We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
633
17
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
633
17
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomhot tubattention to detailfront porchother guestswine cellarprivate covecell phonebreakfast and dinnerthought of everythingwood firegreat hostsreception buildingpaddle boardingoff gridour honeymooncentral america
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We stayed in the Deluxe Suite 5 during our stay at La Fortuna and there's not much to say except WOW. Everything about this place is amazing. Guaranteed to be a one of a kind experience.

From the second we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff with drinks and taken care of with the best of service from that moment, right up until we left. Steve & Kat are amazing hosts who have put a lot of care into making the experience the best it can possibly be for their guests.

Our room (Deluxe Suite 5) was even better than we had anticipated. Everything is carefully curated to give the space a really unique feel. We enjoyed it so much that we rarely left our unit. We mainly hung out on the private terrace we had enjoying the sun and quite space.

Food is great - breakfast, lunch and dinner all delicious. Excellent wine selection available. Happy hour drinks. Staff is so friendly and helpful and best of all are the three friendly dogs that roam the grounds, but are SUPER well trained. Also, the location is very good because it's central to a lot of the towns to visit around the lake.

I will 100% be returning to La Fortuna in the future and I HIGHLY recommend to anyone visiting Lake Atitlan.

Room Tip: Every room looks great, but the deluxe suite 5 was just a cut above
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It really was a pleasure meeting and hosting you both and we are thrilled to hear that you will be back soon! Thank you for being lovely guests, and for the kind words.

Wishing you both the very best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We were so impressed with La Fortuna. The minute we arrived and the receptionist met us on the dock and knew our names and took the time to show us around the "campus." The main house, where we ate dinner, is architecturally unique and I spent a lot of time having out there. I also got a sneak peek at the new apartment next door and it is stunning. The hotel is quiet, tucked away in its own bay between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, so it is great for swimming but also on the public boat route, so easy to access from either town. We actually live at the lake, so it is easy to become inured to the physical beauty of the place, but even just a short boat ride from our place we seemed to be in another world. The management's gone out of its way to make service a priority which coupled with the setting, gardens, view and food has made this one of my most memorable hotel stays ever.

Room Tip: Try and book the new wing. It is amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoryHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you were finally able to come and check us out and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you both again soon. We are so happy that you enjoyed the uniqueness of the property and all the natural beauty we are lucky enough to have all around us.

Thank you again for a lovely stay,

All the very best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

If you are looking for a great place to unwind and relax, there is no better place than La Fortuna! Steve, Kat and their staff do an excellent job. It is so tranquil and beautiful. The food is great! We so enjoyed coffee and breakfast on our front porch. The two of us having dinner alone by candlelight on the porch was very romantic. This is our 7th time staying at La Fortuna and we are looking forward to returning again!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadof7and86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure hosting you again for the 7th time. Guests like you make our job so easy - and we hope that you are back for an 8th time soon.

Thank you again for a lovely stay.

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This is a 1 of a kind. From the time that you arrive by boat, to the bungalow, to the great meals, the client service and price for value. Truly outstanding place. One of the best lodges I've ever stayed. Steve and Kat have something very special at La Fortuna. It's a labor of love and it shows.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure hosting you and we do hope that you are able to return soon! All the staff enjoyed spending time chatting with you over a meal in reception.

All the very best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Starting with the private dock, away from any buzz, La Fortuna is a place to visit at least one in a lifetime - from the very warm welcome, to the unique design of the houses and the hot tub - everything had a thought behind it! We felt extremely relaxed and could enjoy that view for months!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure hosting you both and we are so happy that you felt welcomed, and enjoyed all the little details around the property. We hope to be fortunate enough to have you here again in the near future.

Wishing you both the very best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews