We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
183
190
122
67
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
190
122
67
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk kiddie pool room was clean boiled eggs continental breakfast yogurt no elevator an older property nice pool area fridge and microwave hot tub easy access non smoking would stay here again coffee maker freeway greenway
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2017

We booked this hotel for it's proximity to the fields where our son's baseball tournament was going to be played. And the whole team was staying in this property.
We understand tha because is Spring Training season prices where higher than usual for this type of place.
Clean and nice lobby, and nice recpectionists, but that's about all the good things I can say about this place.
We booked a double room (2 double beds since they don't have rooms wiht 2 queen beds), the beds were small, and really uncomfortable, the carpet looked like it hasn't been cleaned in ages, and the bathtub had mold on the walls, wouldn;t step barefoot on int. The shower preasure can't be regulated so you have water all over the floor after you're done taking a shower.
No mini fridge or microwave in our room, (there is a microwave in the breakfast room that you an use) but by the time you walk back to your room your food is cold.The door for our room got stucked when we used the latch to lock it. The frame was separated form the wall for the door that's why. So we couldn't use the latch for the rest of our stay (3 nights) and had an issue trying to open the door every single time.
Wouldn't recomend this hotel, and for sure won;t be staying again when we visti Phoenix in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LVFAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Phoenix North, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Catalina - Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. While it's true that Spring Training does bring higher prices to the Valley, in general, we would like to apologize for the issues involving your guestroom door and and any lack of cleanliness in the carpeting in your room. The carpeting in our rooms is professionally cleaned twice a year, and spot cleaned by our staff as needed, and I'm sorry we missed any issues in your room. We do hope you will consider La Quinta for your future travel needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Our room was clean and comfortable. Where we stayed on the property was very quiet and though the property is located close to a freeway the traffic noise was not discernible. Staff that we had occasion to interact with were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Traveller C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Phoenix North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Thanks Traveller C....we appreciate your feedback and are gratified you enjoyed your stay! Please come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

$140 for a really disappointing experience. I've stayed in this motel many times before. Boy, has this one deteriorated, and the price increased. The room wasn't ready. They put us in a room that reeked of cigarettes, moved us to a room next to a party. The lock on the door was broken. It wasn't an ADA room, as requested. Then, at checkout, we got "Sorry 'bout that." Spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank carolyne132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Phoenix North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Carolyne132 - we thank you for the time you took to offer your feedback. We apologize for failing to meet any of your expectations this visit. Unfortunately, March means Spring Training in Phoenix, which - in turn - means higher rates at all properties, not just ours. Naturally everyone would like to pay a little less; we understand that. We're also sorry we were not able to provide the ADA room you requested and for the bad behavior of your neighbors. We do hope you will consider our property again when in the Phoenix area. Please reach out to one of our management team directly when it comes time to make your reservation as we would like to personally make sure you get the right room in the right location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

My husband picked this place because everything else was supposedly booked and/or too far from tje training fields. When we arrived we met up with some family and friends who paid even less for really nice resorts about a 20-30 minute drive away. Next time, I will be making the reservations and won't mind driving a few more minutes. This "inn" is by far the most beat up and to top it off in a really shady neighborhood. It is in dire need of an upgrade all the way around- interior, exterior, pool area, and breakfast. If it had not been so much grief, aggravation, and financial loss, I would have checked out after just the first night when I noticed all the stains on the carpet, parts missing from the mini fridge and dents on the wall. Never again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roxy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Phoenix North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Roxy - we appreciate the feedback and please accept our apologies for any disappointment relating to your stay. While we genuinely don't believe that our area is any "shadier" than your garden-variety big-city neighborhood, we do understand that we are an older property that doesn't really fall into the resort category, and we were never going to meet that expectation. That being said, we do try to keep the property as clean and in as good a shape as possible, and I'm sorry if we failed on some account. We do hope you will continue to consider La Quinta for your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Phoenix North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews