We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
247
106
30
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
106
30
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river buffet style cano island between dives costa rica night tour fish deserted beach other guests dive shop lovely lunch the kitchen staff san jose natural setting nearby town air conditioning national park
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Pirate Cove is a great place to stay while in Drake Bay. The food is awesome, the staff are very friendly, and the tours available can't be beat! It takes about 20 minutes to walk into "town", but the meals were so good at the hotel, we never ate anywhere else. This is the way Costa Rica should be experienced. Drake Bay is remote, so don't expect Four-Season's style rooms. The rooms have ceiling fans, mosquito nets, safes, and hammocks on the decks and they are clean.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cparis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015

nice hotel, space in the room, people who are working there very nice, good meals but may be a little effort to do for the breakfast. Lot of activities. The only problem is a road behind the hotel and no windows so you wake up very early. if you are looking for a pool may be better to go 2 minutes from Pirate cove to Tranquilo Lodge very nice. If you want to be in the jungle in a plaisant hotel Pirate Cove is good. One more thing: we are still looking for the pirate where is he?

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 380Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

The Porate Cove was a superb experience in our Costa Rica trip. It is located atop a little hill on the beach on Drake Bay. The rooms have good views of the ocean and a river. Forests are all around you.
The food, which was included in our rent, is superb. The breakfast is in buffet style while lunch and dinner are fixed menus. All food were very tasty. The common dining area is great for mingling with other travelers. They serve the dinner at 6:30 pm.
Activity tours begin right from the hotel, and boats start from the hotel for activities that need boat transport.
Expect to get your feet (rather the legs) wet when you arrive at the hotel, as there is no jetty, and you have to disembark from the boat on to the water while the boat staffs hold the boat. This was fun.
One potentially negative thing was that the fans in our room were very slow, and we felt really hot early in the night with limited wind circulation within the room. The wifi is available only on the common dining area.
The staff is superb and takes excellent acre of the guests.

Finally, on the last ~24 hours of our stay, we had an unexpected but exciting friend within the hotel property. A Boa constrictor perched itself atop a tree about 30 feet from the door of our room! Absolutely thrilling.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dwaipayan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

First let me point out I did not stay with them but my hotel arranged a dive with them. People were outstanding. We had our own guide but their guy was aces. Wilson had students and they did well. Our guide was Kiki. He looks Rasta but dived like a dolphin. Spotted lots of good stuff and showed us lots of new things. The boat was good and the after dive lunch was very tasty. So at this point you are asking why the so-so rating. My air source did not TASTE right. Not sure if they had a car running near the air intake of the compressor, I didn't get sick but I had no idea how I was going to feel afterwards. As it turned out nothing happened but I hate diving and going along debating aborting the dive. Hope it was a one time thing. If I had a gas analyzer I would have loved to see the results. When I mentioned the air source they marked the tank to do just that. That tells me they are Pros and somewhere someone got sloppy.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jayfromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drake2006, Propietario at Pirate Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Thanks so much for your review. We examined the air in your tank immediately after you complained about it. The air was perfectly breathable but the problem was that the person
filling the tanks on the day you dove with us forgot to purge the main compressor of humidilty and that was why it didn’t “taste” right. The other tanks were ok. We do pride ourselves on the quality of our service and it was quite annoying that such an avoidable mistake was made. You were in no danger at all from the air.

I might note that in our 10 years or so of operation in the “jungle” we have never had a single serious incident. Sadly, there have been several fatalities over the years resulting from negligence on the part of some of the other so-called diving “operators.” Costa Rica is a great tourist and dive destination but safety standards are not always followed as they should be. It is not surprising, therefore, that the owners of Pirate Cove are ALL experienced scuba divers (one is an instructor) and our dive masters are all PADI instructors.

My advise for anyone who wants to dive in our lovely country is to check out dive operators and satisfy yourselves that safety standards are being met before boarding the dive boat. Accidents can happen at any time, but why take a chance of ruining your vacation and perhaps even your lives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Forget your red carpet, your welcome cocktails and your butler.
Leave behind your surround sound tvs, your fancy silverware, and your in-room service.
Pirate Cove's secret is in its simplicity, its rustic yet clean and safe bungalows, its excellent staff, and its overall warm and tropical experience -it feels good to be here!

Maybe this is not a five-star hotel, but the friendliness of the staff, the customized attention, and the overall peaceful surroundings earns Pirate Cove a VERY GOOD rating.
So many other "luxury hotels" we've stayed at wished they had the quality staff and the customer satisfaction focus that we experienced at this hotel.

The rooms are simple, but clean and charming, surrounded by green and nature, with views to the ocean.
The hotel is placed in front of its own beach, which is long and offers lots of miles for walking.
Here you ca walk for miles, or hike up the tropical mountains, or go horseback riding, or scuba, or snorkel, or just chill in one of the hotel's lazy hammocks.

The main dinning room is simple but clean and the food is excellent. Especially the breakfast, buffet style, and with plenty of fruits, gallo pinto, coffee, eggs, ham, pan cakes, corn flakes, etc.

The diving operation is top notch too. Good sized lanchas, excellent dive crew, well-maintained scuba equipment, good guides, and overall a GREAT diving experience.

The hotel management is friendly and honest, reliable people. I enjoyed talking with them.

We will be going back soon I hope!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews