We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Getaway 4/27 to 5/2 - Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just got home last night from a 5-night stay at the 'The Ridge'. My wife is a flight attendant and I'm a hobbyist travel agent, so we use our benefits to book short getaways like this at the last minute.

Location: The resort is located on the most southern edge of Sedona in the Oak Creek Village area. This is about 8 miles from "uptown" Sedona. Neither of us was familiar with the Sedona area prior to this trip, so as we drove south through Sedona we started to become concerned that we are were going to be "so far" from everything. This really didn't turn out to be the case. In fact, we ended up appreciating the idea of being away from the "touristy" area. While there are some shops and eateries within a 10-15 minute walk, you will have to drive most anywhere you want to go. For your first hike you're less than 2 miles to the Bell Rock Pathway and Courthouse Butte trail head parking area. And with the use of traffic circles instead of stop signs/lights all along the Hwy 179 corridor, traffic was never an issue.

Accommodations: We were in #1006, a 2nd floor, one bedroom unit with the balcony overlooking the pool area, red rock view to the left, mesa view directly in front, and valley view to the left. The unit was quite spacious with over-sized living/dining areas and bathroom. The furnishings were well appointed throughout the unit. We found the sofa and chair a tad uncomfortable due to the high back and very upright seating position. The bedroom was hotel size with a comfortable king, night stand on either side of the bed, six drawer dresser, and small walk-in closet. The kitchen was rather small and oddly shaped but served it's purpose well.

Parking: This probably the one issue that keeps me from giving 'The Ridge' a rating of 5. The circular parking drive in front of the buildings were our unit was located was about a dozen parking spaces short of having just one space per unit. If you weren't in for the evening by 6PM we were having to search for someplace to park. We counted ourselves lucky if we were able to find a spot across the street... a couple hundred yards away.

Minor Issues: The rude gentleman who found it necessary to play his Indian flute at sunrise, on his balcony directly next to ours. The coffee maker shut off immediately upon completion of the brewing cycle. The curtain rod hanger in the bathroom was pulling loose from the wall.

Check In/Out: Other than the attempt to rope us into "tour" at check-in, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They provided an assortment of discount cards to area restaurants, maps of the area, and would have gladly made reservations for any activity we would have liked them to make.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TD7254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 547 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

The location is on the south end of Sedona, but it's within walking distance to several shops and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room had a great view of the golf course and was quiet, cool, and well equipped for relaxation. We were a short walk to the pool and had a great time!

Room Tip: There are two pools onsite. Find a room near one of them to make your commute easier!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DukeFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort isn’t actually in Sedona but a few short miles away. This resort isn’t particularly large; as I’m told, part of it is residential however it’s very beautiful with an amazing view of the red rocks. The landscape and the decor are nice. I’m also told there are some units that still needs to be updated however; I was extremely happy my unit; 1305; was very updated. It was nice size studio, with a very comfortable bed, flat screen television, dvd player, an iHome Audio alarm clock docking station, a new pull out sofa, a modern updated bathroom, dishwasher and a small table that sits off from the kitchen area. The location is great because you are not far from many things in Sedona but I will warn you there are also light restrictions in Sedona; so there are no street lights and it is VERY dark at night. I live in the New York Tri State area where the city never sleeps so I will say; driving to the resort from Phoenix, 2 hours, was pretty interesting! I had no problems from the time of check-in, which was ~ 9pm to the concierge. At the completion of check in, most of the restaurants were closing or closed but the concierge tried feverishly to help get us something to eat. We would dear not, to attempt to drive those dark streets looking for food. Fortunately, Domino’s is good from just about anywhere, they delivered. There is Wi-Fi access in the rooms however it comes with a cost but I was able to find a free signal, not sure from where, that allowed me to check my yahoo account and ESPN. There are two computers to use at the guest service building that has internet and printing capability; up to 20 minutes per guest. There is a small 24 hour fitness center on-site in addition to a small activities room that provides free books and games however the DVD rental cost is 2.15/day. The guest can also use the Bar-B-Q Grills on site. There are two swimming pools; one larger than the other. The hot tube is not conveniently located next to the larger swimming pool which I thought was extremely odd. You literally have to walk across a street and down many steps, make a few turns and there it’s hiding. Weird! Outside of the resort being beautiful and situated in a great location, there really isn’t much to do which makes my review very tough. I would definitely return for comfort, peace & quiet and maybe a little golf but unless there is an overhaul in activities, I do not plan on doing anything else there. I reluctantly rate this resort a 3 ½ Star but if they provide more activities, I can see it being a 4 1/2 - 5 star.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have not been updated. A few days before check in, ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernNJFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay in Sedona, which I wish had been longer, however we were on our way to GCNP. The Ridge on Sedona is perfectly situated among the Red Rocks at the southern tip of Sedona in the community of Oak Creek. The accommodations were excellent for our needs (queen bed/sofa bed/mini-kitchen more than adequate/giant bathroom), the check-in was a breeze (thanks Tyler for your assistance). All in all this was a great stay.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank trooopn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed a week in Sedona ( well... Oak Creek) and we were busy every day with hiking, bird watching, shopping and just plain relaxing. The unit and resort were clean and very well kept up. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint ( if you could call it that) is that you have to pay AT&T $7 a day for in room wifi. In this day and age that is unacceptable

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lonelobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
10.9 km away
Sedona Real Inn and Suites
1.6 km away
Bell Rock Inn
Bell Rock Inn
#31 of 48 in Sedona
559 reviews
11.0 km away
Southwest Inn at Sedona
Southwest Inn at Sedona
#28 of 48 in Sedona
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Wildflower Inn at BellRock
10.7 km away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
10.5 km away
Sedona Summit Resort
Sedona Summit Resort
#22 of 48 in Sedona
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Sedona

Been to Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort

Address: 55 Sun Ridge Cir, Sedona, AZ 86351-7389
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#15 Family Hotel in Sedona
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: $134 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Digest gives a big thumbs up on this spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ridge on Sedona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridge On Sedona Golf Hotel Sedona
Ridge On Sedona Hotel
Ridge On Sedona Resort
Ridge Sedona Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing