We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed in a premium 1 bedroom for a week

very well maintained property
Resort feel
Kids programs
Close but not too close to major hwy
Would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

759 - 763 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Sheraton Desert Oasis, and could not have been more pleased. The accommodations were absolutely beautiful with so many nice touches. The combination living room, kichen, and bedroom were laid out well, and we appreciated the extra space. The Southwestern decor was charming, and we loved having the outside patio to relax. The bed was so comfortable, and the blackout drapes kept the room nice and dark for sleeping. We spent a few hours relaxing at the pool and hot tub. That area was well maintained with plenty of towels. The only minor complaint we might have is the lack of dining facilities but, with the abundance of restaurants in Scottsdale, this was not really an issue. A very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

A gracious thank you to you for posting a wonderful review about us and your recent stay! We never become tired of hearing wonderful vacation stories like yours. We hope that you'll continue to choose us as your get-away spot for years to come. If there is a preferred location on your next trip, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. We will do our best to reserve you a room unique to your preferences.

Travel safe and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We are Starwood members. This was our first time here. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. We were in the larger one bedroom. Plenty big for the two of us, and would be fine with up to two children on the hide-a-bed. A jacuzzi in the bedroom is always nice. The kitchen has nice, up-to-date appliances, although the toaster barely handles the bread. A bigger one would be nice, a toaster oven even better to bake smaller things rather then heat the oven. There are enough dishes and pots and pans. One thing I wish Sheratons and Westins would do is add Sola-tubes to the units. The are just too dark during the day. It would be great if they did that during the upcoming upgrades we were told were coming soon. Oh, although we didn't watch a DVD, blur-ray players would probably be part of the next upgrade. The DVD players they have are great, but not if you bring blue-ray with you. The wireless internet is great. Activities vary. Water aerobics was fun. Many kids activities. Would love to have pool side trivia contests. We will return next spring for sun and baseball.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredTraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

We love to hear from our loyal Starwood members! Thank you for taking the time to tell us all about your recent experience! We are always looking for ways to upgrade and provide an exceptional experience for our guests so we'll look into some toaster oven options and upgraded toaster models! We aim to please!
While we love your idea for the Sola-Tubes - those will unfortunately not be part of the upcoming upgrades. They would also only benefit 1/3 of the rooms as we could only install them on the top floors. But we have some employees that have these in their homes and really love the effect, and agree, it'd be great if we had a solution that would benefit ALL of our rooms instead of the top floors only.
We hope that you will continue to choose us as a future destination and look forward to you sharing more of your experiences with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Let's start off by saying that this Hotel/Timeshare Resort is a Gem awaiting a "time worn" makeover. Unlike many Timeshare Companies, Sheraton doesn't harass you about tours. Their Staff is Helpful, Friendly and Accommodating. Due to certain needs we, well in advance, asked for specific accommodations. We called the day before to verify a "Block Off" and were told it was all set. Of course it was not and the Hotel was full. The 2 Bedroom Lock off was Huge and Gorgeous. The "Lock off" room had one issue. The Tub/Shower/Spa has no grab handles or step stool to allow easy access. Our First Cousin is very short and over 50 (being polite). She left with bruises all over the back of her legs. The larger room had a walk in shower. The doors broke off and landed on me during a shower. Maintenance came up and "fixed it". Luckily, there was a drain issue the next day and they discovered that the repair was a "jury rig" that would of repeated the dangerous situation. Although the Front Desk people were Great, the communication to the Staff doing the work left something to be desired. Towels, repairs and such needed several calls. Also the Kitchen is loaded with everyday needs. Only problem ? They give you a Blue Dishrag. No sponge with a scrubby back. Some of the Pots and Pans needed a good scrubbing due to burnt on food. True, some guests are pigs and won't clean anything, but a small item like a sponge/scrubber allows we normal people the ability to leave things as we found them. The Grills were kept VERY clean and were great. The Activity Director was also Great. The Hotel should look at their Trash Company as the trucks arrive very early, make a racket and drop stuff all over the driveways. I will say that the General Manager addressed our issues and compensated us fairly for the inconveniences. Note though that I would rather have a "stress free" vacation and have accommodation promises kept rather than get Starwood Points. All in all this was a very good property. It could be 5 star, but needs tweaking. We will be back in Scottsdale looking at Retirement Properties in the near future. Will we stay here again ? Perhaps, but we would need the issues resolved prior to a commitment. Here is a link to our Scottsdale Vacation Video. The pictures of Arizona speak for themselves ! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHeYJ3QIVLg&feature=share

Room Tip: Ask and you may receive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sr42454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience. It is of course, never our intention to have our guests experience any problems on their vacation. We want you to be able to enjoy peace and relaxation with your family and friends while you're here.

Since your stay with us we have reevaluated how we are communicating and providing services to ensure we do not have another guest experience the issues that you and your family endured.

We are gettiing some additional items on hand for guests like the sponges you were in desperate need for and even some handled scrub brushes for heavier pots and pans.

We do hope that you'll come back and see us again and we will have a wonderful, quiet place for you to enjoy. Please feel free to contact us directly to ensure your preferred area and we will do our best to ensure a sterss-free vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel. The location was convenient to shops, highways and restaurants. Rooms were adequate with fast service when requested. The pool is nice but we did not have time to use the gym, however, it looked adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Warmest Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to post such a raving review! We love to see those 5 star reviews! It sounds like you were able to find and enjoy everything Scottsdale has to offer. We hope that you'll return in the future and continue to be a loyal Starwood fan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,556 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 76 in Scottsdale
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N Hayden Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $234 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinct beauty of the Sonoran Desert paints a picturesque backdrop for this family-friendly resort. Just moments from the area’s finest shopping, dining, entertainment and recreation, here is the perfect vantage point to make the most of your Scottsdale getaway. And when it’s time to relax, take comfort in the amenities right outside your villa door. Sheraton Desert Oasis has two types of villas, as detailed below. One-Bedroom Villa (approx. 500 square feet): Take in tranquil courtyard or resort views from a One-Bedroom Villa’s private balcony or patio, which is furnished with a table and chairs. Inside, gather on the living area’s sofa bed while watching the flat screen TV with a DVD player or listening to the Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchenette is well equipped with a convection microwave, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. A dining table seats four. A washer and dryer are provided for your convenience. The separate bedroom features a king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience for a good night’s sleep, as well as a second flat screen TV. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a combination bathtub/shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. One-Bedroom Premium Villa (approx. 790 square feet): Each One-Bedroom Premium Villa boasts a private balcony or patio, accessible from the living area and the bedroom. Kick back on the outdoor furniture while admiring courtyard or resort views. Inside, gather on the sofa bed as the gas fireplace warms the living room. An entertainment center comprises a flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Bose® Wave® stereo. Wireless High Speed Internet Access is complimentary. Nearby, a kitchen is fully equipped with a range, an oven, a microwave, a full-size refrigerator, a dishwasher, countertop appliances, and dinnerware. Host a gathering of up to four people at the dining table, which is separated from the kitchen by a breakfast bar with seating for two. A washer and dryer are also provided for your convenience. In the separate bedroom, light up the fireplace, relax in the whirlpool tub, and watch a movie on the second flat screen TV. A king-size Sheraton Signature Sleep Experience promises a good night’s sleep. Prepare for the day ahead in the bathroom, which includes a walk-in shower and Shine for Sheraton™ bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale
Sheraton Desert Oasis Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing