We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 79
USD 73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Drake Bay Backpackers(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 168
USD 160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Cabinas Casa Miriam(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Indigenas de Drake(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
USD 51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
USD 469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Drake Bay Getaway Resort(Drake Bay)
USD 633
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas el Colibri(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
244
100
31
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
100
31
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishcorcovado national parkcosta ricasuperior roomhotel staffcanopy tourfloor fansan josedive shophiking trailthe riverhot waterlarge roomsound of the waveszip liningtropical forestoff the beaten path
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

we rented a private boat trip to Cano Island for € 800,- for a full day incl twee dives and lunch.
when we arived, there was another group on the boat. I did not agree, but since the kids were waiting, we agreed to go with the other group and make a financial agreement with the main office.
The diving was terrible. Poor gear, no depthmeter, very bad air, broken regulator. Long waiting, short 30 min dive. Poor visibility on the easy side of the island. The kids had terrible blisters due to bad fins and far too long in the mud (nothing to see).
At noon we went back to the shore. Lunch on the beach in Drake.. Thas was the day.
Two months later after 25 emails with Marjorlaine we received €46,- refund. Grrrrr

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This is a cozy wooden hotel with the superior wide rooms and private bathrooms overlooking Drake Bay and the Pacific Ocean from the front terrace. Breakfasts are served on a open terrace viewing the ocean where the excellent Kalaluna Bistrò Restaurant is located run by the Italian chef Claudio and his Costa Rican wife Shirley (see my specific review). Usual choices of fresh tropical fruit, juice, coffee and egg dishes. The staff is very friendly. The hotel also organizes excursions in the forest and in the ocean. We have done two, the forest walk at Playa Sirena (lots of animals in an uncontaminated environment) and the snorkeling trip to Isla del Cano (tropical fishes, turtles, etc.). Both trips include a long boat ride (more than an hour) during which we spotted many sperm whales with their babies that populate the area during the period July-September. Pure emotion!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marco_Parenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We had a great 3 nights at Jinetes de Osa .We had the rooms furthest away from the bottom so had those 189 steps plus a little extra to conquer a few times a day.Hard work ,but most definitely not a deal breaker-however you do need to be reasonably fit and occasionally the path was quite slippery so you do need to be careful at times, also there was an occasional snake sunbathing on the steps ,that always disappeared quickly when it sensed you!
We had rooms 14 and 15 i think -3 children 16,18 and 20 in one room, the rooms were large and fairly basic ,we had a large shared balcony overlooking trees and vegetation -regularly visited by humming birds and one evening a tapir came out of the undergrowth,v briefly before reversing when it sensed us.Wi-fi was only available at the drinks station at the top of the stairs ,but not in our room.
The food was excellent -i will review the restaurant separately as in the evening it is run by a couple as an independent concern-although our meals were included in our room price.
The excursions -we went snorkelling and did the trek in corcocavado national park, were both excellently run and fantastic adventures, numerous fish ,and wonderful rainforest and wildlife-at one point on the trek we could see 3 of the 4 types of monkeys in trees around us at the same time ,which was unusual.We also saw a sleeping tapir just off the beach.
There were fridges in the room ,so we trekked into the village-a little further than we initially thought ,to buy some beer ,water and soft drinks ,which were great to enjoy on the balcony at night
We loved our time in Drakes bay ,and can thoroughly recommend both making the effort to get there(flew in from san jose-coming from monteverde,and went out by boat and minibus to manual antonio) and staying at Jinetes de Osa.

Room Tip: Best views at the top of the stairs and rooms up there have air con, but lots of stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We went for 3 nights (2 days scuba diving) and had a wonderful time.
I am a wheelchair-user and Drake bay isn't an obvious destination.
Special thanks to the entire team of the hotel and dive base that helped us.
There is an accessible room with a magnificant view but there are some stairs which the staff are gladly prepared to help you with.
Also a very good restaurant !

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andre249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the casitas, which were a bit of a hike, but the views, macaws, toucans and hummingbirds were worth it! Great breakfast and Shirley and Chef Claudi provided excellent dinners. All the staff went out of their way for us, including Michael the maintenance man loaning my son his fishing pole for an afternoon! There are monkeys living in the trees above a footpath and every nature activity available. Truly an amazing place!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jlester67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews