We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for five nights in February 2012 and had a tremendously fun time diving, hiking, beaching, and amusing ourselves. I think 5 nights is the appropriate number of days here although it could be done in 4. Found the staff to be great, and send our thanks to the hotel managers Patrick and Giselle as well as our guides Ivan (dive master), Rolando (Corcovado), and Carlos (canopy). Enjoyed meeting the other guests in an open environment with communal dining. Fell asleep to the sound of waves crashing on the beach every night.

Found this hotel to be a great 'value play'. We compared the properties to those at aguilas de OSA and Paloma. While clearly better, couldn't justify the price for the extravagant frills. Most of the time you'll be away from your resort/hotel on excursions, so the money spent at these locations is spent idly in my opinion.

One significant plus about this place is that it is truly a one stop shop. They do all of the tour arrangement for you with experienced guides. There are a la carte tour operators in town but they didn't seem to be priced any better or offer better guides than our hotel. Our diving experiences were superb. Saw 20+ white tip sharks, eels, turtle, 50 species of fish, 3 species of rays, great underwater topography, and enjoyed the post dive beach lunch on playa josecito. Corcovado (sirena): saw several species of mammal incl a sloth, large weasel, agouti, and yes two tapirs; a mother with her baby, which was a high point. Birds, etc. the park overall while neat is not your splendor that some may be used to in the us national park system but more or a dense, walk able, tolerable heat/humidity, type of experience.

Overall, didn't stop smiling our entire stay and would return for sure if going to Drake Bay.

Drake overall was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Staying at Jinetes de Osa was an experience to remember. Walking to it from the Taxi dropoff was intersting...they do carry your bags thank goodness. You have to ford a small river and then you come to stone steps that rise into the jungle quickly bringing you to a lovely open air pavilion and bar. The greeting is excellent. The food and company was memorable and the guided adventures were very well done. Our Corcavodo naturalist had worked on a National Geographic ship. Advise you to to Serena Station. Okay for the not so great stuff. The walls are VERY thin and you can hear people breathing in the next room. Not conducive to honeymoon activity unless you want an audience. The house keeping staff can get loud if you're napping late and it's hard to read with the dim lights. But none of that was enough to take away from the wonderful general experience of just being there. It was also a good value for money.

Room Tip: The cheap rooms are tolerable...that's what we had, but the more expensive rooms are definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Plantec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed two nights; food was excellent; rooms were clean; good location; nice bar and hot showers! It was the start of tourist season so not too many people. Staff went out of their way to find enough people at other hotels to go scuba diving & hiking. Also, made sure boats were on time for my departure. This hotel is the best bang for your buck in Drake. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingThrough66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My friend and I had a fantastic time at Jinestes de Osa and it ended up being one of our favourite places ever! From the time we arrived to when we left, we were made to feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were late by a day because of a plane delay and they were lovely in changing our booking for us and re-organising activities.
If you want to chill out, you can. If you want to go snorkelling, diving, horse-riding, hiking, do a canopy tour and pretty much whatever else you can think of doing, they are happy and quick to organise for you. We enjoyed lots of activities whilst there - all of them well organised and fun.
If you are out doing activities you get a gorgeous lunch provided, if not you have lunch at the hotel along with snacks in the afternoon! Everyone eats together at dinner and it's lovely sitting having a relaxing drink with guests and staff in the evening.
All of that doesn't even mention the animals, beautiful beaches and wonderful forests...I'm planning on heading back in August this year... looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here over the week of Christmas and had one of the best holidays ever. I love that Drake Bay is so remote and isolated... that you can hike for several hours and barely see anyone (and have a beach all to yourself). Plus, the unspoiled jungle & wildlife is pretty incredible.

I've visited Drake Bay on four different occasions, staying at other resorts and I'd rate Jinetes as one of the best experiences. I liked that it was an easy walk into "town" and the main beach, plus they have a fantastic bunch of tours offered directly from the resort (it's the meeting place for most tours, even if you stay elsewhere).

The resort itself is clean and simple. There's hydro, which is nice for this part of the region. There is also a friendly bar where you can spend a leisurely hour before dinner chatting up locals & fellow travelers. Plus, there's an overlook with hammocks that you can enjoy.

I stayed in the shared bathroom room and it was very nice. I heard the ocean waves lapping all night - incredible.

The food was very good, and hearty! I never ever went hungry and I love to eat. They have snacks at 4pm if you need something extra and since you're close to town you can always grab a snack if it's absolutely necessary (I never needed a snack since I felt very well fed).

The staff made the experience awesome too. Victor is the most fun guy you'll ever meet. And I loved Kate & Giovani at the bar! Everyone made me feel like a welcome friend.

Since I was traveling alone, it was nice to spend Christmas dinner with like-minded, eco-friendly travelers... everyone had a great point of view and it was like the united nations with guests from all over the world.

I am totally shocked to read negative reviews about this resort. I have the feeling if these tourists stayed elsewhere in Drake Bay they'd have similar complaints. ALL of the resorts have three meals a day (same meal for everyone, family style) and the food was healthy and hearty here. ALL of the resorts in this region are going to have some bugs (I didn't actually see any in my room, which is unheard of in Drake Bay). I don't think this kind of vacation is for everyone. If you don't like the jungle you won't like Drake Bay no matter where you stay.

I have the feeling that the people who complain about a resort like this are more suited to stay at an all inclusive in Gunacaste, or better yet save their money and go to the Dominican Republic.

For me, this was the PERFECT vacation. I'm so so so happy I stayed here.

Room Tip: I stayed in the shared bathroom room and it was no problem. It's only shared with one other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ccraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.3 km away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
0.5 km away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
1.9 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
2.1 km away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
369 reviews
0.3 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Drake Bay

Been to Jinetes de Osa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinetes de Osa Hotel

Address: 200 M Norte del Rio Aguajitas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: $77 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinetes de Osa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see Costa Rica as you always imagined; wild, beautiful and unexplored. Be one of the lucky few to scuba dive in the pelagic rich waters of Cano Island or explore one of the last remaining virgin lowland tropical rainforests of Corcovado National Park. Splendidly isolated in the tiny community of Drake Bay, Costa Rica, Jinetes De Osa Hotel is a friendly beachside retreat one hours boat ride down the jungle lined banks of the Sierpe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jinetes de Osa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jinetes De Osa
Jinetes De Osa Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing