We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi in Scottsdale”

Roka Akor Scottsdale
Reserve with OpenTable
Roka Akor Scottsdale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,379 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 25 - USD 35
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North of Indian Bend on Scottsdale Rd
Description: Our menu features prime cut steaks, seafood, and vegetables with unique Japanese-inspired marinades and sauces, along with sushi, sashimi, tempura, and extraordinary desserts. The menu changes regularly to reflect seasonal offerings. Roka Akor Scottsdale offers the unparalleled combination of thoughtful design and contemporary Robata Japanese cuisine. The restaurant’s name is derived from two words: RO and KA. The meaning of the first word is hearth, a gathering place where people socialize and take in the ambience; the latter stands for a burning fire and projecting energy. Roka Akor’s contemporary main dining room provides a stunning backdrop and the centrally located robata grill is the heart of the visual experience. To accommodate all guests needs, Roka Akor Scottsdale also offers a private dining room, private patio and Roka Bar. AE15color “The Best Steakhouses in all 50 States- ARIZONA” – Business Insider & Foursquare “Award of Excellence” – Wine Spectator “Best Sushi Res
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I'm a regular here and can say this is the best sushi restaurant I've ever been to. I normally get the Chef's Selection Nigiri 5-piece--it is different and fresh every time. Whatever you order, definitely get the fresh wasabi. Once you eat here, you'll never go back to a run-of-the-mill sushi restaurant. And the service is just as top-notch as the food. This is a classy and quality Japanese restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eurotraveler68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Roka Akor Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Eurotraveler,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We love to read that you enjoy or Sushi as well as our service and we can't wait to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Paul Gerhard | General Manager | Roka Akor
480-306-8800 | pgerhard@rokaakor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Wow!!! Loved everything from the butterfish tataki, to the pork belly, corn on the cob, ribeye!!! Everything was phenomenal including our server shauna. Everything she recommended was so good! My husbands birthday desert was the icing on the cake;) definitely coming back!

Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Roka Akor Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Jackie,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We love to read that we were able to make your husband's birthday special and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Sincerely,

Paul Gerhard | General Manager | Roka Akor
480-306-8800 | pgerhard@rokaakor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Roka Akor really does it all well — for a premium price. Chic ambiance, great bar scene, wonderful cocktail, wine and sake menus. Sushi is fresh and both domestic and Japan varieties are available in abundance. The Japanese Uni is sweet and a wonderful treat. They routinely haver multiple grades of tuna from super toro to big eye. The surprising area of talent is meat dishes. The ribs are amazing and a signature dish. The pork belly melts in the mouth and is so tasty. They have cuts of domestic and Japanese beef that it prepared perfectly. I don’t order dessert so I cannot comment. But A+ sushi, service, ribs and steak makes for a great low carb meal!

Thank ivorbenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Roka Akor Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear, Ivorbenjamin,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We love to read that you enjoyed our cuisine as well as our service and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Gerhard | General Manager | Roka Akor
480-306-8800 | pgerhard@rokaakor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Great selection, very fresh sashimi, wonderful service. Try the large tiger prawns if they have them!

Thank Ryckebosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Roka Akor Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear, Ryckebosch

Thank you so much for your kind review. We love to read that you enjoyed our Sashimi and our service and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Paul Gerhard | General Manager | Roka Akor
480-306-8800 | pgerhard@rokaakor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

A friend and I stopped in on Friday night and sat at the bar and had excellent service!! The drinks were fantastic, Heather and Lisa were an awesome team. So much fun talking with them in such a cool environment!

Thank laurenkoltes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Roka Akor Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Lauren,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We love to read that had a great time and enjoyed Heather and Lisa's service. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon!

Sincerely,

Paul Gerhard | General Manager | Roka Akor
480-306-8800 | pgerhard@rokaakor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roka Akor Scottsdale also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roka Akor Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing