We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best kept secret in scottsdale.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
cabo san lucas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“best kept secret in scottsdale.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

They have remodeled this property and did a great job. The rooms are very high end. Granite counters, walk in closet. Full kitchen with dishwasher. Breakfast is ok not great but its free so its ok. Walking distance to every bar and eatery in old town. What makes this a great place is the price. They have a 2 bedroom that is huge, you just don't find this type of rooms unless you are staying in a penthouse. Next time your in scottsdale check it out and ask to see the rooms

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, General Manager at HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you Mikshe!

I am so happy you enjoyed all the new features and amenities we offer here at the Hyatt House. It looks like you took advantage of our spacious Two Bedroom suites and our location.

We hear how great the renovation is so often I am ecstatic that you had such a great experience. We look forward to having you back!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    165
    42
    23
    16
See reviews for
151
130
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I wrote a review on the property over a year ago. I stayed there many times over the last few years. It was called Hyatt Summerfield Suites then. It had nice after work socials, great breakfasts and the rooms were nice.
It is now called the Hyatt House. The rooms have been remodeled and they are nice, but the other more social amenities are no longer offered, this was a real loss in my mind. The breakfast area is not as friendly as it once was and the breakfast food offerings are on par with the lower end hotels.
Many people that review this property complain about the Club noise in the area. There is another Hyatt property literally across the street called the Hyatt Place. This is where all the Club noise is heard, not from the Hyatt House. Since they’ve made the changes to the Hyatt House, I don’t stay there much anymore. Sorry Hyatt, is was a great place…

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, General Manager at HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for posting a review for us. I am sorry that the changes that were made didn't live up to your standards.

We have done an expansive renovation with beautiful touches and added features throughout the Guesthouse. Our breakfast has more options than it ever has and I apolgize if you did not get a positive experience from all the offerings we have.

We have the new H Bar that has gone from one food offering and a couple of beverage options to almost thirty menu items and vast selction of wines, beers, and coffee drinks.

I hope you give us another chance and I would like the opportunity to show you the new enhancements myself.

I look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We Stayed for 5 days.
People were so nice, from the check-in to housekeeping to the hotel manager himself. We stayed in a "quad" room #1113 which was two bedrooms - each with it's own bathroom, a kitchen, eating area w/table and a living room. What a great layout and nicely done! One of the queen beds was kind of sagging and when we called, they replaced it immediately. We were traveling with our 5 month old german shepherd so we needed to find a place that was pet friendly. We were concerned about finding a clean, non smelly, pet friendly hotel as this was our first venture with the dog and to our surprise, it was outstanding! The ONLY thing I think they could improve on is the management of the breakfast. They seemed to have enough staff, however, frequently during breakfast, it took them a while to replenish various main food and drink items and it was not that busy because we were there mid week. They also should clean that area frequently during the meal time. The breakfast itself was excellent! We will be going back for sure!

Room Tip: Ground Floor Near the pool was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaneur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, General Manager at HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
I appreciate the kind words Flaneur33!

Our quads are an excellent choice when there are multiple people staying the our suites. It really cuts down on the cost and maintains a comfortable and spacious feel.

Our large complimentary breakfast is a perfect way to start any morning with many choices including four hot items everyday and all the accompaniments that come with those. I assure you that we try to keep the breakfast full and plentiful at all times and will make sure that is case moving forward.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property for three nights this past weekend. Check in was very easy and the people at the front desk were always attentive to our needs for our entire stay. They probably grew weary of our steady stream of requests, but met them at every turn with a smile. As other reviews have stated on here it appears that this property was an apartment/condo complex prior to being a hotel. It is in a great location in Oldtown Scottsdale and you can pretty much walk everywhere you need to go unless you decide to visit other parts of Scottsdale and the Phoenix area. If you are physically disabled and require a wheelchair this is probably not the best choice as the property's sidewalks are really narrow and the ramps aren't well built either. Also there aren't any elevators and the rooms face the outside, meaning you'll have to haul your luggage up three flights of stairs if you're on the top floor. Since it is in close proximity to some of Scottsdale's prime party locations it also may be tough in certain locations around the hotel to get some shuteye. I could see where this could be a real party hotel guestwise and pose problems for other guests trying to sleep. Parking is also a problem at this hotel on the weekends. The property tries to limit it, by using a security service to monitor it, however they only ask for a room number and not the actual key, so anyone could potentially park there. We had to park in the last handicapped spot, which I felt uncomfortable doing, but was assured by the hotel that it was ok. It's a little like parking at an apartment complex, if you're there too late you'll have to hoof it to get to your room. Parking is free by the way. The breakfast buffet is very good, although on Sunday morning we had to skip it because it wasn't ready on schedule and we had a flight to catch. The rooms have been renovated and are real nice, although some sound proofing would've helped. We could hear the guest upstairs snoring and any outside noise pretty easily. The lavatory is great, although there isn't a bath just a shower. Our room was located just outside the courtyard and pool. The courtyard has bbq grills if you want to grill out and a nice fire pit too. Overall a good stay, wish we could've been there a few more days to soak up some more of that Arizona sun.

Room Tip: Would ask for a ground floor room at the back of the hotel. Although with a ground floor room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wdharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, General Manager at HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your thourough response. It sounds like the stay was enjoyable and we appreciate all the information that just makes us better and better.

Next time you come out please request a first floor room and we will be happy to take care of that for you. Our location has something for everyone and we make sure no matter the reason for your visit that you are comfortable and your needs are met.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Very good location. Pool area is nice. Beds were OK. Breakfast had good variety.
BUT...(we were here for SF Giants spring training) both nights we returned to our room the room was filled with the unmistakeable scent of skunky marijuana! It was awful! The first night we didn't get back to the room until after 11:00 so we called the front desk to report it but since it was too late to move we "aired it out" as best as possible and myself and 2 daughters slept clouded in the rank smell. The next night we were back earlier and asked the desk clerk and "security guard" (who claimed to have narcotics policing in his background) to come and smell the room. Believe it or not they couldn't smell anything! It was like a bad comedy.
We left the door and windows open and "aired it out" again. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone with kids or asthma or strong anti-drug convictions.
Personally I don't care if you want to smoke pot but just don't do it in a hotel room with a shared venting system.
We were staying here through a booking with a Giants vacation package. There are 6 of us and this was the only property that could accommodate us all in one room. We won't be staying here again.
But we had another terrific spring training visit and would recommend this trip to any fans of the Giants.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AML67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M, General Manager at HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
I am awfully sorry you experienced and odor of marijuana in your room. We have a zero tolerance policy when it comes to illegal drugs. We are a 100% non smoking property and we adhere to that anytime we hear of someone taking advantage of this.

I did check Security report and they responded immediately and did indeed not smell anything. He did walk the building to make sure that actvivity was not happeneing.
Unfoturnately like any business we cannot control what people do but we pride ourselves in spriniging into action whe something happens.

I am glad the rest of the stay went well and encourage you to come back. This is a random incicdent that I believe you would not experience in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
#41 of 76 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town

Property: HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Address: 4245 N Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price range (per night): $180 - $610
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the exciting new renovations of our guestrooms and public spaces. HYATT house™ Scottsdale/Old Town welcomes you with comfortable, spacious one- and two-bedroom suites featuring updated contemporary finishes and furnishings. You’ll also find our revamped open public space ideal for unwinding by yourself or connecting with friends and associates. Situated in the expansive Sonoran Desert, our Scottsdale, AZ hotel is convenient to Old Town where you’ll discover a wealth of dining, shopping, and nightlife opportunities. We’re also within close proximity of championship golf courses and Arizona State University as well as attractions like the Phoenix Zoo and Desert Botanical Garden. For more information regarding things to do, please visit our Activities page.During your stay at our friendly Old Town hotel, you’ll enjoy a complimentary hot buffet breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home. Our knowledgeable, personable front desk hosts are available 24/7 to assist with your requests. In addition, the hotel’s H BAR is open every day from 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m., offering our new Sip+Savor Menu with home-cooked comforts. Savor gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new appetizers like the Tomato Mozzy Bread, and a fine selection of beer and wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Scottsdale/Old Town Hotel Scottsdale
Hyatt Scottsdale Old Town
Summerfield Suites Scottsdale
Scottsdale Summerfield Suites
HYATT House Scottsdale/Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing