We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
40
12
4
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
12
4
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This B&B was a great find for my wife and me. Its location in beautiful rugged country just outside of Patagonia was ideal for us--a peaceful and prime spot for birds and other wildlife. The room and ranch house were wonderfully eclectic. With artifacts, relics, and memorabilia everywhere, it was a cluttered treasure trove. In addition, Tom and Mary Ann cooked a great breakfast for us. If you're looking for somewhere sleek and modern, this is not your place, but if you are after a unique, authentic experience, give the Spirit Tree Inn a try.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

My husband and I spent our 53rd Wedding Anniversary at this beautiful and peaceful place. We were greeted by Mary Jane and were asked to make ourselves comfortable on the patio. We were entertained by an array of beautiful birds. As soon as the hay got unloaded we were shown to our lovely library room. We knew we were in the right place when we heard the donkey bray. The next morning we met Tom who made us some wonderful breakfasts. We stayed for three nights and took advantage of the nearby birding hotspots. We also drove up the Harshaw Canyon, thru the San Rafael Valley to the old towns of Lochiel and Harshaw. The highlight of our stay was the four course meal prepared by Tom for our anniversary dinner. We also had AZ wine pairings with each course. We will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We visited the Spirit Tree on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. It was a wonderful spot. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfasts were delightful, with local ingredients, including pancakes made with Mesquite flour. They fixed Christmas dinner for us, and we enjoyed the company of their family as well as a great meal.

The accommodations are rustic to a degree, which we appreciate. It feels like a ranch, with barns, horses and a donkey, as well as all the equipment.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The ranch is located on gorgeous land, and has a lovely dog, two cats, a donkey and some horses enlivening it. The house is packed with "stuff", and the "library" guest room has a filthy quilt on the bed, as well as a bathtub that has a mineral-deposited rotten faucet and spout. We found mouse droppings on the night table next to the bed and were told that it was no surprise. We requested traps and didn't receive. We hardly slept the second night and watched a mouse cavorting around the room, then getting into our things while one of us pursued it. The owners are nice people. To make this business successful, they need to step up the cleanliness, clean the stagnant water trough on the patio that harbors mosquitoes and yellow-jackets, sweep the patio (this could be lovely, as they have bird feeders and a gorgeous yard), and reduce the amount of clutter in the house.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank snowhunterone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This wonderful b & b is in a pristine setting surrounded by over 50 acres of trees, flowers, very friendly animals and warm and welcoming hosts. Each of the rooms is named and decorated accordingly. Mary Jane and Tom, our hosts, had requested any food concerns ahead of our stay. Tom prepared a terrific breakfast of gluten-free silver dollar pancakes with prickly pear syrup, turkey bacon and blueberries coated with strawberry yogurt. Both decaf and regular coffee were prepared before breakfast was served at the hour of our choice. We will certainly return in the future.

Room Tip: Check with Mary Jane as to where you will be staying as some rooms are larger than others.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews