outdoor pool. We are sure these types of amenities are not being offered at the 2 star-motel. For our location, it is convenience for any guests who would like to get the most out of their ONCE-IN A LIMETIME experience at the Grand Canyon. There are many activities nearby such as hiking, biking or touring to different viewpoints. The one-night stay is definitely fine if you only need to “see” the Grand Canyon, however, we recommend 2+ nights if you would like to explore. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

After landing in Phoenix and driving for three hours we were really tired. The young lady at the desk got us into room 1375 with two double beds. This hotel was nice and the people were friendly. The facility was large and had a restaurant with it.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Dear Alafans, we appreciate your comments and glad to hear that your visit was enjoyable. However, if there is anything we could do to further improve your experience, please do not hesitate to let us know. Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024

What a wonderful hotel in the most amazing place. This hotel was perfect for our stay and I wish we could have stayed longer. We had a double queen room and the facilities were wonderful. Lovely big beds, fantastic bathroom facilities and large rooms.
I would definitely recommend this place for any visit to the Grand canyon.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Dear ZoeG275, thank you so much for your recent stay with us and for your kind review! We strive for perfection and will continue to work hard in order to keep our high service standards. Your recommendation is also appreciated. We cannot wait to welcome you again on your next visit to the Grand Canyon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews