We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Baseball Heaven!”
Review of Salt River Fields

Salt River Fields
Ranked #13 of 115 things to do in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

This has to be the finest MLB spring training baseball park in the country...it’s that good! Clean and friendly service with plenty of food and drink options, and shade to boot if you get seats above the 100 field level. Home of the Colorado Rockies and Diamondbacks; and really on the same level of their respective home field parks - this IS spring baseball heaven!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Mark107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"spring training game"
in 50 reviews
"colorado rockies"
in 27 reviews
"behind home plate"
in 21 reviews
"ball park"
in 23 reviews
"cactus league"
in 24 reviews
"d backs"
in 17 reviews
"great baseball"
in 14 reviews
"major league"
in 14 reviews
"regular season"
in 12 reviews
"spring training facilities"
in 11 reviews
"night game"
in 11 reviews
"practice fields"
in 11 reviews
"great seats"
in 14 reviews
"lawn seating"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful stadium"
in 9 reviews
"free sunscreen"
in 8 reviews
"base line"
in 8 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

While Salt River Fields is a first class place to watch a game, what held me back from giving it a 5 was the prices. I understand the food and drink prices being high, but the ticket prices for games that don't even count is a little high.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank cjschreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

EXCELLENT park and highly recommend if you’re visiting during spring training season! We love the Brewers and chose this stadium over current Maryvale. However, we will be back once Brewers renovation is done. This part was easy to get to, extremely friendly employees, and great seats throughout the park! Truly enjoyed the experience and plan to return!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Salt River Fields (plural) at Talking Stick is plural for a reason. This enormous complex of baseball fields consists of (as I count them) thirteen different, full sized individual baseball fields, in addition to several smaller infield practice fields. So to call it Salt River Field (singular) is a total misnomer.

The history of the complex is fascinating and involves Major League Baseball working with the Salt River Pima - Maricopa Indian Community in the Scottsdale, Arizona, area to establish this enormous complex that was dedicated on February 26, 2011.

Salt River Fields is the spring training home to the Arizona Diamondbacks and the Colorado Rockies baseball teams.

This is only the third baseball spring training venue here in the greater Phoenix metro-area that I have attended but it is certainly the largest and the most impressive of the three. I also attended games at Camelback Ranch and the Peoria Sports Complex. However, IF I was to name my favorite of the three, I think I would opt for the smaller and more easily navigated Peoria Sports Complex followed by Camelback Ranch.

I was somewhat shocked at this simple fact : I paid twenty two ($22) dollars to rent a sit-on-the-lawn patch of grass in the outfield. IF I am not mistaken, I can gain admission into Comerica Park in Detroit, Michigan, to watch a regular season Detroit Tigers game for less than twenty two dollars.

BUT, based only upon my own experience, if you want to see the largest and most glitzy of the spring training fields, Salt River Fields at Talking Stick is your best bet.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Kanbaatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I’ve been to four additional Cactus League ball parks, this is the nicest. It’s clean, comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. Great family place.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank glutenfreewikaduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt River Fields also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Salt River Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing