We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
385
9
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
9
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boarding boat ride night hike fish restaurant staff corcovado national park costa rica osa peninsula close encounter howler monkeys the river every meal air conditioning sea turtles ceviche treated like family once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Justin at Costa RIcan Vacations helped us plan our first trip to this country, and he recommended this property so highly that we ended up changing our dates by a couple of days just so we could stay here. It was SO worth it! Everyone on the staff was amazing, and the seclusion and beauty of the location is incomparable. We stayed in cabin 10, and had a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean that was expanded when the couple in #11 moved on and Randall opened up the balcony to their unit as well. This property is all inclusive: your meals are part of the package. Food was well prepared and delicious. Traditional Costa Rican food was offered, and familiar foods like pasta were always available for the less adventurous. This is a remote eco-lodge, so don't go expecting the Four Seasons, but be prepared to be pampered nonetheless. There are only 11 rooms so there is lots of privacy.

Room Tip: We were in #10. It shares a bungalow with another unit (11), but was still quite private. The deck on unit 10 is more spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkspurx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We’re grateful for your fantastic review and we appreciate you changing your trip schedule in order to accommodate Justin’s suggestion to come see us. It was a pleasure having you stay and hopefully we’ll be seeing you again in the future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Our 5 day stay at the Copa de Arbol EXCEEDED our expectations. We were greeted at the waters edge by Randall, the manager, and escorted up to the lobby to be greeted by Albert and a refreshing drink (Just like the virtual tour). And just like the virtual tour the resort property was fabulous. Our bungalow was nestled in the rainforest with all of it's splendor. We took advantage of a Nature hike just behind our bungalow. The entire stay was beautifully orchestrated, each day our meals were planned ahead for us to our liking. The two chefs are unbelievably talented. My gluten free needs were met with delicious variations of bread and desserts. The owners of this resort live on site. They are very much visible, approachable and part of the daily activities. It is very apparent the staff are well treated and very happy with their bosses! Each of the staff made a point to call us by name and get to know what our preferences. They anticipated a request before we could even ask! One of the owners went into his home to find us a fishing rod, and bait so we could fish with off the shore lines. He even directed us to the best spots. We truly were treated like family, it was unbelievable. We had a fabulous fishing trip and both my husband and I caught a 60+ Rooster fish! I invite anyone looking for a beautiful escape from a hectic pace to go on line and view the video tour and book a stay at this incredible destination. We will return!

Room Tip: There are bungalows that overlook Drake Bay
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us Beverly. Thankfully, we lived up to our virtual tour!....We will pass the compliments on to our kitchen staff as I’m sure they’ll appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you when you come back and visit…..Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Spent 5 nights at Copa de Arbol. Remote, relaxing, amazing!

Waking up in Cabin #9 with an incredible view of the ocean... reading/napping by the pool or in the hammock at my cabin... watching the sunset at the beach with a cocktail. It was a fantastic trip.

I enjoyed scuba diving at cano island and a tour of corcovado national park.

Food is very good. Meals are included, alcoholic beverages are extra.

Service is excellent. Staff and owners are genuinely friendly and helpful. Starting with my initial inquiry, including my specially prepared bacon cheeseburger - thank you it was delicious, ending with washing my feet after dropping me off at drake bay to get my taxi back to the airport. Kudos on a job well done.

If you are looking for a place to get away and relax, Copa de Arbol is a special - a slice of paradise.

Room Tip: The view from #9 Balsa Luxury Cabina was amazing.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SGiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

We are always happy to go the extra mile to make our guests feel at home and it sounds like the bacon cheeseburger did the trick! Were happy to hear your vacation met your expectations with the right amount of adventure and relaxation. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

The folks at Copa are incredible. From working with Summer on the reservations to the farewell takeoff in the surf; it's all a treat. The cabinas are nicely appointed (but no place to put your clothes) and comfortable. The beds are firm. A/C works great and the bathrooms are nicely appointed.
The food is delicious and consistent. The staff is fantastic - they work hard at remembering your name, your likes, how you take your coffee, what you like to drink and where you like to sit. They couldn't be more accommodating and kind. We LOVE them all. It was our second (and not last) visit to Copa, our CR home away from home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very private and have fantastic views.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacques890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

When we opened our hotel in 2012 we had a mission which was to share our little piece of paradise with people from all over the world and it sounds like you were able to really experience our vision. Heaven on earth is truly a fitting title and it pleases us that you took the time to write a review. We hope to have you back for a 3rd visit to your Costa Rica home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

We stayed at Copa de Arbol for 7 days with our two 10 & 12 year grandsons. The "duplex" cabina #10 and # 11 worked out perfectly as we both had our own rooms connected by a large deck with hammock, tables and chairs. We had an extra twin bed added to the queen in cabina #11 so each boy had his own bed. They rotated nights in each bed.

We flew via Sansa from San Jose. The Drake airport was closed for repairs one day before we left the US and Copa quickly arranged airport to resort transportation so that all went seamlessly. The boys enjoyed the 45 min boat ride from Palmar Sur to the resort... a good intro to the jungle life seeing a boa in a tree on the way.

We had arranged a full schedule of activities through the resort's representative Summer. We arrived on Sunday; on Monday was horseback riding. Gentle horses since this was the boys' first solo ride. We all had helmets which I highly recommend as there are low hanging branches on the trail. By the end of the ride, we all were galloping along the beach! That night before dinner, Walter, the resort's wonderful naturalist led us on a night hike around the grounds to see bugs and frogs ... to the delight of my grandsons.

We scheduled a Cano Island snorkel trip with Walter. Although the water was a bit cloudy compared to the Caribbean, we did see porpoise on the way and some fish and coral on the dive. Unlike many other overcrowded snorkel trips scheduled from Drake Bay, only those from our resort were on the boat and trip. After lunch, the multi-level pool and hot tub was inviting.

Wednesday was spent with Walter again at the National park. Fantastic! Big hint: bring 2 large bottles of water. Park restrictions do not allow outside food at the ranger station, so we were provided sandwiches and fruit by the resort which we ate on the trail.

Thursday, we went fishing with Willie on the Reel Time. WOW, what a wonderful morning. When we started catching 8-10" red snapper for bait, I started thinking we may not have a big enough boat. I was almost right. Small red snapper and black fin tuna provided the bait for 35-45 pound red snapper, amberjack and roosterfish. The boys were so proud to carry the fish to the resort kitchen to feed the entire place!

Friday, I left free for paddle boarding, surfing, swimming, and a long walk along the Drake trail. BTW: everyone says the trail only takes 45 minutes. WRONG! We caught a resort boat to Drake and walked back to Copa. 2 thirsty hours later we arrived. Unless you are in VERY good shape don't go the other direction as there are many, many steps and steep slopes to navigate.

We left Saturday afternoon with the boys asking if we could stay a few more days. What a wonderful compliment that they felt so comfortable there.

The food was fantastic. I didn't expect that plates would be cleaned when not fed chicken fingers! Breakfast was an alternative between Tipico and American, but french toast and cereal was also available as well as omelets made any way you want. Lunch was always the same choice of salad or pasta with chicken, fish or beef, and delicious Chivechi.

The staff was friendly and always there when you needed them with a big smile. Could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: With only 10 rooms, there is something for everyone. All good spots with views.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolynfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M, Owner at Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

What a stellar review! Thank you for feeding all the guests with your catch of the day. It was a pleasure having you and the boys at the resort, we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews