We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
145
121
53
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
121
53
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal air con fresh water pool car rental shared facilities self contained henry ladder lagoon deck ensuite wharf island accommodation samoa fale bush
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Sleeping above the water on the lagoon is beautiful! I got a different chalet to what I thought I had booked (thought it was the cute wooden ones in the picture, but it was a double chalet with someone in the room next to us, not very private as there are no walls but mosquito nets covering framing which was admittedly nice and cool in the evening and the bed was super comfortable) after kayaking around the lagoon and looking at the chalets from the water we were glad we weren't in the wooden ones as the base of the poles were badly rotting away and parts of the balcony were broken off they looked really dodgy! Food was pretty good, they forgot our fruit with our breakfast both days and forgot our coffee and tea on the second (felt a bit awkward that Samoan guests always got everything straight away..we had to sit waiting, and had sometimes never got the order) also forgot to bring drinks out that we had ordered the first night which i guess is just a loss to them..i suggest investing in some note pads -trying to remember everyone's order is not really working out..Saying that the staff were all lovely and friendly, we just felt a bit left out.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sixsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We stayed at Lusia's to be close to the wharf, so that we could catch the early ferry to Upolu. The room was plain but comfortable and clean. The breakfast (up to 16 tala and included in the price) was excellent; fresh fruit, eggs, toast, good coffee. All the staff seemed very helpful and friendly. We were able to walk to the market and downtown to the bank (15-20 min) but there are plenty of buses and taxis. We had a taxi drive us (for 60 tala) to the Tafua reserve where we took a short hike (about 1 hour roundtrip) up to the crater. The internet at Lusia's was sketchy; we had to ask the staff had to turn on and off the modem to make connections. The area around the chalet was intriguing with the winding paths and bridges through the jungle but if they cleaned up some of the junk lying around, it would be nicer. We didn't go swimming in the lagoon because it looked a little murky. Lusia's lends out kayaks and has lifejackets.

Room Tip: We chose an ensuite room which is a little more expensive but I think worth the cost
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Terry_Park59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We didn't stay here, but met travellers who recommended it. We stopped by for lunch prior to the ferry crossing back to Upolo. There is a terrific little spot over the lagoon to have a swim. We met a lovely Kiwi couple who had been staying there who were happy as. (Compared to an Invercargil winter, anything would be I reckon!) The staff were friendly and accommodating. We had a nice swim, a beer and tasty fish and chips. It's a minute from the wharf, so if you have just arrived on Savai'i or have some time before catching the ferry, pop in. You'll be impressed.

Room Tip: Didn't stay but lunch was tops.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Quaint hotel on the island of Savai'i that gives a real feel for the real Samoa. Our room was right on the ocean with a ladder down to the water. The hotel is in the middle of the jungle that goes right down to the water just out of Salelologa. A great, romantic setting. This is a very reasonably priced hotel where it is fun to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'll stay there again when I travel to Savaii. It has some great sunrise views.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

It would be fair to say the pace of life on Savai'i is beyond slow. Nothing happens in a hurry and life is fairly laid back.

Lusias is a reflection of this way of life and thats not a bad thing at all.

Henry is the biggest asset to Lusia's. He is helpful, cheerful, dedicated and fabulous with children. My kids thought he was awesome. He has a really good understanding of English as well so he was really easy to communicate with.

The room was HUGE. The aircon did some weird stuff, like spew water and make some crazy noise, but even though it was hot, the fan did what it needed to do. Mossies are INSANE. Take repellent and spray it on before you sleep.

We had 5 of us in the room and we were comfortable. If your expecting 5 star you'll be very upset. If your expecting clean and comfy its great. No TV, but actually thats not a bad thing at all. We got a pack of cards for a few tala at the local shop.

The food was great. The kids LOVED the pancakes. We ate a few meals on the deck. The deck is the highlight of Lusias. A cool wharf that we spent HOURS jumping off. At low tide its a bit shallow but nothing overly dangerous. The water was perfect.

We hired a car for $120 tala a day. We filled up at the petrol station just down from the hotel which was pretty reasonable. Dont fill on the other side of the Island. We spoke to some people that did that OUCH.

We circumnavigated the Island and feel like we had an authentic Samoan experience.

We spent 3 nights on Savaii all up. It was well worth it in every way.

Lusias is a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbarneyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews