We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is where you want to be.”
other traveller has booked this property
This could be you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This could be you!
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything Now this is what you call open air living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This could be you!
No, it's not photo-shopped, enhanced, zoomed or anything
Now this is what you call open air living
From the living room
Fully equipped kitchen
Breezes and views from everywhere
Casual kitchen dining
Dining for six, watch out for hummingbirds and butterflies passing through
Precious hardwood bar
Master suite #1 with exotic hardwood ceiling
Nicely appointed master suite #2
See and listen to the beauty around you from the showers
Custom carved limestone sink/countertop in bath #1
Custom coral countertop/shower in master bath #2
View towards the west
Hammock view
Tarzan the sloth hanging 8' over the deck
Fluffy and Stuffy sharing at FT
Sunrise from your bedroom or living room
Tropical sunsets from pool
Sunset reflection
You have arrived in paradise!
Tarzan the sloth
Fiery billed aracari
Deck for more viewing of whales, dolphins, water and wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
schadenfr...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is where you want to be.”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My wife and two teenage sons had the pleasure of a Costa Rican holiday over Christmas this winter, and we wanted to shout from the rooftops about the home we stayed in.

Flying Toucans is a gem, hidden behind an older hotel, at the peak of some foothills along the west coast of Costa Rica. It was so nice to easily locate the hotel entrance, and drive right through their parking lot to the secluded private drive into the lush, landscaped point where Flying Toucans laid waiting for us, overlooking the “whale’s tale” of Uvita: Bahia Ballena.

The layout of the property is just ideal: A wide-open ground-level floor plan, with doors really only for the powder room and the laundry room. Everything else designed to be part of the beautiful view, not at odds with it: Open plantation shutters, ceiling fans, outdoor furniture, comfortably appointed for being part of the natural environment, and showcasing the infinity pool and it’s lens to the beach and jutting foothills surrounding. We brought our Bluetooth speaker, and listened while reading, relaxing, eating, enjoying cocktails, playing games, and of course floating in the pool. Sounds that were foreign to an East Coast U.S. resident were met with curious looks, perked ears, and copious use of binoculars and cameras.
Waking up in the morning before 6:00AM was not at all difficult, when presented with sunrise over the bay is breathtaking, and can be enjoyed from the hammock on the patio outside the master bedroom suite.

Having a “bird”-feeder mounted over the small deck on the left provided ample opportunity to bring the wildlife to the doorstep, as we observed over a dozen species of birds come by, along with the occasional Monkey and Lemur.
The kitchen had everything we needed - EVERYTHING - for eating in, saving leftovers if we ate out, cleaning, washing, preparing, grilling and cooking. From a coffeemaker with coffee, cream & sweetener to matches and coal for the grill, it was all there. Full laundry facilities, and a powder room on the first floor. Separate locked entrance to the 2nd floor with really spacious bedrooms, glorious stone showers, oversized bathrooms, remote-controlled air-conditioners, a hammock on the expansive 2nd floor patio, and a closet with books and games, for those occasional afternoon rainshowers.

We were so happy there. We couldn’t think of a better gift to ourselves than to wallow in high-80s temperatures, listening, watching, and exploring the beauty of Central America. Highly recommended!

Pros:

- From the very beginning contact with John and Mary – our experience was extremely positive. John and Mary are responsive and accommodating. They know the area of Dominical well and they share relevant information easily. The document they shared with us once we booked Flying Toucans was invaluable because it not only gives detailed directions on how to find FT (in a land with no addresses), but they also share excellent information on traveling to Costa Rica and what to expect.

- The property – is AMAZING! Flying Toucans is a beautiful, secluded property. The house is very well maintained, and extremely well-stocked: kitchen tools to extra trash bags, it’s all there. You will also find all of the supplies you will need to live comfortably – toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, hand soap, bath soap. You’ll be able to focus on the beauty around you, not on boring details and shopping to stock the place during your stay.

- The pool simply enhances the view, reflecting even MORE of the abundant view into your smiling eyes, if you even have the capacity to take it all in. That it’s fresh, clear water lacking any nasty chlorine makes it lovely to be in all day long.
The wildlife is pure Costa Rica: Plan to stop during your days out to stock up on fresh fruit to chop up for the feeder, and sit back and watch the show!

- Sunrise and sunset are times where you want to be at the house. Plan your day around them, as the house provides perfect vantage points for both. You barely have to move to have your next visual postcards delivered on a platter.

- Daryl and Donna are just a phone call away, and they’ve even left a cell phone there for you to use when you need to contact them. Nothing like a local help line when you need it.

Cons:

- Leaving – so sad – wish we were still there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thanks you guys, we are delighted your 2016 family Christmas vacation was super. That's our goal for all of our guests. Please revisit Flying Toucans some day in the future for a recharge.
:) John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alc606
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This place is Pura Vida!”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I don't even know where to begin. The other reviews are spot on. If I could give Flying Toucans more than 5 stars, I would. Once you go, you will understand. This was our first week long house rental and let me just say the bar has been set very, very high. In fact, the reason we chose to go to Costa Rica was largely because of Flying Toucans.

We spent 10 nights at Flying Toucans to celebrate our five year anniversary at the end of November to the beginning of December. We knew this was the shoulder season (wet to dry season) and it was unseasonably rainy for that time of year. Even in the rain, the property is beautiful and the animals still come. (There was also a closet with some rainy day activities - just one example of how the owners have thought of everything but more on that later). The benefit of the shoulder season was less crowds and more time to get to know the locals.

First, the property is stunning! It is all about that view. The pictures were amazing but don't do it justice. When we first saw it, it took our breath away and dissolved all stress almost immediately. (I seriously probably photographed the place almost 1000 times). You get sunrise and sunset views and a beautiful breeze which makes sitting outside very comfortable. We couldn't tear ourselves away from the house and didn't end up doing the excursions we thought we'd do. The privacy is great and you can't see another house. Of course, it is tropical and there are some bugs but overall, like the other reviews, there were less insects than we expected (and this was a selling point for me). Most of the nights, bug spray and the fans with strategic lighting were enough to keep the outdoor living room comfortable.

The inside of the house was also just as nice and well thought out. The house was spotless and is maintained very well (this isn't just "some rental property" but is taken care of as if the owners lived there full time). After lots of traveling, we notice the little things and everything was perfect. The kitchen is well stocked with almost anything you need to cook in which we did several nights. You don't need to pack much with the washer and dryer in the house which work very well. There are two nice sized bedrooms upstairs. The AC in the bedrooms was very nice and worked very well. We also found that it was fairly comfortable even in the afternoons with the fan. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the linens were nice and soft. There are also no typical "hotel towels" (you know the ones that feel like sandpaper and barely cover a child or actually dry you) - plenty of soft large towels. Loved the open door and/or window in the shower too! The design also lets you wake up to the sunrise (although most of the time we were up by 5:15 to go watch downstairs).

We also saw an abundance of wildlife at the house - including the white-faced monkeys, toucans, aracaris and several other birds, a coati and the sloth even made a brief appearance. Be sure to pick up papaya and bananas for the bird feeder - the Toucans love it! Get your camera/binoculars and sit back and watch!

However, it is not just a great property but you are working with great people. The owners (John and Mary) are very friendly and also responsive. Since this was our first house rental, I spoke at length with John before booking and had many questions. Their love and care of their house and the area shows. Their property managers (Daryl and Donna) are fantastic. They are close and available, but not on-site and respect your privacy which was very important to us. Daryl is just a salt of the earth kind of guy. He is very knowledgeable, seems to know everyone and has excellent recommendations. I strongly recommend that guests take advantage of his wealth of knowledge while there. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure our anniversary stay was perfect.

We also found that the other guest's comments were helpful so here is our two cents. First, download a map of Costa Rica area offline to use in Google maps (this makes it work without wifi or data; it isn't foolproof but helped us navigate the area 90% of the time which you will appreciate this once you realize there aren't really addresses down there but rather it is "500 meters from the BCR (the bank)"). We loved the Baker Bean and had most breakfasts there. It was a nice change from the typical rice/beans. We also enjoyed lunch (pizza) and dinner (with the caveat of avoid the glass of the house white wine). We had a huge and tasty seafood platter at Lagosta Feliz. We also enjoyed dinner at Sabor Espanol which also had one of the better but still reasonable wine selections in the area (although somewhat hard to find (see Google tip) and on a bumpy road). We'd pass on breakfast at Sibu (empanadas had a lot of fillers instead of meat; less personable service) and dinner at Azul (overpriced and under delivered) (see Tripadvisor for more detailed reviews to come). We didn't make it more down to Ojochal more for dinner but there are a few other restaurants down there. Also be sure to hit the fruit stand near the house and the local farmers markets. While there are grocery stores nearby to get staples, it is best to get them more locally (ask Daryl for details). When you buy local, it is pretty cheap, but they get you on the "gringo" items. While you wouldn't need a 4x4 to get to the house, I highly recommend getting a 4x4 SUV - it is needed to explore some areas and we found it helpful when driving in the rain particularly since driving in CR is an adventure in its own right.

The question isn't "if" we will be back, but when. I cannot recommend Flying Toucans enough (and I'd say I'm not an easy critic). Seriously.... stop looking at other places and contact them before it is booked! Pura vida!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thanks Ashley and Sean. We enjoyed working with you to make your anniversary special. Come back soon!
J+M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowmanlu...
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of Privacy and an Outstanding View!”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you're looking for privacy and abundant wildlife, look no further! The view here is second to none and you will not need to visit any other wildlife sanctuary or park. Lots of privacy but still close to lots of activities and great restaurants!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Having to go outside the bedroom to reach the kitchen.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Thanks Jim and Becky for spending your first anniversary with us. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself so much. Take care, John and Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moncoer
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Luxury retreat in the jungle”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here as two couples for a week. The house is truly unique and beautiful. The infinity pool is a visual centrepiece to the spectacular view of the whales tail. The gardens and grounds are well maintained We appreciated the wildlife including monkeys, toucans , a sloth , and many other birds. Insects not a real issue and nocturnal geckos were unobtrusive. Fantastic restaurants within easy reach. The property manager is easily accessible if needed and the owner follows up with a phone call if any concerns are expressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pools, views, greenery
Liked least: Unfortunately truck noise from nearby coastal highway is quite noticeable , especially at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thank you, since you are in our home, you are our guests so we want to treat you as we would want to be treated. Your satisfaction makes us very happy. Come back down from Canada and stay with us again next winter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacashal
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Photos and Description of this property are UNDERSTATED!”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

All that needs to be said about Flying Toucans is you will never want to leave. There is much to do and see in Costa Rica, from beautiful beaches, to tropical jungles and waterfalls and, of course, diverse and fascinating wildlife. But, let me assure you, it will be very hard to pull yourself away from John and Mary Reilly's spectacular home. My wife and I have done a fair amount of traveling from Europe to the Caribbean and many beautiful places in the U.S., but no place we have ever been made us feel the way we did when we were at F.T. for a week. The beauty of the property, the attention to detail in the construction of the home, the wildlife that you share the property with during your stay, the quiet and peacefulness that envelops you, morning, noon and night... there are no words that are adequate. Put some pineapple or banana out in the feeder and before long you will be entertained by a tribe of white-faced monkeys, or dazzled by the sheer beauty of Toucans in the trees surrounding the property.
The infinity pool looks amazing in the pictures, but it is beyond description when you are in it, listening to the wildlife sounds and looking out over the jungle and ocean, or just mesmerized by the silence and sheer gloriousness of your surroundings. The closes thing to heaven on earth we have ever seen! I could go on, but it has all been said in other reviews... Just, GO; I guarantee you will love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to single one thing out.. I would say sitting in the pool and tuning out everything but your immediate surroundings.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Wow Jan and Carol, so happy for you guys. Thanks for being part of our Flying Toucans' family. Come again soon!
J&M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing