We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to the standard I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Not to the standard I was expecting”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a very large scale resort but did not meet my expectations. On the day I arrived I noticed a mini-bar fridge in the hall outside of a room and it was still sitting there a day and a half later. I noticed room service trays in the hall left there for quite some time too. Also, I had a garden view from my patio but when I got back to my room after a full day and evening out, a huge temporary tent had been installed on the lawn blocking any view I had (see picture). To make matters worse, they were testing the PA/sound system until late into the night and it was very loud in my room as the tent was right outside my patio door. I finally called the front desk and they said they were just finishing up getting ready for a big event they were hosting starting the next day. Luckily I was checking out next day as I can only imagine how loud that would have been. It is a very nice resort but not to the standard I would expect and there are better choices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dcrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,675
    702
    186
    57
    43
See reviews for
707
533
59
927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

On first glance this resort has everything you would want. Beautiful street appeal, inviting lobby, wonderful pools and "lazy river" and appealing guest rooms. After a few days we began to question the lack of an acceptable "turn down" service, quality of bedding (especially the pillows) and overall cleanliness of our room. Sheets were stained and not changed regularly. Be sure to ask for rooms facing the pools and golf course for the better views.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed for a week, with ours friends, at this incredible resort. The condos are beautiful & the pools are awesome!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debihearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Lovely place, great service, food at conference great, nice rooms,spa was incredible,only negative was thin towels

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rskny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Enjoyed my stay at this beautiful resort. The spa was wonderful and the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
13.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
18.5 km away
Arizona Biltmore, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
34.4 km away
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort
16.7 km away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
6.2 km away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price range (per night): $270 - $929
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing