We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ATV excursion!”
Review of Desert Wolf Tours

Desert Wolf Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Desert Wolf Tours is Scottsdale's #1 Ranked desert off-road and firearms Adventure! Better yet, we were named THE BEST OFF-PREMISES EXCURSION IN THE WORLD by TravelGolf and were just inducted into the TripAdvisor HALL OF FAME for earning their prestigious Certificate of Excellence for the 6th year in a row! At Desert Wolf Tours, YOU get to drive an authentic military-grade TomCar UTV. A Tomcar is smooth, fast, maneuverable and drives like no other off-road vehicle. Even if you've driven consumer grade UTVs and ATVs made by Polaris, Kawasaki, Yamaha, etc., you've never driven a military-grade UTV! They glide over the rocky terrain, leaving all others in the dust!! (Here is an added benefit - UNLIKE MOST AREA ATV TOURS, YOU DON'T NEED TO WEAR A HELMET ON OUR TOURS! So, no need to worry about that horrible "helmet hair".) As Arizona's #1 ranked self-drive tour outfit, Desert Wolf Tours provides unique tours to proprietary attractions that no other company offers. Because we're so near to most Scottsdale/Phoenix resorts, you'll be able to spend more time in the desert and less time in somebody else's van. We use the world's most comfortable off-road vehicles, have the best Adventure Guides and play in the most interesting terrain. With access to hundreds of thousands of acres of Desert Wilderness just North of Phoenix full of Cowboy history and gorgeous vistas, our guests leave our tours with awesome memories that last a lifetime? BOOK TODAY and we'll guarantee that you'll have a Great Time! NOTE - ALL OF OUR DESERT OFF-ROAD TOURS LEAVE FROM THE ROADRUNNER RESTAURANT AND SALOON, JUST A FEW MILES NORTH OF PHOENIX ON I-17.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Just wrapped up an incredible experience with Desert Wolf Tours. We did the afternoon ATV excursion and it was awesome! Well worth the money, perfect for families with teens or younger kids who can handle adventure. Chris and Hunter were wonderful guides - very knowledgeable and professional. These vehicles are extremely solid and handled the rugged terrain well. It is dusty so wear long pants! My husband wants to definitely try the machine gun tour next time in Scottsdale. Thank you!

3  Thank mamaof3bellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertWolfTours, General Manager at Desert Wolf Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for coming out with us, and for your great 5-Star review. We appreciate your breakdown of your day in the desert with Chris, Hunter, and the TomCars on your Desert Wolf Adventure! We are glad that you had such a great day, please remember us next time you are in town! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tom car"
in 100 reviews
"tomcar tour"
in 63 reviews
"off road"
in 77 reviews
"rugged terrain"
in 14 reviews
"half day tour"
in 24 reviews
"guide chris"
in 15 reviews
"awesome adventure"
in 21 reviews
"great tour"
in 65 reviews
"sunset tour"
in 27 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 52 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 25 reviews
"plants and animals"
in 16 reviews
"plant life"
in 21 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 27 reviews
"great fun"
in 43 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 14 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 22 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A great adventure while in Arizona. The tour guides Derik and Chris were awesome! I had no idea we would get to stop along the way and learn about the plants and animals. These guys know their stuff and were super fun. Definitely bring sunglasses, sunscreen, and a hat. Your in for a fun and dirty ride. Totally worth the money spent!

4  Thank Crystal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertWolfTours, General Manager at Desert Wolf Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Crystal,
Thank you for the awesome review. Chris and Derik are a wealth of information and really enjoy sharing their love for the Sonoran Desert with their guests. You are spot on about the sun and eye protection. This desert is sunny and dusty!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Desert Wolf Tours exceeded all of our expectations for the day. We were visiting Arizona and being from New Jersey it was a completely different environment. We were on a tour all by ourselves and were very impressed with our tour guide, Jared. To us, it felt like more than just a tour of the desert, Jared explained a lot about the surroundings of the area, the different vegetation and places to visit during our stay. The tour was very fun and I hope to find un visiting Arizona again. Thanks for the wonderful time Desert Wolf Tours!

3  Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertWolfTours, General Manager at Desert Wolf Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We appreciate you choosing Desert Wolf, and for writing such a glowing 5 star review. Jared is a great young man, and we are glad that you had the pleasure of spending some time out in the Sonoran Desert with him. Next time you are out this way, please come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

EXCEEDED our expectations!! We chose Desert Wolf Tours based on adventure description and reviews online and they lived up to their marketing. From start to finish, nothing but complete professionalism from Chris and Jared. Our group was 19 and never did we feel rushed throughout the ride - the stops were perfectly timed and the knowledge that was provided us on desert plants, the Sonoran landscape and survival hints were very memorable. Final note - Chris and Jared made sure that each and every rider and their families received whatever personal photo's they desired. The adventure filled the entire 3 hours plus and was awesome. We would give it more stars if we could - Thanks for the memories, next time we're gonna do the shooting tour :)

3  Thank jamesmcaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertWolfTours, General Manager at Desert Wolf Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We truly appreciate your review and kind words! We are glad that you saw our reviews and came out to join us for an adventure! It is always a great pleasure to hear about new customers like yourself discovering us. We are committed to providing unique Adventures that you will enjoy and hopefully keep you coming back. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We went with a group of 4 kids and 4 adults. Most importantly, they should be giving goggles or recommending that you bring some. Friends and family have gone on other ATV/Tom Cat/Dune Buggy tours and all been given goggles. The amount of dust in your eyes makes it an unpleasant 3 hours. And speaking of 3 hours. . . this was way too long for for us as you cannot go on your own, go off course at all, or go as fast or as slow as you want. So you just follow the person ahead of you in a slow moving caravan, literally eating their dust. . . for three hours. For young kids this got uncomfortable pretty fast, and for the the adults as well. Wish it was shorter, with a smaller group so you have more freedom, and definitely with some better protection such as goggles.

2  Thank smm130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertWolfTours, General Manager at Desert Wolf Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your off-road atv tour. We do try to be very clear on our website what type of guided tour it is (we have pictures and videos of the tour as well as a FAQ section) and how long the tour lasts. Unfortunately, we cannot do much about dust. We are in the desert and you are off-roading in open vehicles. One of the big advantages of Desert Wolf ATV tours is that our guests 18 and over do not need to wear helmets and goggles like on other atv tours because all of our vehicles have heavy duty roll cages and full windshields. (Federal law requires those 17 and under to wear helmets.) We find that when you wear a helmet and goggles, a lot of the experience of being in the open desert is lost. You miss out on much of the scenery. The full windshields do keep a lot of the dust out, but it is still dusty. The dust is the reason we supply our guests with gators (neck buffs). When pulled up over the nose and mouth, they do keep a lot of the dust out. I'm not sure whether you personally booked your tour or someone else in your party booked it. We do send out a confirmation email to the person who booked the tour strongly recommending that everyone bring sunglasses. I don't know if you saw the confirmation email that was sent to your group, but here is an excerpt where it talks about what to bring and what to wear.
---------------------------------------------------------------
What should I bring?

We've got you covered! We supply cold water, bandanas (to keep the dust out of your nose and mouth), vehicles, and FUN! Now, there are some items that you may want to bring along... Definitely bring your camera! You'll want to capture some of your trip to share with family and friends later! Sunglasses! Sunglasses! Sunglasses! Some guests find it helpful to cover up with sunscreen before their adventure. You may also want to bring your favorite beverages to throw in our coolers (non-alcoholic, of course! After all, you are driving a vehicle!). Speaking of driving a vehicle... PLEASE HAVE YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE on you for the adventure!

What should I wear?

We recommend wearing close-toed shoes, long pants, a comfortable shirt, and a hat to keep the sun off of your head! Sunglasses are a great idea too! Remember, there are lots of plants and animals that want to poke, stick, and sting... and those that don't are probably hiding something that does!
---------------------------------------------------------------
If you would like to discuss your experience, please give us a call at 877-613-9653, or shoot us an email at reservations@desertwolftours.com. We really want to see if there is anything that we can do to make you a happy customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desert Wolf Tours also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Desert Wolf Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing