We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it because this is not to be missed!”

Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center
Ranked #2 of 172 things to do in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center is a non-profit rescue and rehabilitation facility specializing in wild mammals. Over 70% of the animals that come into our center are returned to the wild. For those that cannot be released, we offer a home for life in our sanctuary. We conduct guided tours of our sanctuary by appointment only. Reservations are required and can be made on our website under the Visit Us tab.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was a highlight of our trip. The tour lasted about 2 hours. All the volunteers were friendly and informative. We were lucky to have Robyn as our tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and shared interesting stories and facts. She answered all the questions. The best part of the tour was when we were in the mexican wolves section and they all started howling. It was a truly magical moment!

Thank Traci O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed your tour! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dirt road"
in 12 reviews
"peanut butter"
in 9 reviews
"animal lovers"
in 5 reviews
"bob cats"
in 5 reviews
"permanent residents"
in 4 reviews
"love animals"
in 4 reviews
"their lives"
in 6 reviews
"volunteer tour guide"
in 3 reviews
"small gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"rio verde"
in 3 reviews
"moonlight tour"
in 2 reviews
"gray wolves"
in 2 reviews
"private donations"
in 2 reviews
"animal rescue"
in 2 reviews
"this place is a hidden gem"
in 2 reviews
"wear closed toe shoes"
in 2 reviews
"tour lasts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Spend any time in the Valley and you'll see coyotes, maybe even a javelina or a bob cat. But a tour of the SWCC gets you up close to these and more: mountain lions, foxes, wolves, deer. bears... This is not a zoo; it's a non-profit animal rescue, rehab and release facility. But you'll get to see - and learn about - the animals native to our region in a way you can't anywhere else. Great for anyone new to the valley (or just visiting). It's rustic (no paved paths), so wear suitable shoes. And bring water (the tour lasts nearly 2 hours).

Thank BizTrekker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for the positive review! We hope to see you again on a future tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This sanctuary is a “must see” when visiting AZ. The tour was the perfect size, well informed ,volunteer guides! You really get up close and personal with these beautiful animals. They operate solely on donations and tours and have given these animals a wonderful place to recover from injury or live out the rest of their lives. I would highly recommend taking a few hours to enjoy this space and it’s inhabitants. We’ve lived in the valley for 25+ years and this was our first visit....we will be back!

Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We visited today and had a wonderful time. Our guide Robyn was fabulous providing humor education and tremendous background on the resident animals and all that the animals that they rehab. This is a wonderful facility and we highly recommend a visit. Highlights of the trip include Black bears in the pool, mountain lions, coyotes, wolves, porcupines and foxes in colors that I never knew existed. Kudos to all!

1  Thank JEA08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

I am so glad that you enjoyed the tour. And thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Just a ten minute drive from the city of Scottsdale we were walking among 10 ft cactus and easily traveled paths that were well marked . very nice way just to see it or take a longer walk if you are wearing the right walking shoes or boots . we were not so prepared but still walked for about an hour
an really enjoyed it. People there were friendly and helpful ,

















3  Thank X9045SGdenisem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

I am so glad that you enjoyed the tour. And thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing