We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great!”
other travellers have booked this property
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Full Kitchen w/Ocean View COVERED PATIO & POOL
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View From the villa -  Walk to the Beach
Full Kitchen w/Ocean View
COVERED PATIO & POOL
View From Living Room
)ne of two Master bedrooms w/bath and walk-in closet -safe
One of two master bathrooms (one w/shower and one w/shower & tub
Dining Area Internet connectivity
Entrance with plenty of parking - Orignal Model
Take your choice, pool, ocean or waterfall swimming hole - all very close
Local swimming hole just a five minute hike away
Untouched photo of sunset at Playa Dominicalito just below villa
Location photo lookin gup from ocean
Local fruit stand - one of many, fish market close by
Dominical is a noted surfing destination just 3 Km away
Playa Dominicalito right below the villa - best place to learn to surf
Tree Island near Punta Domincal - Hike out ther eat low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KJW_40
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This villa has a beautiful view. You definitely need a 4x4/4wd to get to it. Dave was very helpful sending me useful information before we arrived. We found it with no problems. It’s spacious and has all you need for cooking, etc. Glad we got the opportunity to stay here. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay R
Peterborough, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa with fantastic ocean views”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent 5 nights at #28 and it was excellent. The villa is a good size, has a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, 2 separate bedrooms with full baths located at a lower level (great for quietness/sleeping if people are upstairs in the living room/kitchen). Great views of the ocean from everywhere!!! All rooms have great ocean views. We spent every morning/evening on the outside balcony just rocking in the sliding/swinging chair watching the waves/boats and listening to the sounds of the sea. Main highway is just a 200-300 feet below so you do get a fair bit of road noise starting around 7 am but it is not that bad and offset by the great views! Beds were fine/comfortable, clean sheets/good pillows/plenty of towels in closet...we used washer/dryer which had detergent provided. Showers were fine/clean. Only problem was that the main floor AC did not work and in the bedrooms...1 AC unit worked well/quiet...the other bedroom had a small portable unit that was very loud and gave limited cool air...but served as good "white noise" for sleeping at night . In the living room there are 2 AC units and 1 worked to blow cold air and the other was blowing only re-circulated room air which was warmed as it went through this non-functional unit) so the room was just "OK" but ideally the AC would be a LOT quieter and cooler. This was rather disappointing to be honest as it felt like we were in a white noise environment during the time we spent in the living room and kitchen...whereas we would have preferred to enjoy the beautiful sights with a bit more "quiet" with the incessant droning of the AC units. We tried to just turn them off and while it was nice and quiet with birds singing/chirping it quickly got very hot with all the windows and sun shining. Location from all the area beaches/restaurants/activities is perfect and we really enjoyed our time at #28.

Dave West, Owner is extremely nice and we spent a lovely dinner with him one evening. He is a local real estate professional who lives in Costa Rica and so can give all sorts of good advice. Apart from this AC issue, I can say this stay was "perfect". We will return in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. Not that it will correct the situation you had with the AC but we received word yesterday that the new AC's we ordered are close to being scheduled for installation. Thanks for the details you shared in your review and hurry back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denyse H
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking View”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The view is exactly as we hoped! We enjoyed our stay at Canto del Mar. It is located close to many places we like to visit.

You definitely need a 4x4 car to get up the driveway.

We enjoyed our daily chats with the gatekeeper.

Would certainly go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTravele...
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Canto del Mar #19 the week before Christmas. I have to say, the pictures don't really even do justice to how cute this place is. The views were spectacular. The unit does not have a dip pool, but to be honest I'm glad it didn't so we weren't tempted to stay in all the time. Instead we got out and experienced everything the area had to offer and it was fabulous. And we walked to the waterfall which was very cool. The unit itself was nice and had two bedrooms with queen bed and bathroom which was perfect for two couples. It was the nicest of the places we stayed while in Costa Rica for sure.
My best bit of advice is don't be shy about letting Dave and his assistant handle booking activities and a rental car for you should you need one. They were great about it and hooked us up with some fabulous activities. We ended up renting a car on our own and I wish we hadn't. By the way, avoid Vamos Rental Car! They gave us a car with a messed up front in which caused dangerous wear to the tires that we didn't notice at first. It was easily handled by us taking it to a place and having the tires swapped around so we could drive back to San Jose, but nevertheless it was a time waster and dangerous. Considering we don't speak Spanish, it could have been a lot worse! But my point is, had we let Dave arrange for our rental car I feel confident that with his pull we would have had a new car immediately instead of us wasting our time trying to chase down help from a car rental place that pulled a vanishing act when we needed them!
I would definitely rent from Dave again, He is the best!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMF3448
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible View”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in Canto del Mar #28 for 4 nights this Spring. First let me say the views from this condo are amazing. It sits right up on top and you have full view of all of the dominicalito beach. We had a car - so the location is also very convenient to the beach, supermarket, bank, restaurants, and attractions. The layout is also very nice for a family of 4 with a separate bedroom for the kids and a washer/dryer. This condo has a pool which entertained the kids (8 and 10) for hours. We also loved the fact that we saw lots of wildlife right near us including - a sloth, spider monkeys, iguanas, and toucans. Dave and Deb West were great and all of their recommendations were spot on. I only have two drawbacks - first the property was on "river water" while we were there. Dave supplied us with bottled water - but be prepared it does take some getting used to (vs. using tap water). Second, this unit looked a little tired vs some of the others from the outside, but the furniture, kitchen, beds and linens were all perfectly fine. We enjoyed our visit very much and would like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing