We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful Tour...A Must Visit....Amazing Team

This Wildlife Center is absolutely amazing...clean, well run and very educational. The volunteer... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
E1313KLkarens
These People are saviors of all wild critters

This is a conservation center where animals that are... not the typical ones you see are rescued... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lorrainemO266OY
,
Nashville, Tennessee
Read all 180 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Scottsdale
from USD 346.56
More Info
from USD 222.02
More Info
from USD 300.00
More Info
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
158
20
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
20
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road peanut butter their lives animal lovers bob cats mountain lion permanent residents love animals amazing animals gray wolves volunteer tour guide small gift shop animals including private donations native environment animal rescue background stories
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Spend any time in the Valley and you'll see coyotes, maybe even a javelina or a bob cat. But a tour of the SWCC gets you up close to these and more: mountain lions, foxes, wolves, deer. bears... This is not a zoo; it's a non-profit animal rescue, rehab and release facility. But you'll get to see - and learn about - the animals native to our region in a way you can't anywhere else. Great for anyone new to the valley (or just visiting). It's rustic (no paved paths), so wear suitable shoes. And bring water (the tour lasts nearly 2 hours).

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BizTrekker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for the positive review! We hope to see you again on a future tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This sanctuary is a “must see” when visiting AZ. The tour was the perfect size, well informed ,volunteer guides! You really get up close and personal with these beautiful animals. They operate solely on donations and tours and have given these animals a wonderful place to recover from injury or live out the rest of their lives. I would highly recommend taking a few hours to enjoy this space and it’s inhabitants. We’ve lived in the valley for 25+ years and this was our first visit....we will be back!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We visited today and had a wonderful time. Our guide Robyn was fabulous providing humor education and tremendous background on the resident animals and all that the animals that they rehab. This is a wonderful facility and we highly recommend a visit. Highlights of the trip include Black bears in the pool, mountain lions, coyotes, wolves, porcupines and foxes in colors that I never knew existed. Kudos to all!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank JEA08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

I am so glad that you enjoyed the tour. And thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Just a ten minute drive from the city of Scottsdale we were walking among 10 ft cactus and easily traveled paths that were well marked . very nice way just to see it or take a longer walk if you are wearing the right walking shoes or boots . we were not so prepared but still walked for about an hour
an really enjoyed it. People there were friendly and helpful ,

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank X9045SGdenisem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

I am so glad that you enjoyed the tour. And thank you for the positive review. We hope to see you for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We did this small group tour with LoriAnn, and she did such a wonderful job. Explaining without making your eyes glaze over, or anyone in our group losing interest. This is not a zoo or a petting zoo. It is a sanctuary in the truest sense of the word. They accomplish there mission to help educate about the place of wild animals in our world, and how to respect the boundaries we should have in our shared environment. Yes there is an entry fee, but what a value for the money. Be aware that you reach here down a dirt road, but our rental made it easily.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank grandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Manager at Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

I am so glad that you enjoyed the tour. And thank you for the positive review. LoriAnn will be happy to hear that you enjoyed her tour! We hope to see you for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews