We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
246
106
30
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
106
30
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbuffet stylecano islanddeluxe cabinbetween divesdive mastercosta ricanight tourfishdeserted beachother guestsdive shoplovely lunchdive gearthe kitchen staffsan josenatural setting
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

This is nice hotel with nice bungalows near the beach.
You will arrive by boat and all this is very nice.
If you want to go to corcovado, it is better to book before coming as they are limited in number of places. However Be aware the place you will visit at corcovado is absolutely not a primary forest. This is not allowed to go there. Furthermore you will visit with a guide and a group of 8 or 9 persons. The trees are very high, so that at the end you do not see much. For a price og 95 usd this is very desappointing.
At the end youbdo not walk more and do not see much...
Coming back to the lodge you have to know it is located near the road (and not in the middle of jungle). So you will get the noise of fars, atvs and all such mechanical engines.... Pity because to sleep it is not the best.
The food is ok and have to say we spent good time anyway at beach...
The tour in mangrove is far much interesting than cordovado. In 7 hours you will see more animals and birds and move far more...
At the end we put only 2 of 5, because we expected to be in the jungle and not near a road.....

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Claude-Zhanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

I would give our stay here 9 out of 10 simply because our bungalow didn't have air conditioning which would have helped as I got quite a few bites here - some in the room but then mossies like me unfortunately. I believe some rooms do have air con so worth considering.

Staff here were fantastic - especially Katherine & Suzanne (apologies for spelling) who went out of their way to help. Views were stunning & it was lovely listening to the waves at night from our room.

We found the food plentiful and very good. The strawberry, mango & passionfruit crepes one night were particularly delicious & as I don't eat fish, they cooked chicken for me one night when the main course was fish.

We enjoyed the Corcovado (Sirena station) & snorkelling trips provided by the hotel. We also booked the excellent Tapir Trail tour through them.

If you like swimming on the beach, I'd definitely recommend watershoes here - even just to cross the estuary to get to the main section of the beach.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ponaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We were picked up at our beach on time. The crew was very friendly and caretaking. We even saw some dolphines and the captain stopped the boat and we had a lot of time to watch them.
The dive sites were beautiful and we saw large fish schools, sharks, turtles and sting rays.
Wilson is a very experienced dive master and we had a lot of fun with him.
Cano island, where we rested between the two dives, is a beautiful island, where you find nature in its purest form.
We were offered snacks, fruits, water and juice.
We did four dives with cano divers (two per day)

Since we dove the last time 2 years ago, we decided to book a refresher course, which was 50$ extra. This was an inappropriate charge. Wilson explained to us how to clear our masks, which we of course already knew. And we breathed from the alternative air source.
We would have liked to revise the security check or maybe do some buoancy exercises to feel safe again under water.
Propably Wilson couldn`t do more exercises with us, because he had to take care of a guy, who did his first dive. He let him go diving without any experience or licence whatsoever. He even didn't know how to equalize. And we went 20 meters deep!

We gave them our sizes via email. One day before the dive we went to Cano divers. And they said, they wouldn't need anything else from us. Unfortunatelly, my shoes didn't fit. It would have been better if they had let us try on the gear ourselves.

In summary, we had two great days with Cano divers, however we would not recommend doing a refresher there.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alienajuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

The rooms were great, the staff helpful, and the views terrific. Food was Costa Rican and very tasty and plentiful. One of the owners entertained us with stories of the hotel. The wet exit from our transportation to the beach at the hotel was a surprise but ok with us. Monkeys, lizards, crabs and two little doggies greeted us. A "Jesus Christ" lizard lives there and swims in the pool, as did a crab on our last day. Not to worry, they don't bite.

Room Tip: ask for the upscale rooms # 11 & #12.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Cano Divers operates out of the Pirate Cove hotel. We dove two days at Cano Island. The boat is fast and comfortable and has shade available. The staff are friendly and helpful.

They picked us up on the beach in front of our hotel. The ride out to the island is about 45 minutes, but the scenery is lovely so it passes quickly.

We dove with Wilson both days. Wilson is an old school dive guide. Full of humour and great stories. My son (11) and I had an amazing time and can't recommend him enough!

The diving at Cano is solid Pacific diving. A rocky reef with good coral growing on it. Lots of fish life, including huge schools of jacks. We saw lots of puffers, eels, butterfly fish, a few huge still grays and even 3 white tip reef sharks.

The visibility was only about 30-40 feet when we were there, but it didn't diminish our enjoyment of the dives. There is a fairly solid thermocline at about 40 feet with about a 10 degree temperature drop, so don't forget your wetsuit.

You will have a nice surface interval break on the island between dives. The beach is lovely and we had fun playing in the waves. The guides being cookies, fruit, water and juice and there are nice shady spots to relax for a while.

After the dives, you are taken back to the hotel for lunch. If you are staying somewhere else they arrange for a taxi to take you back after lunch.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aysha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews