We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 315
USD 247
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 358/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 197
USD 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

GreenTree Inn Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
USD 117
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Inn of Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
USD 195
USD 180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort(Sedona)(Great Value!)
USD 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arabella Hotel Sedona(Sedona)(Great Value!)
USD 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 500
USD 484
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveller rating
787
721
215
109
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
787
721
215
109
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharesunset suitesales pitchmesa suitetimeshare presentationpools and hot tubsfull kitchenred rocksone bedroom unitwasher and dryeradult poolconcierge deskmid week cleaningfree giftliving roomhigh pressurewest side
Filter
Updating list...
1,490 - 1,495 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

If a visit to Sedona Summit is good, then a second visit has to be twice as nice! To celebrate my 50th birthday, my wife and I decided to head back to Red Rock Country and the Sedona Summit. Our return visit to Sedona was in the opposite season of our last visit, this time going February 28th through March 5th.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom Mesa Suite, and were pleased with our room. Granite countertops in the kitchen and bathroom, up to date and well functioning appliances, and for the most part very clean - just a rather big cobweb spoils a top rating in cleanliness. The service was as excellent as always, and there was not a lot of high pressure to take the timeshare presentation. It was offered, more than once, but never to the point where it became overbearing.

We traveled all over the last time we visited, so this time we were kind of bums! We did take in the Oak Creek Brewery (GREAT PORTER), and took a nice hike in Red Rock State Park which has a stellar trail system with some very easy hikes for young and old. We also took in a couple of Arizona Sundogs - Rapid City Rush hockey games in Prescott Valley an hour away and cheered our Rush on to a couple of wins (that was the REAL birthday present!).

The majority of the time was spent relaxing at the Summit, enjoying cool but sunny mornings having coffee on the deck. Although we we right in the middle of the complex and right near the street, we still had plenty of peace, quiet, and privacy. We were able to watch a couple of movies as well, and the new flat screen TV's enhanced the viewing.

When it got warm enough on the last day (isn't it always the last day?) we were able to enjoy one of their pools that are strategically placed around the grounds, enough so to get a little TOO much sun. I know, it's called sunscreen and yes, I will look into it.

The kitchen has just about every utensil and dinnerware that you would need to get by, and the Cuisinart small appliances are good quality and perform well. There are barbecues all over, and we were able to grill twice, both times without having to wait for an open grill.

The views are absolutely wonderful. We didn't have a Sunset Suite like last time, but it was still very nice. We walked almost every day, and the vistas seen each day made the trip memorable. We will return for a third time, and a fourth,,, , but every subsequent visit we will reserve a Sunset Suite. Ask for building 39, 40, or 41 with the Sunset View and you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: Sunset suite - building 39, 40, or 41
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPena, General Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your special celebration with us here at the Sedona Summit.
The one bedroom Mesa suites are wonderful. I am so glad that you reserved what you wanted and enjoyed your stay with us. I absolutely love your pictures. They are very refreshing just watching them online.

Thank you for mentioning the room amenities and that of the resort as well. We work really hard to make sure that our guest experience is the best in town. I am glad to hear we did this and that shows that we are moving in the right direction. We will keep focusing on service and ensure all who stay with us have a great experience.

Thank you for mentioning “Ask for building 39, 40, or 41 with the Sunset View and you WILL NOT be disappointed”. In order to be in this section you must request a Sunset unit. Sunset units go very fast, Sunset units with views go even faster with guests and owners who reserve them. The name “Sunset” of the phase is not reflective of the view since this phase is in the forest with a forest view with partials of the red rocks.

I appreciate you sharing your review with all of us here on Trip advisor. We thank you for your business and look forward to you return.

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
General Manager
Sedona Summit

Michael.Pena@Diamondresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The good - beautiful grounds and location. Some rooms face out into the open park near trails of all sorts, you could just walk to bike out! More than one pool and hottub, very large resort. Very nice kitchens in the suites, fully stocked with all you would need to cook.

I was extremely happy that I requested upon check in no time share phone calls and did not recieve any! We were there on a timeshare so had no interest.

The front desk was very helpful with highway conditions and other advice to the area. We were there during a freak desert snowstorm, and they were very p to date and helpful on highway closures and conditions.

The bad - We had 3 people and had a room with one bed and a sofa bed. The bed was great, but the pull out sofa bed was simply terrible! such an old, thin cheap matress you could feel all the bars, and it was "bowl" shaped. Very dissapointing, whoever slept in it was sore in the morning. We took turns to make it fair.

As it is a timeshare, they do not clean the rooms daily like a regular hotel. but when I did request a freshen up with new towles etc a few days in it took 2 DAYS and 3 phone calls from me to get this done. ALso, because they don't come daily, you ahve to get more coffee when you pass the lobby, or call to have some brought.

They describe their "studio" rooms as having 2 people sleep privately, but that is inaccurate. The bed is 2 feet from the sofabed. There is no laundry in the studio suites (1 bedrooms do!) but the communal laundry room is free of charge.

I called 3 hours prior to our late arrival to tell them, but when we arrived our room had still been given away due to their own overbooking. We got a nicer room due to the mistake, but still could not properly settle in or unpack for the week as we had to move rooms the next day. They did move everything for us the next day but it was a hassle. To compensate, they gave us a $50 gift cert. to their sister hotel restaurant which was good food as it ends up (Steaks and sticks).

Some of the younger front desk staff were less than knowledgable, but usually asked someone else if they didn't know. Usually.

***
If activities such as those offered at large resorts interest you, this is very much a new age themed resort, with all activities revolving around the local vortex energy, auro finding etc. culture.

I cannot comment on price, as we stayed as a RCI timeshare trade. We stayed for a week.

Room Tip: the one bedrooms are great - in suite laundry!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westcoast74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPena, General Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review here on trip advisor.

We appreciate the review in regards to the high level of service that you received during your stay.
Our sofa beds here at the resort usually get great reviews. I will check to see what went wrong with your sofa bed and get that corrected.

It is true that we had a freak snow storm which caused a few units to go down. If a room is not perfect we do not use it and we would rather deal with an over booking. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed Steaks and Sticks.

I thank you very much for selecting the Sedona Summit for your RCI exchange and hope to have you back soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
General Manager
Sedona Summit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We just returned from a one week stay at the Sedona Summit. We stayed in a studio condo, building 3, second floor.

Many of the reviews on here complain about not having a good view despite consumer requests ahead of time. Let's just get this out of the way: did we have a stellar view? No. Did we care? No. The reality is that this resort - nor most resorts for that matter - consist of all units having a spectacular view; it's just not realistic. The beauty of Sedona Summit is that while we we didn't necessarily have an instantaneous beautiful view from our condo, all it took was about three steps outside of our building and we were surrounded by the natural beauty of Sedona. From our point of view, we didn't spend a tremendous amount of time in our room anyway and therefore we were perfectly content taking in the natural beauty outdoors - from the hot tub, ventures into town, hiking, etc. I wouldn't consider our lack of a view a disadvantage whatsoever.

Regarding the room: the studio size was fine for the two of us. It included a small kitchenette (full size refrigerator, dish washer, microwave, and two burner stove). The kitchen was replete with nice Cuisinart appliances (coffee maker, toaster, can opener, and blender), dishes, wine glasses, and all utensils. It suited our desire to dine in just fine. The bed was quite comfortable and the linens were nice. The overall decor of the room was modern, and we found it welcoming at the end of our long days spent hiking and exploring the area. The bathroom was spacious. No tub but the shower was quite large. In terms of storage space, there was a lot of storage in the bathroom, three built in dresser drawers in the main living area, a deep cubby-type storage above the television, and a spacious closet. Plenty of space for our stuff. The alarm clock radio in the room also had an iPod docking station which was great! There was a safe in the closet - which was free! We were happy to see this as many resorts charge for use of a safe. If you are traveling with more than two people, you might want to upgrade to a one-bedroom (or larger) but for us, the studio more than met our needs.

Regarding services: Check in was smooth and easy, as was check out. Front desk staff were pleasant and quick. Ana at the Concierge desk was super sweet and helpful in answering all of our questions and facilitating our jeep tour booking. We checked out the Activities Center and found that they have a free library/book sharing program, rent DVD's ($3), and will sell you a game card for $1 that allows you to check out several board games during your stay. We took advantage of this one day when snowed in, and it was great! You can check out grilling utensils from the front desk, free of charge. We took advantage of that and grilled steaks one night on the large grill just behind our building. There are free laundry facilities on-site in the exercise/activities building; detergent is available for 75cents in a vending machine. Again - it's rare that we find free laundry on-site and it was so nice to do a couple of loads before our return home!

Regarding the rest of facilities: We used the exercise room almost daily and found it absolutely sufficient for our needs. It has two treadmills, two cross-trainers and a variety of weight training machines and dumbbells. The machines were sturdy and of good quality. We prefer to work out early; it was never busy in there when we went. There are several pools and hot tubs throughout the property. They were all in good working order and finding a chaise pool side was never a problem. Psst - the hot tub between buildings 24 and 25 gives a great view of the red rocks! All of the buildings and the grounds were clean and well-kept.

Location: Far west end of Sedona - about 5-10 minute drive into town. We didn't mind this one bit. It was nice to be away from the uber touristy areas and was an easy breezy drive to get to wherever we wanted to go.

Lack of internet: Yup, it's true. No free wi-fi at this resort but you can purchase it. I agree with many other reviewers that this seems a bit behind the times in the hospitality industry however, I wouldn't mar Sedona Summit because of it. We were there to enjoy the beauty of Sedona, not surf the net. There are two public computers in the main building with internet access that were sufficient for us the few times we needed to check an address, look at a restaurant menu, or send a quick e-mail. Otherwise, McDonald's and Starbucks in town offer free wi-fi.

Sales pitch: I am surprised to see so many people complain about this - it is voluntary, folks. If you don't want to participate, you don't have to. Concierge asked if we were willing/interested in attending a presentation and we agreed. In terms of the presentation itself, was it a bit high pressured at times? Sure. But we never felt disrespected, bullied, etc. The "vacation counselors" (as they call themselves here) are simply doing their jobs. When we ultimately declined to purchase, they accepted our final answer and treated us with respect. My one and only complaint about it was that it ran longer than promised; we were told it would be 90 minutes but it went beyond that and our vacation counselor made several references to being "respectful of our time" and making innuendos that she felt hurried given our time constraint (we had a jeep tour to get to) when in fact we scheduled our jeep tour 2 hours after the start of the timeshare pitch so we respectfully allotted the 90 minutes requested of us. It just seemed like she wanted us to feel like she was doing us a favor when in fact we held up our end of the deal - we willingly agreed to attend a 90 minute presentation and we did that, and then some. But overall, it really wasn't a big deal and we made it to our jeep tour on time.

Activities: they offer a variety of resort-sponsored activities. We didn't participate in any of them only because we had full days of hiking, exploring, etc. and were pretty beat by the time we got back to the resort, but we heard from several other folks that the activities were pretty decent.

A little aside (nothing to do with the resort itself) - it snowed for two days during our stay. It was absolutely gorgeous on the red rocks! Just had to attach a picture to share!

All in all, we found Sedona Summit to be a very nice resort. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JNRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPena, General Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay with all of us here on trip advisor.

The portion on views that you mentioned is greatly appreciated and is accurate. I appreciate the tips you shared on the views. Really the views anywhere in Sedona are a treat. View rooms are limited at the Summit and everyone who checks in wants one.

The studios are small at our resort but they are kept in very good condition with all the amenities. I really am happy to read that you enjoyed the room and the level of service that you received while you were here at the Sedona Summit.

Overall, thank you for the “Great Stay” review and your excellent recommendation. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
General Manager
Sedona Summit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I have traveled the world and have stayed at several time-shares and hotels but Sedona Summit was wonderful. We had a huge two bedroom condo with everything in the kitchen you could think of and the beds were really comfortable. We had the most beautiful views off our huge patio. We were surprised with a snow storm so we missed our baseball game down in Phoenix, but we had such a lovely time going into town and going thru all the shops. The staff could not have been more pleasant - corresponded with Michael Pena, the general manager before coming and he was more than considerate and helpful. We were not bothered by the timeshare people at all, we just said "no, thank you" and that was it - come on people, they are just trying to do their job! I would definitely - did I say definitely, recommend Sedona Summit to anyone and I already have to several friends since returning just last night. Can't wait to return and experience the trip all over....

Room Tip: Just call the resort ahead and see if they can help you before you arrive.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPena, General Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

We really appreciate the excellent review here on trip advisor.

I am happy to read that you had a very positive memorable vacation with us at the Sedona Summit. For some reason we usually get one last snow storm right before spring time arrives. It was sad to hear that you missed your baseball game but, I am sure you made up for it while you were with us at the Summit.

Your tip to travelers is golden: “Just call the resort ahead and see if they can help you before you arrive.”

Thank you for selecting the Sedona Summit for your vacation accommodations. You can count on us to deliver a great vacation experience each and every time you stay with us. This is our goal for all who walk through our doors and stay with us.

I thank you for your business and we look forward to your quick return.

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
General Manager
Sedona Summit
Michael.Pena@Diamondresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The room you get looks nothin like the pics. They bug you about timeshare stuff even after you politely decline. Then they call your room buggin you About timeshare stuff. I've stayed in better places without the hassle.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Athertons08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPena, General Manager at Sedona Summit Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing with us.

The pictures on the internet are varied. Depending on which website location you are on will reflect what we have to offer.

We have 3 room types. Standard, Mesa and Sunset are the 3 room types we have. Majority of the websites feature Sunset units with their pictures. Sunset units are the highest rate on the selections.

Good way to know what you have before you arrive is to know what type of room you have. Then confirm and request. Follow this and your expectations will be set.

We are a vacation ownership property and love to share with all about Diamond Resort International. You are compensated and it may be worth your time. Vacation Ownership properties do this amongst the big brands. You just have to decide and let them know. If you do not give them a solid answer they will check in with you periodically.

I thank you for your comments and I wish you all the best on your future vacation travels.

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Pena
General Manager
Sedona Summit
Michael.Pena@Diamondresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews