We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,004)
Filter reviews
2,006 results
Traveller rating
200
627
712
264
203
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
627
712
264
203
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth rimimax theatervisitor centerbuffet breakfastgift shopconvenient locationminute drivebeds were comfortableconciergehelicopter
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 2,006 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel is easy to find after a long day spent hiking the Grand Canyon. We stayed in one of the suites, as we were traveling as a family of 5. The room was spacious enough for us, as we had two double beds and a pull-out sofa. The front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel has a restaurant/lounge, which we did not visit, but it looked inviting. The hotel seemed clean and was comfortable

Room Tip: I'd suggest that you stay in the section of the hotel that has interior entrances for each room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MKJ109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S, General Manager at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank for taking the time to review our property. I was happy to hear that your trip to the Grand Canyon was satisfactory as was your stay with us. I always appreciate hearing how friendly and welcoming our staff is during our guests stay. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Relative to all the hotels in The area this is well priced (they are all quite expensive I the area. I think the place is great - clean rooms, nice decor, all amenities in the room one would need. Check in was efficient, staff were responsive - good tips from the concierge with useful coupons for a few things in the area. I’d stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank rewqasdcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S, General Manager at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for your very positive review. I appreciate that your stay with us comfortable and satisfactory. It's always a positive thing when our staff is complimented on their service to our guests. We look forward to your next trip. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

For nearly $200 a night, it is worst than any of the lower range hotels. The only thing it got going for them is the location. Should have drove further out for nicer hotel at half the price. Customer service was horrible. We had problem with our door to the room, which was outside, pass another door, up the elevator to the back side of the building. Instead of doing saying anything after we trek back to the front desk, they told us to go try again..with children and luggages. There is no hospitality here. Take your money somewhere else.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank mchai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S, General Manager at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

I was very sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We do strive to provide good customer service to our guests and to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I will be forwarding these comments to our Department Managers so they can review with their staff. Again, my apologies for any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Room was immaculate and bed was comfortable, so for that I was very satisfied. But for the price paid, I was surprised at the barebones “motel” feel of the place outside of the actual room. Great location just a few minutes from Grand Canyon National Park south entrance.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank TripleWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S, General Manager at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was happy to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory and comfortable. We appreciate you mentioning how convenient we are located to the Grand Canyon. Your comments will be forwarded to Department Managers so they can review with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Tusayan is just like West Yellowstone. It is a gateway town to an incredible National Park. It is fantastically convenient and expensive. Luxury is hard to find. The business owners provide service to a crushing amount of tourists and make their money during "the season" by serving the volume versus the privileged. The Canyon Plaza Resort falls into that algorithm.

The single largest selling point for this hotel is the location. The family-owned hotel is very close to the entrance to the Grand Canyon south entrance and is one of about a dozen or so hotels in town. It is one block off the strip and within walking distance to the usual tourist town attractions. You can easily hit the IMAX theater, the gift shops and most restaurants without a car.

It is a huge hotel situated in several three-story buildings. These buildings are of the vintage variety with outdoor entrances, concrete steps, iron railings all looking over a central pool and parking area. The rooms were of the same vintage slightly kitschy variety arranged and furnished in the style fashionable in the 70's. The overall feel was thrifty. The linen was dated, but clean. The carpet showed the trail of the undoubtedly thousands of families that had passed this way. The nightstands were the laminated fiber board variety that you order and build at home and too plentiful than the floorspace required. The mattresses were too worn for middle age comfort. It is little like my grandmother's house; furnished by someone living on a fixed income, but carefully cared for to make it last.

If you let the "Resort" misnomer in the hotel's title set your expectations, you will be disappointed. However, if you're looking for an early start in the park, this quirky hotel will likely suffice.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank NicholasCHopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S, General Manager at Grand Canyon Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

I appreciate you taking the time to comment on our property and your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location to the entrance to Grand Canyon and how we are situated with walking distance to all that Tusayan has to offer. Again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews