We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect vibe of mellow and party.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Perfect vibe of mellow and party.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have stayed at Hotel Valley Ho for five years running every March. It is the best destination in Scottsdale hands down. From the excellent food and cocktails at the pool to the amazing burgers at Zuzu, you cannot go wrong here. Excellent gym and spa to boot! You will not be disappointed. I plan to return next year with a newborn, as kids are a great part of the atmosphere here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! We're glad to see you return year after year, and look forward to welcoming a new member of the family for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    403
    82
    34
    27
See reviews for
177
480
90
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel looks like it was built in the 1950s to look futuristic. It's definitely a fun place to stay. Fun lobby bar and pool to hang out at, and good eats. I like the way my room was setup, each room has its own balcony with tables chairs and sun chair. Big walkin shower.

It didn't seem like a kid friendly hotel, more adults on vacation and business travelers. Great location, about a block from the art galleries in Old Town Scottsdale.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicagodave15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
I'm pleased to hear you liked the style of the hotel, as well as our bar and pool. Each room does come with a private patio or balcony. It's a must for enjoying the Arizona sunshine! We hope to see you again. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed 4 nts having made last minute change to plans to take advantage of a 4th nite free offer. Didn't know quite what to expect was was totally pleased and wowed by decor, service, room and location. "Retro" decor was tasteful and of high quality in room and throughout hotel. Pool was consistantly comfortable and service was stellar.
Common areas were beautiful. Having spent the previous 4 nts in a place that didn't quite meet my expectations (Scotsdale Resort and Athletic Club) Valley Ho really took our vacation to new level a totally pleasant surprise.
Walked to Old Town, Fashion Mall and Ball Park. Close to Camelback and destinations away from Old Town - Great location. Do not fall for the $14/day valet. Parking is not the issue I have seen alluded to in other reviews. Had no problem at all. Honestly cannot think of anything we didn't like of had a problem with.
Bottom line - Would definately stay here again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bldg 5 overlooking a coutyard and small fountain. Have nothing to compare to but was h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJK810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed the style of the hotel! I also love mid-century modern design. It sounds like you took good advantage of our downtown location as well. Self parking here is definitely not difficult, with two lots very close to guest rooms. The building you were in was built in 1958, two years after the hotel first opened. The rooms in The Tower opened in 2008 and will have a different (though still retro) feel. They also have great views of either Downtown Scottsdale or Camelback Mountain. It might be fun for you to stay there for a different experience next time. We hope to see you soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stunning would be my word to describe the historical transcendence of Hotel Valley Ho. I had heard nothing but stellar feedback about Hotel Valley Ho since it reopened, yet I remained skeptical mainly due to the hotel's location on Indian School Road. Little did I know how ignorant my skepticism was. First, the location is perfect. The hotel is-for all intents & purposes-IN Old Town Scottsdale. Straight shot down Main Street to the "heart" of Old Town shops, etc, then a quick 5 blocks or so up to Scottsdale Fashion Square, the shopping mecca of the Southwest.

Hotel Valley Ho is a Preferred Hotels & Resorts property, a Stash Hotel Rewards property and a Historic Hotels of America property.

On first approach, the property is aesthetically stunning. Perfectly manicured lawns line the median-separated drive, and the strategic lemon trees planted around the valet porte-cochere grace you with citrus-tinged air as soon as you get out of the car. The valet service was excellent. Very unassuming and prompt. I was provided with water every time I took the car out. Bell service was just as prompt both at arrival and check-in.

The lobby of Hotel Valley Ho is straight out of a Mad Men fantasy getaway, with marble floors, complimentary daily New York Times and Arizona Republic, art-deco fireplace, and all-glass enclosure. The Front Desk, although small (with only two attendants) was prompt, and quickly got us to our room, despite arriving two hours before the hotel's check in time of 4 PM.

Oh the room... we booked a Tower Suite King, which is the 3rd or 4th tier up from a basic room. Never have I been so impressed with a hotel room. For once I didn't book through American Express or Stash Hotel Rewards. Rob at the Front Desk offered us a discount because we booked 3 nights. Sold! The Tower Suite King rooms are incredibly well-designed. Full kitchen with all cook- and serve-ware included. Sub-zero fridge & freezer, although the ice drawer never did work. BUT the fridge was stocked with typical mini-bar accoutrements, with plenty of space for your own things. The suite was 1,000 square feet, with the kitchen, desk area, living area, balcony, bedroom, and spacious bathroom. The coffee table books in the room were VERY tasteful, with selections from two of my favorites, Assouline and Te Neues. Blinds (which covered the entirety of the sliding glass doors out to the balcony) were electric AND remote controlled. What i LOVED was that there was a ceiling fan. There were 3 guests, and I was on a rollaway in the living area, so the ceiling fan, combined with the air conditioning, was wonderful because I am a total polar bear and I like it VERY cold outside my sheets.

The only thing I would've liked to see in the room that I didn't would be an iPhone-compatible sound system from the likes of Bose, iHome, etc. That aside, the TV did have an iPod dock with inputs for component and HDMI as well. And the 37-inch TV actually got a High-definition signal. Finally! Hotels are waking up about HD.

The bathroom was extremely spacious and contemporary. Separate his and hers raised sinks were complimented by a ledge on which to put your toothbrush, etc, along with a mirror stand with various shelves for toiletry bags. The toilet was closed off, as was the in-suite Bosch washer and dryer. Valley Ho even provides you with detergent and fabric softener. And of course a large rainforest shower and walk-in closet.

Okay, I'll admit, I don't get the whole "Icelandic Moonflower" thing with their in-room and spa amenities. Valley Ho has the first amenities that I actually didn't want to bring home because I didn't like the scent. The shampoo & conditioner did leave my hair feeling nice though. Still, I think they could've chosen something more appealing and fragrant. That being said, loved the room!

The main feature of our stay was the gorgeous pool area. The VH pool is relaxing, contemporary, and it reminded me how to love the sun again. The OH Pool Bar served a variety of delectable pool bites & sips. The first day I ordered a chicken quesadilla, but it was rather small so I ordered a chicken pesto panini after it. Both were delicious. The next day I had a strawberry smoothie and chips & guacamole. The Smoothie was excellent! No Island Oasis High-Fructose diabetes-syrup here. Strawberry yogurt, and actual fruit. What a concept...and the MUSIC by the pool... no dubstep nor hip hop. A true godsend, especially for a hotel with an increasingly-younger clientele. It was a nice contemporary mix of 80s, 90s, and now, commercial free so I would say it was like Pandora for business or something. GREAT pool!

We ate at Zuzu café the first night because we wanted to stay on property. We waited a few extra minutes on a hostess for outdoor seating, but it was worth it. The temperature was perfect and the outstanding floral displays lining all the walkways out by the pool continued the fragrant journey throughout the property. I ordered the Beef Shortrib. Completely delicious. A tad smaller than I was hoping, but very tasty nonetheless. I had chocolate silk pie to finish, and it was good, but the crust was too hard, meaning it had been in the pie fridge for a few days. But the service was good and the food was great. I'd have to recommend Zuzu.

Departure was seamless, a quick call to Guest Services had a bellman at our door in 5 minutes and our car waiting for us when we got down with the Bellman.

My complaints:
-Ice Maker not working
-Icelandic Moonflower amenities/spa products
-Little attention paid to Stash Hotel Rewards points
-Pool bar attendant could've been a tad more attentive. Although the water people were EXCELLENT! My glass was never empty...
-Zuzu chocolate silk pie crust was hard


All ^that^ aside, I wan't wait to go back to Hotel Valley Ho

Room Tip: Anything in the Tower, facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerhunt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
I'm glad you were finally able to come visit the hotel! I also love our Tower Suites; they have a nice view of Downtown Scottsdale on one side and Camelback Mountain on the other. I will be sure to have our engineering team take a look at the freezer to ensure it is working properly. Our Icelandic Moonflower amenities are quite popular; I'm sorry to hear you didn't like the scent but we understand that everyone has different preferences. I also love the short ribs at ZuZu. I'm sorry to hear the pie was not quite what you wanted; our restaurant staff is happy to address any issues to ensure you have a good experience! Thank you for your extensive review, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Unfortunately I only stayed one night at the Valley Ho but would loved to have stayed longer.....it is so much fun, stepping back in time but in a very comfortable and stylish way. The decor is very true to it's origins and updated for comfort.....beds you can sink into, spacious bathrooms, amazing gardens to enjoy and a funky pool in the middle of the former motel turned resort, incredibly well done. Make sure you give yourself time for breakfast if you are not from the US....yum, flavors and service are spot-on. Although the location is a bit tricky, itiswell with getting away from the chain hotels for a refreshing change and experience at the Valley Ho........thank you team for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeijingTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed the 1950s style of the hotel! We are located right at the west end of Downtown Scottsdale, so as soon as you start heading east you will see shops, restaurants, and art galleries. Thank you for your review. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
8.0 km away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
2.3 km away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
1.1 km away
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
8.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
17.0 km away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price range (per night): $235 - $996
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing