We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Villas
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Resort has it all!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We are owners and bought here 5 years ago while at the hotel and this is our first year back. The property does not disappoint. We stayed in a 1 bedroom premium which consists of stocked kitchen, breakfast bar, 6 table dining area, living area, balcony, large bedroom with 2 closets, very large bathroom with glass shower and jacuzzi tub, double sinks. Very clean, and nice transitional decor. We used the fireplace, as it was a bit chilly at first. The washer and dryer are always handy to lesson the luggage load. They added large grilling areas in between the buildings with seating. A nice addition if you like to cook in a few days/nights.
The villas pool is wonderful with splash fountains, large chess and checker games, ping pong, pool, etc. A slide is at the large pool with a volley ball net and baskeball hoop and there is an adult pool as well with a relaxing fountain. Good food at the pool, flags to summon the staff, full bar and restaurant with help yourself yougurt machine.

The exercise facility is very nice. 5 treadmills with TV's a few bikes, elipticals, and stepper, weights and machine too.

You also have access to the hotel pools with the adventure pool being enormous with a lazy river and larger slide. It is only a 8 minute walk over or they will shuttle you. We rented a cabana there for the day for $125 which included water and chips/salsa. The book up quickly, so you have to rent prior to that day. Both pools have activities for children, such as painting pottery and a water balloon race. Some have minimal charges, but plenty to do for the little ones.

The staff was helpful and efficient. Many restaurants in walking distance at Kierland Commons (closer to the hotel side). There is a theater across the street as well, the new high end ipic theaters, quite pricey, but my son loved the premium plus seating.

A great place for families to stay.

Room Tip: Most requested buildings are #5 and #3, both have golf course views and are close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for your recent return and very informative review of our property. We did have a couple chilly days early last week, but the weather is beautiful now. I'm very glad you found so much to do around the hotel. It's a great time to visit! Please come back soon and feel free to contact me if I can assist in any way.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    285
    84
    26
    13
See reviews for
631
537
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the Villas in early March on a 4-night promotional package. The incentives were generous, and we enjoyed our stay. All staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful, especially the concierge desk The location is convenient, within walking distance of Kierland Commons, a large and attractively arranged shopping/restaurant complex. The Westin Resort Hotel is an easy walk, too, where you have access to all of that facility's amenities in addition to those at the Villas. Be sure to take time to attend the bagpipes concert at sunset at the hotel. It was delightful. Also, the Villas are located an easy drive from Taliesin West, Frank Lloyd Wright's famous home and studio.

Our unit was the smaller one, and I would recommend that you request the premium unit if possible. There were just the two of us, and we had plenty of room in the smaller unit, but the only windows to the outside were in the bedroom, making the living room rather cave-like. There was a frosted glass window between the bathroom and the bedroom, and more frosted glass in the door between the bedroom and living room. I'm sure the intention was to let in some natural light, but it was inconvenient in the mornings when I got up early while my husband was still sleeping. If I turned on a light in either the bathroom or living room, it would shine into the bedroom and disturb my husband. The sliding doors to the covered porch were also in the bedroom, making it difficult to slip outside without making noise and shining daylight into the room. The premium unit we visited was set up with a much more convenient layout, with access to the porch from the living room, therefore providing windows for that room. The kitchen was bigger, the bathroom had double sinks, and there was a shutter to cover the frosted glass between the bedroom and bathroom. There was also a fireplace, a nice touch. Both units were nicely decorated and have a washer/dryer.

We had a lovely dinner at deseo, beautifully presented and efficiently served by wait staff that were knowledgeable and personable.

With our promotion, there was, of course, a time share presentation, but it was not a high-pressure sales job, and we were able to decline the offers. The only negative part of our experience was that we were told that it would take about an hour and a half, when it actually took two and a half to three hours. I imagine that you could get away in less time than that if you made your time constraints clear up front. You could schedule a tee time, or another activity, to establish the parameters of the presentation.

The golf course, pools, and resort grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyinMinnesnowta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. I'm especially happy you had such a good experience with our team members. I agree that the seeing the bagpiper play at sunset is something that shouldn't be missed!

I'm sorry you found some of the features of our deluxe unit to be a bit inconvenient. We don't hear that often, but the premium room sounds like a better fit for your family. I look forward to your return to Scottsdale.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I had a one bedroom premium unit. It was VERY large with a nice size balcony. The rooms have all been redone in the last 12 months. It was warm enough when we were there that we could use the pool. The guests at the Villas have access to the facilities of the hotel. This is great as the hotel has a nice lazy river, yet having a private adults pool at the Villas was appreciated. They also have a business room with three computers that you can use for an hour at a time with no charge. The internet in the room worked well with fast downloads. Food and service at the pool was excellent and I thought reasonably priced for this quality of resort.

Downside - I have stayed in several Westin Villas and I still have problems with the combined Microwave / funky oven. I would much prefer a regular oven. There is also a lock on the AC which prevents you from lowering the temperature below 68 degrees. While I can appreciate this from an energy standpoint it did seem to get warm at night even without covers. We ended up opening the window to cool it down in the evening. This could be a problem in the summer months.

It is very easy to walk to the Safeway Grocery Store and also to the Kierland Commons shopping area.

We primarily went this trip for golf. We found the location to be handy to all of the courses we wanted to play since some were North and some were South of this location. I do recommend that if anyone is planning to play a lot of golf in this area they consider a Troon Card. We purchased one in 2011 in anticipation of this trip and a trip to California and it has already more than paid for itself.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the golf course - however some of the rooms on the fourth floor do not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your vacation! It sounds like you took full advantage of the facilities. The renovation did come out great, and I'm happy you found the room comfortable. We are working to reduce our energy footprint, but I have asked our engineering team to review the thermostat settings to insure all our guests are comfortable. Your suggestion about the Troon card is helpful. Our course is a Troon managed golf course, and there are several more around the valley. I hope to see you back at The Westin Kierland Villas soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in the Villas as we brought Grandma with us. By staying the in the Villas vs. the Hotel we were able to avoid the $25 daily resort fee plus an extra $50 (I think daily) for an extra wristband to the pools. The hotel room come with 4 wristbands, while the Villas allow for more. We had a nice one bedroom (the smaller version), kids stayed on the pull out couch, and we had a roll away bed for Grandma. The roll away was actually a very nice mattress. The living area got cramped but suited our needs. It was nice to have access to a fridge, stove top, and microwave.

We ate at deseo's one night and the kids attended the kid's care for free. They had fun and we had an excellent dinner. We also did drinks/appetizer's there another night and ate at Cashman's.

The villa pool has a small slide which allowed life jackets/tubes. The rules seemed a little looser in this pool. The large main pool at the hotel is stricter on height for their slide. The lazy river is adequate enough for adults and fun for kids. The pool had lots of activities. They had a huge inflatable slide set up outside the main hotel pool 2 days where kids and adults had lots of fun. We also did tie dye (for $) and free mini golf for free margarita's. We did sneak in our own drinks to both pools.

The Cabana's at the Villa's are a good deal for $50 a day. You can not purchase them the day of, only beforehand. However, if one has not been reserved for the day, you are allowed to use them for free, but you must occupy them. So, you can not put your stuff there in the morning and not return for 3 hours. The Hotel Cabana's are a lot more.

My husband golfed one morning and had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettelovessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We just returned from a 4 night promotional stay (ie - they want to sell us the time share) at the Westin Kierland villas. We had our 2 kids (11 and 9) with us and stayed in the 1 BR smaller unit. We found the space to be a bit small for 4 people, but we managed just fine. One odd note - the door between the BR and the living room is glass, so light shined thru from our BR to the fold out couch when the kids were trying to sleep.

The grounds are in great condition and having access to the Westin resort next door is very helpful. The activities staff at the pool were very good - they kids enjoyed the various contests they ran.

Service was very good from all staff at the resort. While they wanted to sell us a timeshare, they did not force us to sit thru the 2 hour pitch, which was greatly appreciated.

We at at Deseo (in the Westin Kierland resort) and the food was fantastic. If you go, get the Kobe beef and sit at the bar to watch them prepare the meals - the chefs are all very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irish34nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Villas

Property: The Westin Kierland Villas
Address: 15620 N Clubgate Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-2012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price range (per night): $184 - $763
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in spacious villas designed to suit your personal needs. Enjoy private balconies, fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary in room Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kierland Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Villas Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Hotel
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin
The Westin Kierland Villas Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing